We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two star at best and excessively expensive”
Review of Orchid Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchid Tel Aviv
Ranked #54 of 101 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I spent three nights in this hotel at 220 US$/night. A complete ripoff. A small, poky room, very noisy airconditioning and minibar (finally i pulled the plug on the minibar to shut it up). Alongside the lift, which meant that every time it stopped at my floor I heard the annoying "ping". The staff are typically Israeli, ie: "pasotas" to the point of rudeness and not particularly helpful when trying to be helpful. But that is to be expected, and unlikely to change any time soon. Yes, the wifi works well and the breakfast buffet is good, but this doesn't compensate the rest.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Maignon48b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 552 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

As soon as you step into the hotel is like being back in the early 90's, it is tired. The staff is extremely unfriendly and unhelpful so the check-in process is painful.
We reserved and paid a room with seaview but got a side view of the street and sea, so technically is had a seaview but not what your expect as seaview.
The room was ok, nothing to remember, but the bathroom was horrible, looked cheap, dirty and was sort of smelly.
We had to catch an early morning flight so in the afternoon we asked the receptionist on the time she suggested for us to leave for the airport and, being 5 people (4 adults and 1 baby) we wanted a big taxi as regular taxis only allow 3 people. She told us to request it at the reception in the evening and they would make sure a big taxi was requested. The next morning, we had to take 2 regular taxis at 4am because they did not call for the big one. Beware of the taxis as you will believe they will charge for the night fee as published at the front desk (as they do not want to use the taximeter) but then, they will make you pay additional fees for your luggage (which did not happen with the taxi we took from the airport, with taximeter and luggage was even cheaper than what was originally quoted at the front desk). At the end, you leave the hotel unhappy because they did not fulifilled what was offered, cheated because it all looked as if they were in accordance with the taxi drivers and robbed because at that time there was no police at the airport to complain to, so we just had to pay for the extra, and incorrect, fees to that thief of a driver.
The hotel is not cheap so I suggest you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VamonosDeViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel has a nice position on the seafront but the rooms are tired. There is free wifi through out which is good except it is nor reliable and doesn't work in all rooms. The international calls don't work from all rooms either. I ended up sitting in reception to keep up to date with em and yes I did let the reception know there was a problem each day I was there but they couldn't fix it.

Breakfast is good, plentiful, good variety, nice views from the restauarant.
Some tlc needed to bring this hotel up to speed, next time I'll try somwhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This was my second stay at the Orchid - six nights for a journalistic assignment business trip. It was fully booked, meaning I couldn't upgrade to a room in the newer tower nearer the sea. However, my "single room" in the other one still had a very comfortable king size bed, a sea view, fast internet, free international phone calls, a decent desk, a kettle and plentiful supplies of tea and coffee. The airy, peaceful lounge bar was a handy venue for interviews. I was working some very long days, a couple of times not getting back until well after midnight, and the smooth, welcoming service I experienced throughout was just what I needed, while the excellent location means there are good restaurants very close which stay open until the early hours of the morning. On my last day, when I had to file a long article to my paper before leaving for the airport at about 3 pm, they let me keep the room, although they were full again that night: this was much appreciated. I am surprised by some of the negative comments here. Look: if you want to pay $500 a night, to be sure, you will find somewhere more luxurious. But I don't plan on staying anywhere else on my next trip to Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Do not book in this hotel as they do not guarantee your room, inspite of asking for your credit card number.
I have booked two rooms for my colleague and I and received a written confirmation.
Once we arrive tonight, they told us the hotel was full and sent us to another hotel, very bad, but almost the same price without any compensation.
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL THEY ARE NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank FLEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 km away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#53 of 101 in Tel Aviv
337 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#43 of 101 in Tel Aviv
1,564 reviews
0.6 km away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#59 of 101 in Tel Aviv
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Lusky – Great Small Hotel
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.1 km away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#13 of 101 in Tel Aviv
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tel Aviv

Address: 79 HayarkonStreet, Tel Aviv 6343236, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#31 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#36 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#42 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: ₹ 11,726 - ₹ 24,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Tel Aviv 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Hotel Tel Aviv Ha-Yarkon St 79, Tel Aviv-Yafo, 63432, Israel Orchid Tel Aviv Park Plaza Orchid Hotel, Tel Aviv's business and leisure hotel is centrally located on the promenade and shores of the city that never stops, with magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel offers 202 rooms and suites, ensuring guests maximum comfort in an exclusive and luxurious design. Each room is equipped with high standard facilities including flat-screen TVs, iPad docks and more. The hotel is ideal for business people, families and tourists - for both long and short stays. The hotel has a business center that provides a variety of services and facilities. Computer stations, a printer and photocopier. Business people are invited to relax in the hotel's business lounge with breathtaking views of the sea, light snacks and refreshments and dedicated, professional and courteous staff waiting to assist you. The hotel offers a range of complimentary services for the benefit of hotel guests that include high-speed Wi-Fi access, international calls from rooms and lobby, and more. Apart from business, it is important that our guests enjoy and relax. The hotel offers fine Israeli cuisine served throughout the day, from luxurious Israeli breakfasts to bar-style dinners served at the lobby at sunset. The hotel's spa offers a variety of luxurious and rejuvenating beauty treatments and massages given by professional therapists and masseurs. Keep in shape at the hotel's well-equipped, modern and state of the art gym, belonging to SPACE fitness center or at the swimming pool. The hotel also offers complimentary bicycles for guests seeking to explore the city on two wheels. The hotel's prime and attractive location in the heart of the promenade allows guests to enjoy Tel Aviv's attractions, nightlife and entertainment, restaurants, museums, art galleries, shopping malls, theaters, water sports, hiking and cycling trails - no doubt an unforgettable and unique urban experience. *Smoking in the hotel and it's grounds is strictly prohibited. * Please note that pets of any kind are forbidden in the hotel, other than guide dogs for guests who are registered disabled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orchid Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Park Plaza Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing