We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The incredibly kind and hospitable people at the National Hotel made our two week visit even more enjoyable.

We started our visit being blown away by the kindest treatment ever by none other than the manager and owner of the hotel, Mr. Osama Salah. He personally came to help us the very first minute we stepped into the hotel. Immediately, he gathered around him some of his staff and they all worked so hard to make sure our stay would be enjoyable. Mr. Salah continued being the nicest ever the whole time we were there. This kind hearted gentleman always came up to us to ask if he could help and if all was ok. He even stopped by several times for interesting conversations.

A huge special thank you goes out to the great receptionist Nirvana who always warmly greeted us and made us feel at home. This young woman is a true walking definition of Nirvana. She oozes with peace and understanding in a place that is so longing for true peace. We always shared with her our concerns and she was always so accommodating and helpful. It was such a joy to share with her our own personal reflections of the country and how we were feeling about our stay. Her kind interest in our reflections made us always feel we had a true friend in Jerusalem.

We will never forget the many other hotel staff. They live on in our memories for their hospitality and genuine care. We very much appreciate the very kind hearted Omar who always told us interesting stories and warmly greeted us with a wonderful “Good morning” with a genuine smile each day. We now always talk about Omar with great fondness.

A special thank you goes out to Abu Shadi, the waiter who kindly always provided us with what we wanted from tea with mint, coffee, soup and other delicious treats. We sincerely appreciate Khaled and Basem, who were a wonderful help in making great food and they always kindly provided the best services. There were many other hotel staff who were always on hand to help us and we appreciate their kind help.

On top of the kind service, the hotel room was comfortably spacious. We had three very cozy beds and the linens were always spotlessly clean. There were two closets, which allowed us to hang all our belongings. This summer, the heat was very high, but the temperature in our room was always cool. The bathroom was spotless and all of us were able to take hot showers. We always returned to a beautifully cleaned and fresh smelling room. I myself started to feel that this hotel was my own home because I felt so comfortable in it. In fact, I wish I could go back this minute.

We loved the terraced restaurant on the fourth floor. It was so fun to wake up knowing that breakfast would be provided in the open air on a terrace overlooking interesting side streets and a wide open view of the beautiful Jerusalem. At night, the restaurant is equally delightful and we had fun eating several meals there late at night.

It is amazing that the best hamburgers we ever ate were not here in America but at the National Hotel. If you happen to stop by the National Hotel, we highly recommend their hamburgers. They are spiced in such an amazing way and have a really neat flavor. We also loved the National’s pistachio milkshake and their lemonades are to die for. They are sprinkled with chopped mint, which really adds a neat flavor.

We loved the fact that we could walk to the Old City, the Mosque and the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. We loved being close to the streets where there was a lively marketplace and bookstores. At all times, we passed by very kind hearted people.

We went to visit this spiritual place and we got so much more. The people at the National Hotel manifest their spirituality through their kindness and hospitality. Now, we speak not just about the sites we saw, but also the beautiful people at the National Hotel who left such a strong impression in our hearts and on our memories. If we get to see these lovely people again, we will be very lucky.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rain351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for National Hotel Jerusalem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The amazing hospitality we received by Nirvana and the management at this hotel made us feel like royalty. We were greeted warmly by the front desk all day, every day---and the staff in the breakfast room went way out of their way for 7 mornings--allowing us to come in early, creating perfect lattes and making us feel welcome.
We will recommend this hotel to anyone we know who is making a trip to Israel.

Room Tip: I would request a room where the floors are not washed with water and not a disinfectant with such a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judidiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We really liked this hotel.

As other reviews mention, it's 5 minutes walk from the Old City.

It's in East Jerusalem - which is predominantly Arab / Palestinian. And guess what - the people are as kind and friendly as any you'll encounter in West Jerusalem (which is a few minutes away if you catch a tram from the nearby stop). The advantage of staying here is that is cheaper than a hotel of an equivalent standard in the Western bit.... and nearer to the sights.

Service is fantastic. The lady at the front desk will go out of her way to help you.

As for the hotel itself - inside, it's a bit like an anonymous, corporate chain hotel. So it's clean and the facilities are good. The difference is that it's in the world's most fascinating city. And it has a history too - look out for the pictures of ex President Carter (and other politicians) in the lobby.

Look - you have to visit Jerusalem once in your life. Make sure you go there - it is completely safe for tourists (there's more crime in your home town). And the National Hotel is a good place for you to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Traveling alone is not easy especially for a young woman alone. So I have been all over Israel and was looking forward to my stay in the holy city. I chose this hotel becuse of it's location but unfortunately I made a big mistake, walking distance to the old city is at least 10 minutes in outer old east area which at times (night) was not so nice. the rooms were not clean most of the time, breakfast was ok not more than that, while staying in Jerusalem I had breakfast at the American Colony hotel the best breakfast ever - the National has a lot to learn.

Room Tip: Add a little more cash - get a little more.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is within walking distance of the old city. The rooms are clean and large enough to swing a cat. There was a lack of a fridge, maybe they want you to visit the bar more often. It's well located for the shops and eating places. The breakfast and dinner were better than average, don't forget to tip the cook at the end of the stay or they will be not very happy. There is wifi available in all the rooms. Overall good place ro stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbs786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 101 in Jerusalem
610 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
486 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#58 of 101 in Jerusalem
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#36 of 101 in Jerusalem
323 reviews
Hillel 11
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
376 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#26 of 101 in Jerusalem
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: ₹ 4,644 - ₹ 9,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing