We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
Book In Advance
US$ 600.00*
and up
Jewish Heritage Private Tour to Jerusalem from Tel Aviv
Ranked #2 of 294 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world’s leading national Holocaust memorial and museum is a 45-acre campus comprising indoor museums, outdoor monuments, memorials, gardens, sculptures and world-class research and educational centres.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This has to be the most moving thing I have ever experienced. Leave yourself at least a couple of hours and take your time. Its probably best to do this in the afternoon without anything scheduled after it, since you will probably be emotionally drained.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarcWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,757
    577
    107
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Long and emotional.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We really enjoyed Yad Vashem but by the end we were totally exhausted. Still I would reccomend everyone to go atleast once.

Entry is free and the audio guide only cost 20NIS which is so cheap for something like this. It is easily accesible with the new tram system also.

The information, original artifacts, survivor testimonies and personal possessions are unrivaled to the other holocaust museums I have visited. Really incredible to see.

Eat before and take lots of water because it honestly took us over 5 hours to get through. That is obvioulsly a variable with each guest but be prepared.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary2lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Haunting, comprehensive, and memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The museum is incredibly well laid out and thoughtfully designed and incorporates exhibits, multi-media, and re-creations. It is a lot of information to process and its hard to feel overwhelmed by the amount of information in addition to the emotion it evokes. My only advice is to try to go when there are no school groups. Trying to navigate the zig-zag design of the galleries with school groups makes things much harder. I was at the museum the day before it was vandalized.What a shame.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank motowninchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is an exceptional memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a well presented exception memorial to the holocaust. It is so detailed that you need plenty of time when going through. By the end of our visit I could take no more as it was emotionally draining.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not Fun but An Excellent Place to Start your Visit in Israel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I am a Holocaust Survivor's daughter and I have visted Yad Vashem three times. In brief it is a very good place to start your visit to Israel as after having visited this amazing memorial you may get a small understanding of why the Jews are as they are and why Israel is such an important place. Nothing can really help you or anyone comprehend the enormity of the evil of the Shoah but it is the best place to come to learn about the biggest genocide in history. Israel really knows how to do good museums. This is probably the best example.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing