We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro Lunch Bravo”
Review of La Capitale

La Capitale
Ranked #11 of 792 Restaurants in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Description: La Capitale is a classic French brasserie that provides a comfortable place for everyone to spend time at whether for a business lunch, dinner with family or friends or a drink at the bar.
Restaurant details
Description: La Capitale is a classic French brasserie that provides a comfortable place for everyone to spend time at whether for a business lunch, dinner with family or friends or a drink at the bar.
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Had heard about this newish bistro and wasnt sure how it would play out. The place is beautifully executed with a smart casual vibe and very skillful and attentive staff. My beef bourguingnon was perfectly tender and rich. A side order of cheesy dauphinoise potatoes transported me to Paris. My husband's bouillabaise was a variation on the Marseille classic but he judged it pretty amazing ( and he lived there). The only disappointment were the escargot that had been doused with chopped garlic cooked in butter...this is not correct. They shoukd be cooked in a butter-garlic-parsely late so they are infused with the flavors ehike cooking. Instead the snails were tough and bland. When we told the manager we could not taste the garlic he kindly ordered us a new plate with more sauteed garlic. But this is not the solution! Aside from that, every item and overall experience was impeccable. Fabulous bread, too. Will go back but will eat escargot at home! Merci.

Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharif H, General Manager at La Capitale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Kathy S,

Salut from La Capitale. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on our brasserie. I'm very sorry to hear that the escargot was not to your liking. However, i'm happy that your overall experience was great. We would love to have you and your husband back again anytime.

Sincerely,
Sharif H.
GM, La Capitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

The food and atmosphere are super, the best in amman. The host Ibrahim is super welcoming and nice, he gives great advices on pairing the food with drinks.

2  Thank Dafi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharif H, General Manager at La Capitale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Dafi M,

Salut from La Capitale. Thank you for your sweet review. Please come back again anytime.

Sincerely,
Sharif H.
GM, La Capitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

This was a great place to eat. The food was amazing, the complimentary bread they bring is so fresh and delicious. Our server, Abraham (IQ) was very accommodating and made it a fun experience for everyone. We will definitely be back!

1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharif H, General Manager at La Capitale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Rebecca C,

Salut from La Capitale. We're very happy to hear that you will be back and we're honored to host you. I've passed on your kind words to Ibrahim. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Sharif H.
GM, La Capitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I couldn’t wait to get home and tell the world about this masterpiece of a restaurant where we just had the most exquisite lunch , my family and I . Definitely puts Jordan on the map for top culinary destinations . Scores a perfect 10 on every level : the decor completely out of this world and flawless , the service attentive and genuinely warm , the food of the best quality and presentation :) Everything ordered was divine : the French onion soup , the salade d’endives , the steak frites , the cheeseburger ... oh the cheeseburger .. I’m a huge cheeseburger aficionado and this one scored in the top five I’ve ever had in my life . We had no room for dessert unfortunately . I’ll be back though . I might even come back this evening to have a drink at the bar looked exceptionally warm and sophisticated . Can totally imagine snuggling up in those beautiful bar chairs enjoying I’m sure a meticulously crafted old fashioned while catching up with my BFF .. mmmmmmmm can’t wait ! Ps. You have to check out the bathrooms here ! I wanted to move in !

Thank Fadi081577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharif H, General Manager at La Capitale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Fadi081577,

Salut from La Capitale. First and foremost, your headline alone put a smile on all our faces. Then we read your detailed and constructive feedback and that made us all even happier. so thank you! Please come back again soon. We are honored to host you.

Sincerely,

Sharif Hayek
GM, La Capitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I went a few weeks ago for the first time to La Capitale's bar for cocktails, and I got to talking to the bartender, Ibraham S. He was so friendly, and he made the best cocktail I may have ever had. I would go back again just for him!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrendanP329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharif H, General Manager at La Capitale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Brendan P,

Salut from La Capitale. Ibrahim is patiently waiting for you to come back :) Thank you so much for your kind review.

Sincerely,
Sharif H.
GM, La Capitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capitale also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to La Capitale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing