We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed for a night in winter, and found I could not warm my room. Seems that because Bahrain is mostly hot, air-conditioning only is the priority! My colleague had the same experience in his room. With regard to the hotel layout, it is confusing! There are two sets of lifts to separate room towers. The second set of lifts is not signposted, and is rather a long way from check-in. The room itself was recently renovated, and functional. However, much of the hotel has a fairly lived-in feel - apart from the spectacular foyer and public rooms. Staff at the front desk were friendly and efficient. The food I ate in one restaurant was of good quality, with polite waiting staff. Wifi internet was not available in the room, which is a limitation. The hotel is next to the Convention Centre, which is convenient, but a rather long way from more interesting parts of Bahrain! I think I would try somewhere else next time in Bahrain.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 712 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

Traveling in style is what I do, and 'pretender' are found out quickly ... like those purporting to be 5 star and deserve 3 or less as recently seen in Abuja / Nigeria.
But here, the moment I had my limo door opened by the door man, seeing a porter attend to my baggage, the door being held open with a broad smile and gliding up to the reception level on the upper ground floor, I knew there was no pretense, no self delusion over the hotel's true ranking but the self assured presentation of 5 star hotel aware of its standing.
Check in was fast and even the template explanations delivered with a smile and style and in not time was I heading for the elevators with the porter in tow.
The room presented itself as larger than expected, and though not a suite it was quite adequate for staying a few days, spreading out files and netbook accessories and still keeping the bed free of clutter. Hangers in the illuminated wardrobe were more than enough, and the shelve spaces and drawers sufficient to stow all my things away.
While unpacking I brewed a cup of tea, with a kettle and teabags, coffee et al just next to a generously equipped mini bar and snack tray.

The bathroom was large, a separate shower cabin with a rain shower head, and all expected gels, creams and vanity bag contents were available, in case a guest forgot to pack it.

I enjoyed my generous desk space, able to spread out papers and magazines I picked from the Bahrain International Air Show and the easy chairs were perfect when taking some time to look across the neighbouring Royal Palace on to the CBD beyond, a spectacle both during the day and at night with the 'light shows' of the sky scrapers and the aviation safety lights blitzing away from roof tops and the corners of the buildings.

If my room had one downside, perhaps due to facing a major road, was the periodic roar of motorcycles being revved up at night, and some extra glazing might be a welcome addition when the next major refurbishment cycle goes underway.

Breakfast was superb, the staff promptly remembered my preference for tea and kept it coming without as much as having to look up, as if they had a fifth sense and the Egg Benedict I test every new place I go to with, was cooked to perfection.

With 16 different restaurants, all seen busy at night, I had one dinner at the hotel's Iranian restaurant, one room service dinner and one dinner out. The variety of ethnic cuisine will have the guest's heads spin from deciding where to eat but it is a hallmark of a truly great hotel to offer such wide choices and a plus for guests to see them busy with patrons from outside coming to eat here - what the locals approve of must be good!

Perhaps there are now newer, glitzier hotels in Bahrain but I enjoyed staying at The Gulf, where the long years of operation have brought maturity and a 'patina' which shines, from the staff to the all the facilities. Comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors with a view across one of the Royal Palaces and the skyline of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just entering the hotel foyer and going up the escallator you know that this is a very good hotel. The huge chandelier in the reception area is impressive.
We were checked-in very efficently by very welcoming staff and directed to our rooms which were well appointed with safe, mini-bar, phone, TV, seating area, desk, etc.
My bathroom had a corner shower with ample water pressure to take skin off if you were not careful.
The bed was firm queen size and the room was very quiet with no noise from the rest of the hotel.
There is a wide choice of eateries Japanese, Chinese. Iranian, Mexican, Spanish witrh Fusions is you wanted a very classey meal and the Sherlock Bar just outside and to the left of the main entrance.
We tried to sample all of them but settled on the Chinese for best food but the Sherlock Bar for atmosphere.
The hotel is well placed for getting around as it is situated near a major road junction so easy access.
It is about 10-15 mins from the airport.

Room Tip: Just sit back and enjoy the whole thing. But try to enjoy all the different food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourhouse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My room was one of the renovated ones, and was actually very good - comfy bed, good wifi, safe big enough for a laptop, but poor and complicated lighting. There would have been a nice view of the grand mosque but the windows were filthy. The men's gym was well equipped (you get your exercise just walking to it, it was miles from my room!). Ate in several of the restaurants, all decent, but occasionally spoilt by minor service failures (wrong items, slowness in taking orders), and the excessive and automatic 15% service charge. Sherlock Holmes pub is decent too, although one night, just as people ventured onto the dance floor, they pulled the music and substituted football with loud Arabic commentary - the place is surely big enough to satisfy both needs.

Room Tip: Renovated and mosque view are the key phrases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletch535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Comfortable and well layed out hotel rooms with great views over the city. Big selection of restaurants and bars, nice pool area and well equipped gym for the gents, not so for the ladies. Note, these are separated. Squash courts available but bring your own racket as there are non for rent here. A bit away from the city center but close to Adliya street with a lot of hip venues.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlethaandOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
3.0 km away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
6.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
1.0 km away
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
#37 of 134 in Manama
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
3.3 km away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
21.2 km away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa

Address: Al Fateh Avenue | Bldg 11, Road 3801, Block 337 Al Fateh Highway, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#10 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range: ₹ 10,941 - ₹ 27,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious five star hotel offering resort facilities with a modern city location; Enjoy the panoramic views from your newly renovated bedrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, or stay on our exclusive, discreet Platinum Floor offering some of the best vistas and services on the island. Discover the world and its delights in one of our 16 restaurants and bars, boasting a selection of diverse cuisines such as Iranian, Thai, Lebanese, Chinese, Western-Asian fusion, Japanese and continental. As a Platinum guest, you will enjoy a numerous of complimentary VIP treatments, including: •Private VIP check-in •Chilled towel and refreshing drink on arrival •Shoe-shine and one pressing on arrival •Daily newspaper and a selection of magazines •Luxurious Bvlgari White-tea amenities •Access to the dedicated Platinum Lounge and all its benefits •Buffet breakfast in the intimacy of the Platinum lounge The Platinum Lounge Our exclusive Platinum floor lounge affords our clients with the most discerning taste for excellence our signature customer service and spectacular panoramic views over Manama. Opened from 06.30 To midnight every day, the Platinum lounge not only offers all-day delightful buffets from breakfast till dinner accompanied with a wide selection of beverages, but also all business facilities like private meeting rooms, computer and other IT services access. Platinum Lounge Operating Hours (0630 am to 12 midnight) •A designated elevator and Guest Relations to welcome the guest upon arrival and will escort them from main entrance desk to the 13th floor. •Sit-in check - in while welcome drinks is being served of the guest's choice and to be escorted by a Guest Relations Officer to their room. •Full Breakfast buffet served from 0630 am. Till 1030 am. With live egg cooking. •All day self-service snacks and refreshments with fresh Danish pastries, selected sandwiches and breads. •Special Red/White wine, and selected beers are available for all day self-service consumptions. •Happy hour from 6 pm. Till 9 pm. With free selected beverages and choice of hot and cold canapes to unwind for the long day work. •Newspapers and Magazines available in the Platinum Lounge •A designated area for All day free Internet access in the Platinum Lounge. •Special Guest's Room Amenities in the Platinum Floor Rooms •Butler Services available upon requests. •Secretarial Services available in the Platinum Lounge upon requests. •Private meeting room with complimentary refreshments that can accommodate up to 8 persons. •Kids are allowed until 18:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Hotel Manama
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention And Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing