We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
205
232
116
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
232
116
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown ammancrab towerroman theatrerooftop restaurantbudget hotelideal locationhummushotel is locatedhot watervery nice hotelcitadeljordandriverbackpackersjerash
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Burj al Arab is a budget hotel located in 'Downtown' Amman, close to the Husseini Mosque and Roman amphitheatre. Downtown is a bustling and extremely lively neighbourhood - perhaps not the cleanest or classiest in the city, but it's a fantastic place to base yourself when visiting this city.

We stayed here just one night at the end of a week-long tour through Jordan. Although we would have only one afternoon and one night in Amman, we wanted somewhere close to the action, so to speak, and close to the sights and sounds of the city that we could explore on foot.

We reserved the hotel in advance through our airline, where it was indicated as having parking for guests, which is not strictly true. Free parking is available on the streets around the hotel, but we arrived in the early afternoon and the streets were jammed solid. Western tourists will find driving in Amman extremely stressful and finding the hotel was only made possible by being accompanied by an Arabic speaking friend. We would strongly advise that if you find yourself in the same situation you park away from the city centre (perhaps leave your car at the airport) and simply use taxis, which are cheap and plentiful.

That said, the owner of the hotel and a concierge helped us once we had arrived, unloading our bags and then accompanying me as I drove a few times round the block to find a parking space. We were offered an upgrade for 5JD to a larger suite on the fifth floor (room 501) which included a living room, two extra single beds and two bathrooms. The room was clean, although the bathrooms were bordering on basic - water was hot and the showers were ok, but the floor didn't drain properly and remained wet long after we had taken the shower.

Our sleep was fine, although non-Muslims should recognise that if you stay so close to some of the city's most important mosques, you will probably be woken by the early morning call to prayer.

We checked out very early, so missed breakfast, but we did check out the attractive rooftop terrace where it's served. This is open during the summer months and enclosed with plastic sheeting in the winter when Jordanians shiver in single digit celsius temperatures. A small packed breakfast was generously offered but we turned it down.

The neighbourhood immediately around the hotel is extremely lively with shops, markets and plenty of cheap options for food. We particularly enjoyed seeing the Roman amphitheatre and local markets, and were made exceptionally welcome by all the traders and people we met. Jordan is a very safe country and Amman is no exception. We had a great meal at the Jaffra Café, which is a short walk from the hotel. We were able to get helpful and accurate directions from all the staff, and every request for help (accessing the free wifi, borrowing an electricity adaptor, using the reasonably priced soft-minibar) was prompt and friendly.

Great value, and a great base for a whistle stop tour of Amman.

Room Tip: The higher the better - fifth and sixth floors have the best views, and 501 was great for views over the rooftops to the north-east and south-east.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arabtower, General Manager at Arab Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Your time spent in writing about your experience with us on the Trip Advisor is precious but highly appreciated, same as for your lovely positive comments about your stay. We are glad that we managed to please you with our product and services provided. We can’t wait for your next stay which we hope it will be soon.

Thank you,

Mohannad Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive, clean room near the citadel and amphitheatre, amid the bustle of the city and man did I find it and more in the Arab Tower Hotel. The entire desk staff is welcoming and helpful and the price of 20JD for a single and 30JD for a double (in low season January) included a great breakfast of omelete, toast, coffe and veggies. And the location could not have been better, a short walk from the Roman theatre and the spectacular citadel just up the hill. They are also happy to arrange tours to Jurash and Petra but I ventured on my own for those trips. This place is excellent and it was a big reason why I loved my time in friendly Amman.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are interior and see very little out the window so ask for a room with a view. There are six floors of rooms and I thought the higher the better.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed at Burj al Arab Hotel from 6/12/2011 to 13/12/2011 had a great time. Staff are very freindly and helpfull especially Rafat and Ibrahim. They provided us with all the information we asked for, Rafat was also able to locate the whereabout of the letter written by Prophet Mohammad pbuh to Hraraclius. The letter is kept at the Central Bank of Jordan.The location of the hotel is very good on the main road with plenty of shops of all kind. We rebook the hotle with out hesitation. Rafat we love you from Hassan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shabbir U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arabtower, Public Relations Manager at Arab Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feed back on your last visit with us. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and your comments. We love you too.

Sincerely,

Mohannad Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed in the Arab Tower Hotel in Amman between the end of November and beginning of December 2011. The place is very well located in downtown Amman, the rooms are clean, and staff could not have been more supportive, generous and kind. They are always eager to please their guests and will help with any queries. You find boxes in every floor where guests can place suggestions - which shows their willingness to please. Prices are excellent too. Last but not least it offers a beautiful view of downtown from the terrace. By far the best choice for Amman!

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the top floors next to terrace as it offers a lovely view of downtown Amman.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arabtower, General Manager at Arab Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

We are very pleased that you took the time to provide us feedback on your experience with us and thank you so much for for your kind remarks! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Mohannad Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in November paying 30JD for an double room.
The room was of a decent size but not clean at all, ants were crawling in the bathroom and a lot of hairs from previous guests. The shower is horrible, the one I had in the wadi rum desert was even better than this one.
The guy at the counter was not helpful at all, merely plain rude. And the WIFI does not work at all.
Good things are the breakfast, its basic but an friendly cook makes you an omelet. and the location its close to the citadel, theater and souk.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Park W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews