We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place”

Garden of Gethsemane
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 670.00*
and up
Christian Tour to Jerusalem from Tel Aviv
Ranked #12 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located outside the walls of Jerusalem, this beautiful garden among a grove of olive trees is thought to be the place where Jesus particularly enjoyed prayer and contemplation.
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a very special place. Sadly it was terribly crowded when we visited so it was difficult to enjoy the gardens and church.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank snoopymaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    400
    137
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing garden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Somewhat disappointed, I always imagined this garden to be a lot bigger. Amazing huge, old olive trees though. It was impossible to experience peace and quiet as well as the holiness of the place, because of large numbers of people who pushed from all directions!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ters317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown PA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Get alone and meditate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

There is nothing more wonderful than private time here to consider the meaning of this site.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garden of Peace & History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

One cannot enter into these gates without being flooded with the feeling of being with Jesus and being where Jesus spent his last moments before being crucified and also the location where he was betrayed by Judas.

The gardener allowed us to explore the place - even though it was technically closed - when we went very early on Thursday 4/19/12 at 7:00 in the morning.

Do make sure to touch the oldest tree which was there since the time of Jesus. The garden is compact, well maintained and another treasure that the city has kept incredibly maintained.

Totally worthwhile experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMSocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband, daughter and I did not go with a tour but visited the sites in Jerusalem that we wanted on our own and at our own pace. The Garden was wonderful and quiet. It was not a busy day so we were able to slip past the tours that were there and enjoy the Garden and the church at our own pace which we enjoyed very much.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dabSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden of Gethsemane also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Garden of Gethsemane? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing