We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We spent hours looking for the perfect budget hotel/hostel in the perfect location for a family trip including parents and siblings and spouses. The Kaplan is smack bang nr Zion sq, great for shopping, for eating out for drinking and for a short walk to the Old City. We booked 3 rooms in advance and the wonderful owners kept in contact with us, made sure our late arrival wasn't a problem and made us feel very welcome for our stay. Tea / coffee/ fee Internet......exactly what we wanted. They helped us research into the next part of our trip too. Best of the bunch!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hantonlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    55
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
42
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

This hotel is more like a dorm if you will. The beds are dorm like and the romms have no carpeting on the floors. That said, it is still a worthwhile budget-conscious traveler's option. We had a spacious romm which actually had three beds for us two travelers. Our particular room had a rather dismal view of the back courtyard which, like in the rest of Israel is filled with stray cats. One of these cats turned out to be a rat, but I felt quite secure hovering three stories above the offensive scoundrel. The proprietors are extremely nice and very helpful. The location can't be beat. The hotel is just a stone's through from Jaffa Road and Bed Yehuda pedestrian mall. It is just a short walk from the old city and Mahane Yeduda (the market).

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenbyPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

This is a budget hotel so do not expect for a swimming pool! I really enjoy my stay at the hotel: I arrived on saturday night (shabbat) and the owner waited for me for the check in. This guy is great and continuously give me several tip and advice during all my stay. I had a room with a balcony on the street which was great. The room are not 5 stars but for what I was looking for I didn't mind. The hotel is very closed to the main city attraction and only 5-10mn walk to the Old city. Many buses around to go elsewhere. Sherrut to Tel Aviv just by the corner. Hope you go there and enjoy it as I did it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the location - at the Zion square, right at the crossing of Ben Yehuda and Jaffa road, well within walking distance of the old city. The proprietor is a delightful gentleman, who is trying to help out as best he can.

The hotel was one of the cheapest in the area. When we got there , we saw why. The building appears quite old on the outside. There is no lobby, or elevator, for that matter. To check in, you have to get up to the 2nd floor. The room was small, though clean in appearance. It greeted us with a few flies, that flew in through the open window, and the smell of cigarette smoke, emanating from the furniture and the air conditioner. When we complained, the owner came back with the spray can, and squeezed a few long sprays around the room, which, unfortunately, make the room smell even worse, and added to the grungy feel around the room.

A few pictures hanging on the wall represent the attempt to decorate the room. There is an abundance of light fixtures on the ceiling and the walls, all of them CFL bulbs, without shades. The small size of the room leaves little space to place, let alone open a suitcase.

The in-room toiletries consisted of two unwrapped micro-hotel-sized bars of white soap (we booked for 2 nights). The bathroom/shower combination is exactly that - a tiny room clad in the tiles that has a toilet and a sink, as well as a drain in the floor and a shower spout in the wall. There is also a curtain on a rod that can be drawn to keep the water from splattering on the toilet seat (though not on the sink or the floor all over). The rod runs about a foot and a half away from the wall, so there is no way to not touch the grungy curtain while taking a shower. When finished, you can use a giant squeegee to try to dry the floor, though it only works part-way - while cleaning the tile faces, it leaves all the water in the grouts. So if you don't want to leave wet footprints in the room, you are better off not using the bathroom for a few hours after showering.

This hotel is not for seniors - the stairs are steep, and there is a lot of noise coming in both at night, from the partyers on Ben Yehuda, and during the day from all the daytime traffic and nearly perpetual construction of Light Rail on Jaffa Rd. Also, the portion of the Havatzelet street where the hotel is is closed off to motorized traffic, so they will have to schlep their suitcases for half a block.

When we booked this hotel, we searched for information on it, and were mostly aware of the shortcomings that can be conveyed in the pictures and the users' reviews. However, the grungy feel of the room and the state of the bathroom was a bit of a shock to us, spoiled by the consistency of even the less-expensive American hotel chains.

All in all, this was an inexpensive way to spend 2 nights in Jerusalem, avoiding staying in the room as much as we could, and minimizing the use of the shower; however, for a longer stay I would definitely chose another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

The owner of the hotel is really welcoming and friendly, taking a great interest in talking to us and accommodating any of our needs. Prices seemed to be flexible. Location-wise it cannot get any better - right on Yafo St and a couple of steps away from Ben Yehuda Street. All up, a great place to stay with very reasonable prices. There is also free internet access, in a computer room.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n8an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Palatin Hotel
#59 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Zion Hotel
#71 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Shamai Suites
#30 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#75 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#47 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Property: Kaplan Hotel
Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,498 - ₹ 6,780
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing