We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first stop in Jordan, and it did the trick. Great budget option. We stayed in two different rooms one was very spacious had a balcony and a great view of the Roman Forum, and the other was a budget room. Again great aircon, just very small. Both had shared bathroom facilities, but we enjoyed the pretty courtyard and if it had been cooler during our stay the roof top!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammanamman, Manager at Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to post your rview regarding your recent stay. Reviews are important to us and to other potential guests. We truly appreciate you taking the tim to post your kind and generous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Had a very odd experience here.

The hotel itself seems great - fantastically central location (literally opposite the theatre), with clean rooms and hot showers. There is also a nearby (free) car park if you're driving.

The only reason I haven't rated higher was the attitude of the management (which looking at previous reviews - and some of the very defensive responses to them - doesn't seem too unusual).

When we first arrived, we were told our room only had a shared bathroom (despite the booking saying shower was "included" in the room). Didn't seem great, but we said we were fine with that. They then offered to "upgrade" us, which seemed nice enough. But when we arrived in the room it was boiling hot and we couldn't find the air con controller. After unpacking we asked them where it was, and they said it would cost an extra 5 JD. And there was no other form of ventilation (windows or fan). So we then asked to go back to our original room - by this point we had wasted about an hour having conversations about rooms and moving between them (when I'd really have rather been looking round Amman). Then when we arrived in the room, it turned out it DID have a bathroom. And the person who showed us to it couldn't explain why they originally said it didn't. Suppose this was possible all trying to get some extra JD - not sure...

They could see we were a bit irritated by this point.... then the next thing we knew, we had an email from booking.com saying the hotel had said we hadn't checked in. I thought this was pretty clearly an attempt to stop us giving them any kind of negative review - which has been a theme of previous reviews here.

So overall found the whole experience sightly odd. It's actually a really nice hotel; I just think the management need to be a bit less defensive and accept critical feedback where it's due. And be a bit more upfront with guests on things like extra charges. Some of the responses to comments here just seem far more defensive than is necessary.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaman H, Manager at Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Reviews are of course important to us, irrespective of whether they are from regular individuals outlining their recent experiences of a stay at our humble abode - or from those who feel the need to conduct a Gordon Ramsey style hotel inspection and an annual staff appraisal of management.

First of all, let me say, my observation is, that you seem to have lots of spare time to delve back donkeys years and read historic reviews and responses. Thats nice and truly impressive, especially for someone who wants to book an economic budget room for a one night stay in a guests house.

Clearly your encounter was with a new member of staff, who has since left this hotel, who wasnt sure of his work . Nothing odd about it really.

Whats really odd is that having done the historical research, you went ahead and booked, then deliberately marked the hotel down, because you didnt agree with previous management responses to other reviews... seriously..?
Suffice to say, most would find that odd..

Nevertheless, we always seek to ensure the utmost satisfaction of all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Great location, can see roman theater through window, very clean room, if you compare with other hotels, most of staff are super nice people, breakfast was good too, they also help arrange tours that picks you up right at the hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaman H, Manager at Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We really appreciate it when people take the time to post a review and a recommendation. Thanks for pointing out the many plus points of staying in our Hotel
and for mentioning the economical shared tours which are very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed here for three nights.

Plusses:
- Wifi
- Great terrace/balcony with view of the Roman theatre
- helpful staff + 24 hour reception
- decent breakfast
- organised tours
- decent room prices

Negatives:
- Bit of confusion regarding the room. I had initially pre-booked a dorm room for a single night. Having arrived in Jordan at 6am the morning prior to my booking, however, I was tired so asked if I could take a bed for a few hours until my booked space was ready for check in. This is a fairly standard ask and in my experience most hostels offer a room at a heavily discounted rate (or a sofa!) in such circumstances. I was given a bed in an empty private room and charged a discounted rate of 8JD (and was told I couldn't have breakfast) - fair enough. However confusion arose when my friend arrived later that morning - at 11am - and was also apparently charged the same amount to stay in the room early. To us this seemed slightly opportunistic - guests shouldn't be charged close to the full rate for about an hour's usage of an otherwise empty room. We didn't end up contesting this - and my friend was stupid for agreeing to it - so arguably our fault as much as anyone's, but frankly it felt like a bit of a sting, particularly after the outrageously expensive airport taxi (27JD for a 30 minute journey - that's gotta be one of the priciest in the world)! Basically it harmed our trust, which leads me on to the second negative....
- We felt like there was quite a lot of hard sell regarding the organised tours. Of course, hostels have absolutely no obligation to provide information to guests, and clearly have an incentive to fill up their tours, but in my experience the best hostels offer impartial advice with the offer of a cheap organised tour if only guests are interested. We only found out about various bits of essential travel information - such as the availability and cheapness of local busses, both to the South of the country and to the airport (only 3JD!) through asking around at other hostels....the staff at Zaman Ya Zaman always seemed keen to push their tours, and (according to my friend) were unhelpful regarding alternative options (he was told that the airport bus was unreliable - which was untrue in both of our experiences). In the end we actually opted going with other companies on tours because we got the vibe that information was being withheld from us @ Zaman ya Zaman. Basically it would have been good to get some impartial advice for travellers on a shoestring budget (eg, take X bus to Y location, then rent a cheap taxi) rather than always being directed back to the hostel's tours and told that there were few other feasible transport options. That said, the staff were always friendly, so this is more of an observation than a criticism.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaman H, Manager at Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your review - and your observations have been investigated and where necessary staff have been advised to correct inconsistencies.

Its important to us to listen to all our guests and ensure, where possible, their complete satisfaction.

I would just like to refer to the point about your friend. As I understand you both booked dorm rooms - as separate entities - so the fact that you were given a room at 6am - 8 hours prior to check in for a reduced fee, has no bearing on him. He arrived you said at 11am... why didnt he just leave his bag in storage with us and check in at the allotted time of 2pm..? This is the usual way. The fact you were given a preferantial rate to use another room until check in, doesnt mean that any other guest is allowed to use it. No hotel permits usage of its facilities, ie beds, showers, toilets, wifi etc until check-in.

Regarding charges for pick up... 27jd is the rate the transport company charge. You could have taken an airport taxi around 22jd... and then been harrassed for tips on top. With all due respect you knew the charge beforehand and agreed. You must also know that all airports have taxis - and could have gone by that method. The journey time is approx 45 minutes in fact.

Regarding tours.... Our policy is only to suggest tours to interested parties. If you want to do your own thing we dont interfere with that... We are not in the business of being pushy and if it came across like that I apologize. We run a hotel not a tour company - but guests do request us to try and find others to share tours to keep their costs down.

If the staff seemed unhelpful regarding getting around the south of Jordan on buses - its probably because they dont know. Our staff have cars and dont use buses. And what you were asking is a bit like - I live in Crediton and want to get to Pratts Bottom - how do I do that? No idea !! So, most people go online and check how to get from A-B. Would a hotel in London explain how you get from Cheltenham to Kidlington? I doubt it.

But if you ask local questions thats something different, they can answer you with everything you need. If you actually ended up taking tours with another company - what information did you need about buses then? Clearly your new choice of company didnt give you bus options either... probably because they dont exist or they didnt know either.

Its sad you felt that way about your stay with us - but hopefully you had a great time in Jordan and saw everything you needed to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The highlights of this hotel have to be it's location (about 10mins walk from downtown Amman) and it's quaint breakfast room and terrace with splendid views of the Roman amphitheater right opposite.

The staff were nice, kind and helpful and the breakfast was quite good (although it would be nice to have an option for some plain-old toast or cereal along with the more Jordanian options).

The rooms are quite basic and small (two beds and some shelving - no other furniture) - which we were expecting and the bathroom's decor is quite beautiful. For some reason we were given a twin room (even though we booked a double-room and our booking confirmation included the dimensions of the double bed!). We also had some misunderstanding with the staff with regards to how much we had to pay for our first night since we were arriving at the hotel at 5am. At first they said we'd be charged for half a night and then they changed their minds and said we'd need to pay for a full night.

Nevertheless we felt very safe staying here and since the hotel is in a private gated alley it was a nice quiet place to stay in Amman. All

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beta-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaman H, Manager at Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We really appreciate it when people take the time to post a review and a recommendation. Thanks for pointing out the fact our staff are extremely accommodating and friendly. Regarding the breakfast - we hope that our guests will enjoy the different local food, but I m looking at adding the items you mentioned, thanks for your useful suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.2 km away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#22 of 150 in Amman
485 reviews
0.2 km away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#7 of 150 in Amman
966 reviews
0.4 km away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#23 of 150 in Amman
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Farah Hotel
Farah Hotel
#41 of 150 in Amman
179 reviews
2.6 km away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#26 of 150 in Amman
226 reviews
0.7 km away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#27 of 150 in Amman
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel

Address: 97 Hashemi Street | opposite Roman Theatre, Amman, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Price Range: ₹ 1,816 - ₹ 2,996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendy yet traditional boutique hotel - accessed via a delightful terraced garden stairway and enjoying unobstructed views of the Roman Amphitheatre and the wide open spaces of the Hashemite Piazza - which is directly opposite. Citadel just behind. Perfect strategic location. 24 hour front desk - free wifi - luggage storage – car rental delivered to hotel - laundry service - ironing service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing