We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Put up here by Gulf Air - OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Safir Hotel & Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Manama
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
428 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Put up here by Gulf Air - OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Gulf Air had to put us up here for 12 hours after they cancelled our flight.
Our room was pretty basic, but big, & we had to call housekeeping to change the batteries in the safe so that it worked. Beds were comfy, bathroom & shower were good but quite a climb into the bath. I'm guessing we didn't have their best room as we were on a stopover.
The reception staff automatically deferred to, & spoke to, my husband, even though I visibly had both passports & money, ignoring me. That didn't go down well.
Bar was ok - again I felt that they weren't that used to women guests being in there, & it was quite smoky despite the smoking area being separated.
The restaurant was ok - we had 3 meals there.
The hotel complex has other restaurants in the grounds, & a nightclub.
Location wise - it is outside the main drag, but very near the Palace mosque, which is a fantastic building. Over the road is a nice coffee place & shopping arcade - its a very dusty place so be prepared.
Not the hotels fault, but Immigration at the airport was the worst & slowest I've ever known - we won't go back to Bahrain!

Room Tip: Good views from higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Director of Sales at Al Safir Hotel & Tower, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you for your comments and review about our facilities and services. We regret if we have not been to your expectations but would like to assure you that there has been a great change form teh time you have stayed with us and now, the rooms are modern and a brand new ulift has been given to the Hotel. We do deserve anotehr change to change your view about your experience and certainly look forward to welcoming you once again to our Hotel and Bahrain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
6
16
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel staffs are friendly and their buffet is average. One major problem with the rooms were that they are not properly sound proofed. I couldn't sleep well as the family next to my door was chattering all the time! Also you could here the throbbing motorbikes most of the time :(

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Director of Sales at Al Safir Hotel & Tower, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Mr. Alex,

My apologies for not coming back to you earlier. We are extremely sorry for teh uncomfortable stay that you have experienced during your stay with us. In solution to your comment, we have recently completed a major renovation, changed all window frames into double sandwich glass which has controlled the sound coming into the rooms. With regards to the noise from teh nest door, we have placed an additional door between both rooms, to reduce teh impact on noice traveling to other room.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to be of service to you and we assure you a much more relaxing and comfortable stay this time.

Best regards

Stephen Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilterfingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel consists of 2 part: the hotel itself and a seperate appartment part. We stayed in the appartment part. It was simply amazing. Our room was huge, with 2 big beds, a couch, a flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a fridge. The bathroom was not really big, but the shower was huge and very comfortable. Everything was spotless and inviting.
There is a car park in front. Staff is amazing and helpful. We could experience true arab friendliness. We also had lunch and dinner in the restaurant. It is served as a buffet. The quality was high with an amazing choice of dishes. Everything made was really fresh.
The grand mosque is in walking distance and there is a supermarket nearby. However, to reach the center you must take a cab. But the cabs are not expensive and it is a 15 minute drive.
When back in Bahrain, this will be our place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

While the Al Safir is a little old it does have a wonderful Arab charm and is passably clean (a smidge of dust, but such is the bane of housekeepers in the Middle East). The bed was lovely and the hotel was restful and quiet. Unfortunately the service was a nightmare. Check-in took 45 minutes, the receptionist took my ID for copies and though I was reluctant to let it out of my sight I agreed to let them photocopy it off-site. It took four hours and repeated requests for it to be returned to me. I also requested a power adaptor several times, but it never came. Check-out took 30 minutes. A lovely hotel, let down by staff.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecAndCecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Gulf Air cancelled our flight and lodged us here for 10 hours. The coach took an hour to come. We were a family of three and alloted a room with twin beds with an assurance of a third bed , which never came, in spite of one reminder, resulting in one of us sleeping on the chair. The room was spacious and clean. The buffet lunch was decent, but we were asked to pay for the tea. Excellent staff in the restaurant and reception. The bathroom had only one towel. We asked for a shaving kit twice before it arrived; it was horrible - a limp razor and an empty dried out tube of foam. The best part was the shower - the pressure was unbelievable - it could seriously damage your eyes, if you let loose the shower head, it would swing wildly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Safir Hotel
Grand Safir Hotel
#56 of 133 in Manama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#43 of 133 in Manama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.5 km away
Ramada Hotel Bahrain
Ramada Hotel Bahrain
#31 of 133 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Royal Phoenicia Hotel
Royal Phoenicia Hotel
#41 of 133 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.8 km away
Ramee Baisan Hotel Bahrain
0.6 km away
Orange Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Safir Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Safir Hotel & Tower

Property: Al Safir Hotel & Tower
Address: Building 670 Road 2411 | Area 324, Al Juffair, Manama 324, Bahrain
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Manama
#36 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,566 - ₹ 12,698
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Safir Hotel & Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al Safir Hotel & Tower has 193 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, suites and apartments. A cosmopolitan selection of restaurants, entertainment center and lounges as well as completely furnished business facilities complimented with hospitable services. From the very beginning, the hotel welcomes guests for business and leisure purposes. Located in the heart of Bahrain's vibrant entertainment district, Juffair. The hotel combines its heritage with all the amenities of the present day to ensure that your stay is peaceful, relaxed & memorable, thereby surpassing its deluxe four star status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Al Safir Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Safir Hotel And Tower
Al Safir Hotel & Tower Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing