We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheap and best hotel close to haram”
Review of Hotel Al Shohada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Shohada
Ranked #26 of 362 Hotels in Mecca
Ad Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The cheap and best hotel close to haram”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel from feb 15 2012 to feb 19 2012. our check in time was 3 pm but we arrived early around 8 am, so we parked our cars (spacious safe basement parking) got freshed up from lounge washrooms and performed our umrah. Without even check in they provided us shuttle bus service to haram. Although Haram is just 7 to 10 min walk, some fast walkers can reach in 5 mins. It is better to walk or use innova car service which is exclusively for executive rooms. Bus service will take around 10 min to drop basement of haram due to.diff route and traffic during prayer time.

We performed umrah and returned to hotel. They have good barbershop inside hotel where you can have your hair shaved without cuts, it will cost 25 riyals. We got dates and arabic coffee to freshup. It was 3 pm they still didnt let us check in and informed us it will take another hour as rooms were full and we have to wait in their beautiful lounge enjoying beautiful fragmented air.

As i had long drive to makkah and had infant and my parents with me, i didnt want to wait more. So i rang up my travel agent and addressed my concerns. He immediately called up hotel manager and then hotel manager came to reception and enquired abt me. He then upgraded and issued us five executive rooms for us for four nights (floor 7) whereas our actual booking was for standard rooms. Finally our patience had result, we then enjoyed full facilities of the hotel like our room had everything from tea, kettle,Towels, slippers, dental kits, water and mainly a basket of fresh fruits which they fill on daily basis. The buffet breakfast was very good and mainly arabic food and salads, they also let u take it to your room if you dont want to eat in the hall. We also got free to and fro haram drop via innova car 24/7. You also have free foot massage and relaxation lounge in the same floor opened during specific hours. You got shops ground floor where you can buy zamzam well packed water, you have bank atm,pharmacy, mobile stc office next to hotel. There are small cafterias also next to hotel, laundry is available opposite the hotel. The house keeping was great, they made room look always neat and fresh. Mohamed Asvaf , Butler provided us all assistance and was very friendly and helpful. The rooms had twin beds but could be easily joined to look kingsize. You can hear the haram adhan easily without any hotel sound system as its so close by haram. Overall we loved it as we didnt face any issues and could focus on our worship. I would certainly opt for exec. Rooms of same hotel next time insha Allah.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Mohamed_Shamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    54
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
73
16
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is one of the prime and best hotel in mecca for all those coming for pilgrimage, he hotels had suits rooms above level 7, if you able to bargain - in most cases if available - you can enjoy the hospitality including a good breakfast, internet port, foot amssage and personalised pickup and drop shuttle service to gate no.1.

This hotels raised leap and bound in services after AKMC took over managment. even the Newspaper is provided in the rooms in small bag here.

Room Tip: book early and try to bargain for upgrades to suites, its realy value for money hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sks-ngp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Although Makkah, Haram zone includes Hundreds of hotels, this Hotel Al Shohadaa comes at the first choice if you budget 100-150 $$
Advantages:
****************
-Neat, Luxury, quiet
-Large reception hall with fantastic smell (Reseda or Oud)
-Many modern & big elevators,
-Free Parking (put in consideration in this zone you can pay around 60$ per day only for parking)
-Nice restaurant and Room Service
-Big rooms, modern furniture & clean bathroom
-Most of staff are friendly little bit slow in check in process and one of them was not friendly
-Good house-keeping

Disadvantage
------------------
- Some 'essential' services are provided only in executive rooms (Floor 7&8) like Internet WiFi, Water boiler, complementary Tea & coffee, Tooth brush, slipper ... etc
- Hotel is located 0.8 KM of AL-Haram but hotel already provides shuttle buses to Haram and Van Cars for guests in Executive rooms it is already used for all guest in non-peak season

Room Tip: Select rooms in 8th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hshalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed at al shohada hotel with 2 friends for total of 7 nights in March 2011.

The hotel smells amazing has a really nice fragrance as soon as you walk in.

We arrived with our luggage and went to reception and they took our details and gave us temporary passes for the toilets and washrooms downstairs which can only be accessed by a swipe card, they were very large and very clean, so far soo good.

we went to the haram and done our umrah and our room was ready.

We even got a call after checking in to our rooms to ask if we needed anything and if everything was to our satisfaction.

The rooms are nice and bathrooms are large, all in all nice rooms. the toiletries are very nice especially the body lotion.
We got a fruit bowl in our rooms on arrival.

The Hotel is roughly 7-10 mins walk away in a very nice part of makkah called ajyad.
Much quieter than misfalah which can be mega busy.

The Hotel has a 16 seater mini bus service to the haram which takes around 10 mins going due to the one way system and around 2 mins coming back.The drop off/pick up is under the haram and has direct access via the escalators, good for the elderly and famailies. the pick up point is noisy due to traffic and is used by other hotels and sometimes there can be a rush after salah to get back to the hotels, but still a good service.

The reception and the ground floor is very large with comfy sofas throughout the floor for you to chill when you want to.

The Hotel serves the best Breakfast ever, which includes boiled eggs, omlette, scrambled eggs, 3-4 differnet pastries, 3 fresh juices, cold meat, cut fruit, toast, nan bread, tea, coffee, cereals, pancakes to name a few things, you have to see it to believe it. Mmmmm AMAZING!!

The hotel staff are very professional inc reception staff who speak very good English, even the porters are very good and dont harass you for tips.

We arranged our taxi back to Jeddah which cost us 100 riyal for 3 people very good.

The hotel has a gift shop alsohas a date shop with all the finest gift boxes available. very nice

Also they do a massage service which i might try the next time i stay here.

Will definately stay here again.

We paid 430 sr for a triple which we though for the service was great.

For wi-fi you have to pay extra, would be great if they had free wi-fi even on the ground floor.

Thanks al sohada for a great time :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank araf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel was pretty good, we stayed there 2 days after Hajj for 6nights, there was a welcome fruit basket on the first day and bottled water every day. The room was nice, clean and fresh, the bathroom is 5 star, with toiletries re-stocked daily with the housekeeping. the lobby is really a great place to chill, the restaurant serves pretty nice pasta and Shawarmas for a decent price. however the drinks are best purchased outside as you will pay 8 times the price for a can. the desserts are also very nice although can take long for them to get them to you (even with room service). The buffet breakfast was awesome! a really huge variety of hot and cold foods, pastries/cakes etc. The hotel is at least a 8mins walk to the Harram, and longer on the way back due the crowds. All in all I would stay there again most definately!

Room Tip: -the paid for wifi only works in the lobby and not in the rooms - there is no iron or tea making fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SydneyKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
1.3 km away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
0.2 km away
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
1.4 km away
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Elaf Almashaer
Elaf Almashaer
#32 of 362 in Mecca
58 reviews
0.2 km away
Forsan Al Asil Hotel
Forsan Al Asil Hotel
#99 of 362 in Mecca
6 reviews
1.2 km away
Makkah Marriott Hotel Jabal Omar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Shohada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Shohada

Property: Hotel Al Shohada
Address: Ajyad St. | PO Box 20840, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,289 - ₹ 8,407
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Al Shohada 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Al Shohada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Shohada Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing