We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Notre Dame Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The food is great, an excellent quiet environment perfect for pilgrimages. The best part is that it is 5 minutes from the old city's doors.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celiadalmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NotreDameCenter, Public Relations Manager at Notre Dame Guest House, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you that you dedicated few minutes of your precious time to share your experience of staying at our property. We are happy we have met your expectations and you enjoyed your pilgrimage to Jerusalem with us. Hope to host you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    122
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
68
85
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

If you are a Christian visiting the Holy Land, you could not find a better place to stay. The hotel is in an excellent location: right across from the New Gate, that leads to the christian neighborhood, and in the hip neighborhood near Jaffa Street. The Mamilla Hotel and the beautiful promenade of shops and restaurants are steps from Notre Dame. The rooms are renovated with excellent but simple taste, taking advantage of the original monastic structure of thick walls, high ceilings, narrow but tall windows. Most rooms have a view of the old Jerusalem. The bathrooms have modern features and include all the amenities that you will need from a hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent, but we enjoyed the other many restaurants in the hotel. Our favorite was to sit on the rooftop wine bar to see the sun set on the old city and enjoy a wonderful glass of wine and a cheese platter. If you want a quick supper and watch the news, the cafe in the first floor is equally convenient. My kids loved the ice cream parlor. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The priests and religious women in site greet you always with a smile, and stop to check that you are having a good stay. But the best for me was that I could attend daily mass after a busy tour day and have a quiet time in front of the Blessed Sacrament during exposition before mass in the evening. Several mornings I woke up really early and walked the 5-7 minutes from Notre Dame to the Holy Sepulcher to attend mass or just pray. An added bonus is the Shroud Exhibit in the building, guided by the same religious women or just on your own: it makes the Holy Land experience a different one.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have TV or minibar, but they have a safe box and anything else you need. The idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madan6063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NotreDameCenter, Public Relations Manager at Notre Dame Guest House, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such a complete report of a stay at our Guest House. We are very happy to hear that we fulfilled your needs of every kind during your stay with us. As much as everybody is welcomed to Notre Dame, our place is at first at the service to the Christian pilgrims. It will be our pleasure to host you again.
God Blessing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The accommodations here are simple, but comfortable. Jerusalem can be a chaotic place, and I found coming back to this Center throughout the day and each night to be very soothing. The location is convenient: the New Gate to the Old City is literally across the street. It is an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. There is a wine bar on the roof that has a spectacular view of Jerusalem: I went there almost every night. Although they were not responsive to my requests for information about guides in advance, they were very helpful in arranging drivers, a guide, and taxis once I got there. There is a beautiful chapel on the premises. The building itself is imposing and despite the fact that the Center is very large, my room was very quiet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was a single, and would have been rather tight with two people. But it suited my needs very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msvines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We rented a room for three poeple in the beginning of May for 3 nights and what a great choice. The location was great, so close to one of the entrances into the Old City; and about 8 min walk to some good dinning spots. The hotel is large and nicely decorated. The people at the front desk were so friendly and added to the great atmosphere of the place and were very helpful in sugesting dinner spots as well taking care of some of our needs while we were there. The rooms were clean and pretty spacious with nicely done bathrooms. We were sharing, and the third bed was a very small pull out couch which was awful to sleep on, but I complained and for the next night slept on a mattress they put on the floor which was much more agreeable. I would suggest staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orca1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Notre Dame Center is a Catholic pilgrimage center, so don't come looking for a typical 4-star hotel. Don't get me wrong: it's gorgeous, convenient, and wonderful in every way. But you will definitely get more out of this center if you come with even a modicum of religious intent. No, there are no televisions in the rooms. But that meant my son went and watched soccer matches with a lively group of South American pilgrims downstairs. There's no in-room coffeemaker, but there's a chapel on the premises. And the sacrament of reconciliation upon request. The location couldn't be more convenient: directly across from the New Gate, coming and going into the Old City is a breeze. But it's also very close to Mamilla mall and Jaffa street for those seeking restaurants and shopping.
Our room was clean, functional, and extremely pleasant. Comfortable beds, sufficient storage, and a lovely, compact bathroom. The lobby area is a perfect spot to relax and read a newspaper, and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and filling. I can't imagine we'd ever stay anywhere else when we return to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PouletteParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#46 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
The Sephardic House
#52 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Property: Notre Dame Guest House
Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,147 - ₹ 22,069
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notre Dame Center - Guest House is centrally located, opposite the New Gate of the Old City walls and The Municipality from the other side; within walking distance to the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulchre, Wailling Wall and The Dome of the Rock), as well as to the new city with its shopping center and restaurants. Notre Dame itself apart the Main Dining Room offers other three restaurants and free parking for the guests.Business corner and Wi-Fi connection is availabe for a charge, as well as a professional conference facilities and an Auditorium for a big events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing