We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tel Aviv”
Review of Mashya

Mashya
Ranked #20 of 1,809 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Kerem Ha-teimanim
Description: mashya restaunt is the new little sister of "kitchen market" (TLV PORT). Chef Guy Ariche made a new local modern kitchen.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

A year ago, we had breakfast and it was wonderful. We ate lunch last week on business. Fine food and very tasty. Service is very good with lots of treats. Restaurant highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 534rankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 524 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was the second time we visited the restaurant and. The quality remained the same.great decor,, great food and amazing service. Was a little noisy but they reduced the volume upon our. Request
Reservation a must

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 673hannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect for breakfast, amazing buisiness luch and rocking dinner. Great tastes, ok prices for TLV. New age morrocoean food. Dont miss it

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank C9776EHmikek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2016

there are many factors which need to be considered when rating or reviewing a Chefs restaurant such as Mashya.
Starting with expectations- yes this may be rated one of the best restaurants in TLV, but one must go with the proper expectations as to not raise hope to a type of cuisine which may not even be relevant to the restaurant type.

Mashya presents a modern spin on midlle eastern and Moroccan food- otherwise know as some of the best street/low cost food in Israel.
Sure you can get an excellent Shwarma or bowl of Kuskus for a fifth of the price, but Mashya isn't here to serve you what you can score easily. it is here to give you a gentle dining experience without distracting from the original flavors of those traditional dishes and spices.

And it does that perfectly!
lets start with the service which was absolutely wonderful, we went for the business lunch which is always slightly toned down atmosphere and yet requires a bit of rushed service for those who need to return to the office.
Service was friendly, open and our waiter Matan ( if you are reading this you did an excellent job) insisted we order specific dishes. boy am I glad he was persistent with us or otherwise we would have not ventured to taste so many interesting unplanned dishes!

food itself is beautifully presented like a work of art, but art must also taste good- and here is the good part about Mashya , everything we had was completely consumed down to the last bit of green herbs on the plate!
nothing was less than perfect for each designated dish- and what do I mean by this? do not expect mind blowing tantalizing taste buds exploding in your mouth, but rather a well-refined, almost gentle yet perfect flavors from and extremely high quality dish.

And this is what makes this place so great - everything from the materials, to how its presented is like a work of art which brings out the best of each flavor, but subtly and gently so you don't feel too overwhelmed.

This whole dining experience blends in with the modern yet very inviting design and interior of the restaurant.

expensive? no more than others!
on a budget- def check out the lunch menu!
Mind-blowing? no come with the proper expectations and have a wonderful time!
The best in TLV? that differs but def in the top 10 taking in all parameters to consider.

Enjoy!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Restaurant is highly rated and very expensive, so we expected much more.

We went for lunch.
Starters were not too glowing. Dishes were nicely presented but each one had a long list of spices/herbs and other additional ingredients.
Green salad had nice dressing but there was too much of it.

Mains were very nicely presented but there was no "WOW" effect.

Deserts were nothing special.
Service was excellent. Decor is nice but the place is not ideal a part of an entrance to a restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2016
2  Thank AVFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mashya also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Mashya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.