We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott antidote”
Review of Hashimi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hashimi Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marriott antidote”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The rooms are tiny, the bathroom cubicles even tinier, but this is an old house and the absolutely fantastic view from their roof top terrace makes up for everything else in my point of view. You have the dome of the rocks “on a plate”, while you are eating your breakfast up there. The staff is genuinely friendly and welcoming and while it is on the noisy side, you are bang in the middle of one of the souqs and there are wafts of smell of exotic spices coming through your bedroom window. If you prefer your hotels to look the same all over the world like a Marriott avoid at all costs, if you are after a more genuine local experience -five stars! Also easy to get to, from central bus station take the new tram to Damascus gate and walk for 5-10 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehlephant2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    138
    57
    40
    32
See reviews for
112
100
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Yes, you have to drag your luggage down steps to teh Damascus Gate, walk the buslting market place to the Hashimi Hotel. This is not a hotel for those used to 5 star luxury. It is very basic, but clean. We chose it for it location in the Old City and teh fact that it was within easy walking distance to Al Aqsa Mosque and all the other attractions in the Old City. We stayed for two nights. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms adequate, it had a shower, basin and toilet. The breakfast was also very simple, consisted of scrambled eggs, pita, houmous, salads, tea, coffee & biscuits. Note that there are no kettles, fridges or chairs in the rooms. The staff very extremely friendly and every effort to assist with bookings for tours etc. the linen was clean if a little old and worn. The rooftop garden made up for any in adequacies of the hotel. It has a stunning view of teh Old City, the Dome of the Rock, AL Aqsa Mosque and Mount Olives. I would stay there again just for the location.

Room Tip: No good rooms, take them or leave them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasminaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were delighted to stay in hashimi hotel. It is the most convenient location. Can't get any better than being in the heart of the Old City. Restaurants, Market, Souvenir shops, Cafe', most important all Holly places are within a walking distance. The staffs were very helpful. The roof top is absolutely breath taking. The Hotel it self is not a 5 stars hotel but we knew that simply it is Hotel and Hostel joined to gather. We would say it is a boutique. We very much recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

That was most terrible hotel we ever have been to. You enter it from the narrow corridor of bustling Arab market which is totally deserted after 7:00 pm. and there is no one on narrow streets. You can’t get to hotel by car and it’s up to you to drag your luggage for a half a mile on cobble pavements. There is no elevator in a hotel. Room was dirty and we could not see through dirty glass of the window. Old dirty linens had holes and bathroom was not cleaned. After complaining to a concierge we were promised that room will be cleaned and decided to go for a walk meanwhile. There is no café or restaurant anywhere near. We found the closest one in Armenian Quarters 30 min. walking distance. My wife did not want to come back to Hashimi and we booked a room at St. George Landmark Hotel near Damascus Gate. I came back to Hashimi for my luggage and offered to pay for one night stay, but manager and owner wanted to charge me for all 4 booked nights. It took intervention of manager from St. George Hotel to reduce it to 2 nights penalty. And Hashimi does not take credit cards! Now we have laughs telling friends about this adventure. It cost us $390 and I think it was cheap price for getting out of Hashimi.

Room Tip: Stay out of it! Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Jerusalem offers a rich experience for any traveler, with historic roots dating back for Muslims, Jews and Christians. Set among the majestic old city is a pearl of a hotel named Hashimi.

What the hotel lacks in luxury, it over compensates in the attitude and nature of its staff. The humble yet friendly ever willing to assist staff go the extra 10 miles to ensure that you have the best stay possible. From the front desk manager, Sheikh Saleh to the kitchen cook, Sister Mariam to the all rounder Abdur Rahmaan, as well as the other front desk managers, each individual has a cheerful disposition and they are always available to assist. The hotel is very neat and clean. They offer clean towels n ample blankets for the cooler evenings. There's a cosy lounge area with an abundant supply of tea and coffee. And the roof offers a peaceful breathtaking view of the city. The breakfast has a range of local food along with fresh home made lemonade. Adding to the experience, there's free WIFI and internet services are also readily available. Laundry and money exchange services are conveniently located in the hotel. To add to the value, the hotel is located within walking distance from all the cultural sites within the old city.

All in all to add to a fantastically amazing spiritual trip, Hashimi is the place to be!

A hearty thank you to the staff, especially Sheikh Saleh for helping locate my father in Jaffa and assisting us in fulfilling our goals. We hope to visit you again soon. God willing!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadiyya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#35 of 101 in Jerusalem
660 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
291 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#49 of 101 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sephardic House
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
138 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hashimi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hashimi Hotel

Property: Hashimi Hotel
Address: Souq khan El-zeit # 73, Old City | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel (Formerly Hashimi Hotel and Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,585 - ₹ 10,271
Hotel Class:2 star — Hashimi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Hashimi Hotel and Hostel is located at Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. It offers air-conditioned accommodation rooms, all of which have a cable television, private toilet and bath, telephone, and an Internet connection. Some of its amenities include restaurant and cafe, tours and city trips, room service, and safe deposit boxes. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Church of the Holy Sepulcher, Dome of the Rock, and Via Dolorosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hashimi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hashimi Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing