We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel for easy-going travellers.”
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival, one of the owners welcomed us in the little shared kitchen and gave us different hints on the sightseeing in Jerusalem.
Both the owners are kind and willing to help you in whatever thing you might need. Eli also offered us a beer, which we did appreciate!
This is a very cheap hotel, and basically what you get is sort of what you pay for. Rooms are indeed small, with a very basic furnishing and let’s say the cleaning of the rooms leaves a bit to be desired. Bathroom deserves a separate mention. It is a very small bathroom, with a tiny basin where even washing one’s hands become a challenging operation. Shower and WC are almost the same thing, therefore you could enjoy one and the other at the same time.
Bathroom was cleaned upon arrival. Water is hot and fresh towels were on our beds when we checked in.
Location of the Kaplan is very close to the Old City: a 10 minutes walk leads you to the Jaffa gate. Neighbourhood is a bit noisy during night-time, although we were so knackered I barely heard the alarm in the morning.
Breakfast is not available, but tea and coffee are complimentary in the shared kitchen. PC with free internet access is at the disposal of guest, with no charge.

If you are looking for a no-frills and low cost option, then Kaplan will do.
If you might feel uncomfortable with the above given description of the rooms, then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2011

It's very conveniently located: about a 7-10 minute walk to the Old City, right on Jaffa Street with pedestrian malls and about 7-10 minutes from Mahane Yehuda. But there is very little between you and the outside. Most of the week this is probably fine except for Saturday night and one other night that I can't remember. There was drumming until around 3am.

In February, it gets a bit cold in Jerusalem at night, maybe around the 40s so the lack of heat makes it pretty uncomfortable. Despite the lack of heat, several big mosquitos did quite well in the room. The only thick blankets were of questionable cleanliness. The toilet did not flush well. We did not sleep well. Natan is a nice guy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a small hotel situated off the busy Jaffa Road & across from Ben Yehuda Street. A great location but can be noisy at night. It is a basic hotel as reflected in the price, but clean with basic amenities. Eli, one of the owners, made our stay so enjoyable. He offered good advice as to where and when to go to places and was very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very grateful for the bottles of cold water he suppied free, daily as the temp was in the 90's and also the use of his kitchen. He is earnestly trying to get the noise levels around the hotel reduced by contacting the local council and we hope he succeeds. To see old fashioned hospitality at its best, visit the Kaplan Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank israelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Kaplan for two nights for exploring Jerusalem and this hotel is perfect. The location is about 15 minutes walking from the New gate entrance to the Old City and a bit more to the Jaffa gate.
I would definetely prefer this hotel over accomodation in the Old City since it is just minutes away from the nightlife of Jerusalem. That makes the hotel a bit noisy, but if you are into some pub crawling after your sightseein, this is perfect.
The rooms are nothing fancy, but clean and okay for the price.
The owner can be reached via Tel: +97226254591 or natan_taig@yahoo.com.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and were very pleased. Our host Eli was welcoming and very helpful. He let us use his kitchen and refrigerator. Kitchen was small but very cosy. Eli always kept fresh veggies there for everyone. He taught me how to make good turkish coffee and even went to the supermarket and bought me good brand to take home. We had a triple room with a balcony. Beds were relatively small but comfortable, especially after walking for 10 hours every day. The only thing that took some getting used to and could potentially surprise our fellow Americans was tiny bathroom with shower but no basin, so water was all over the floor. Apparently this is not uncommon in Europe.
The main advantage of this hotel is location. it stands on the quiet side street off Yaffo road near the intersection with Ben Yehuda (area filled with restaurants, cafes, etc.,) On the other hand it is only 7 min walk from the the entrance to the old city via Jaffa Gates

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zhenia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 100 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
651 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#85 of 100 in Jerusalem
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#50 of 100 in Jerusalem
417 reviews
Zion Hotel
#77 of 100 in Jerusalem
160 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: ₹ 5,102 - ₹ 7,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing