We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Little House in the Colony
Ranked #15 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is small but wonderfully located. It's in the German colony, which is a really nice area where the main street is full of cafes and nice shops. It's about half an hour on foot to the center of the city. It's on a side street so it's quiet. It's right up against a movie theater with cafe but this wasn't noisy at night. The feeling is that they really want you to enjoy your stay. When I got there and said I have claustrophobia, the manager transferred me from my single to a double room free of charge. I saw the single room, which was small but not dreadfully so. The double room was small too but nice: nice curtains and furnishings and bathroom, very clean, TV, windows. They have free coffee and tea (and cake, when I was there) in the dining room 24 hours a day. It's a nice place. The door isn't soundproof though the walls are: you can hear everything that happens in the hall, but not the neighboring rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janiefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

In general, a great location, clean rooms. But there were several items broken in the room, and it looked pretty worn. The breakfast room also is in need of updating, and should be a little more aesthetic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colony_Hotel, Manager at A Little House in the Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review.

We check each room several times a week to make sure that everything is working. If there was an item that was not working, our staff at the reception is available 24/7 and I'm sure they could've helped with your problem or any request.

As for the building- our building is almost 85 years old, which gives it a historical charm. Our hotel is country-styled and has a very warm atmosphere. So even though we're not a brand new hotel, we have a very special experience to offer.

Thank you again for your comments,
Noam Draiman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. It is a simple but nice hotel. The location is good, especially if you want to stay there for the Jerusalem Film Festival (10 min walk). Breakfast is OK. WIFI was OK. Price is very good too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raquelbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

You first have to understand that hotels in Jerusalem are not like most other places. Simply speaking they are well over-priced but its a case of supply and demand. This Little House in the Colony is like a 1-2 star with 3-4 star prices. Dont expect much, its not like a regular hotel more like a BB as they advertise. But the position is good and the breakfast was very satisfactory. The manager very helpful, he can only help you out with the facilities that he has. I wasnt happy with my room #9, so he changed it to #20 or 21 and was better. I did have noise from below which was bit disconcerting but had to get used to it. On a good street for cafes and restaurants and close to everything. Just dont expect too much, its a simple BB with Jerusalem prices. You want full hotel comforts, look elsewhere, which is what I will be doing next time.

Room Tip: Pics are from room 9 which was small & shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieBusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colony_Hotel, Manager at A Little House in the Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest,

I'd like first to thank you for taking the time and writing a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed our complementary breakfast and our great location.

As for the noise, at first you reserved our Economy Rooms which are much cheaper due to the slight noise. After you complained about the room we moved you to a better room that was available.
We take our guests feedback very seriously and I thank you again for your comments.
Best Regards,
Noam Draiman, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

If you're an adult on a budget, this is the best place to stay in Jerusalem. Nearby is a super-vibrant street filled mostly NOT with tourists, but with residents--and the amazingly beautiful old restored homes many of them live in.

In the other direction is a lovely walk to the Old City of Jerusalem by way of King David St. and through the Marmilla Mall. Exit up the stairs and voila! You're now entering ancient history!

LHITC is Very quaint, with a nice accommodating staff (their young manager speaks 3 languages fluently, and Mohammed, one of their staffers, goes out of his way to help and assist customers w/luggage and other provisions--he was a Hospitality Sciences major in college, and also works at a 5 star hotel, so he knows what he's doing!). I suggest it for the budget traveller. Oh, and with free internet, the business traveller gets perks too. After all, all the big huge hotels charge by the day or hour for this feature. That was enough of a reason for me to stay there!

Room Tip: Try to avoid traveling during the peak season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightSweetCrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
A Little House in Bakah
#31 of 102 in Jerusalem
426 reviews
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#3 of 102 in Jerusalem
438 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,142 reviews
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in the Colony? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in the Colony

Address: 4a Lloyd George St, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range: ₹ 6,357 - ₹ 11,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in the Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House In The Colony, B&B hotel, is the smallest hotel in Jerusalem, it has only 22 rooms, and family units, It is fully air conditioned, serves a nice Israeli breakfast on a great garden. It is a real charming corner of green country atmosphere in the heart of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your A Little House in the Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In The Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing