We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely well located, clean hotel.”
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely well located, clean hotel.”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

staying here was an absolute pleasure. the hotel is situated in the center of Jerusalem. the rooms are clean and the owner was particularly nice. i woukd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malkiw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
42
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I'm just ending a wonderful five day adventure in Jerusalem, and the Kaplan Hotel been a major reason my wife and I have enjoyed ourselves so much. First, it is in a great location on Jaffa Street at Zion Square. Across the street is Ben Yehuda avenue, a pedestrian street with shops, restaurants, night spots, grocery stores, cafes within two minutes. Jaffa gate to the Old City is a leisurely ten minute stroll. Ditto the Mamilla Mall. In addition to the great location, the price is right. We paid $70 US a night, a very good rate for expensive Jerusalem. The room was clean and neat with ensuite bathroom, plenty of hot water, and TV with more stations than you will have time to look at. Also of importance to us was the free WIFI, which gave us internet access in our room. We could also make use of the small kitchen to keep groceries and to cook up light meals, usually breakfast. Finally, the owner, Natan, was a warm hearted host and soon a friend. We would return to the Kaplan hotel again if we can ever come back to Jerusalem. We highly recommend it.

Tricia and Harvey Kail

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Correggio, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival, one of the owners welcomed us in the little shared kitchen and gave us different hints on the sightseeing in Jerusalem.
Both the owners are kind and willing to help you in whatever thing you might need. Eli also offered us a beer, which we did appreciate!
This is a very cheap hotel, and basically what you get is sort of what you pay for. Rooms are indeed small, with a very basic furnishing and let’s say the cleaning of the rooms leaves a bit to be desired. Bathroom deserves a separate mention. It is a very small bathroom, with a tiny basin where even washing one’s hands become a challenging operation. Shower and WC are almost the same thing, therefore you could enjoy one and the other at the same time.
Bathroom was cleaned upon arrival. Water is hot and fresh towels were on our beds when we checked in.
Location of the Kaplan is very close to the Old City: a 10 minutes walk leads you to the Jaffa gate. Neighbourhood is a bit noisy during night-time, although we were so knackered I barely heard the alarm in the morning.
Breakfast is not available, but tea and coffee are complimentary in the shared kitchen. PC with free internet access is at the disposal of guest, with no charge.

If you are looking for a no-frills and low cost option, then Kaplan will do.
If you might feel uncomfortable with the above given description of the rooms, then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

It's very conveniently located: about a 7-10 minute walk to the Old City, right on Jaffa Street with pedestrian malls and about 7-10 minutes from Mahane Yehuda. But there is very little between you and the outside. Most of the week this is probably fine except for Saturday night and one other night that I can't remember. There was drumming until around 3am.

In February, it gets a bit cold in Jerusalem at night, maybe around the 40s so the lack of heat makes it pretty uncomfortable. Despite the lack of heat, several big mosquitos did quite well in the room. The only thick blankets were of questionable cleanliness. The toilet did not flush well. We did not sleep well. Natan is a nice guy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirralisrael
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a small hotel situated off the busy Jaffa Road & across from Ben Yehuda Street. A great location but can be noisy at night. It is a basic hotel as reflected in the price, but clean with basic amenities. Eli, one of the owners, made our stay so enjoyable. He offered good advice as to where and when to go to places and was very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very grateful for the bottles of cold water he suppied free, daily as the temp was in the 90's and also the use of his kitchen. He is earnestly trying to get the noise levels around the hotel reduced by contacting the local council and we hope he succeeds. To see old fashioned hospitality at its best, visit the Kaplan Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank israelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Palatin Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
118 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Zion Hotel
#73 of 99 in Jerusalem
144 reviews
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Property: Kaplan Hotel
Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,775 - ₹ 6,711
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing