We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“functional in very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“functional in very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

we were two couples on one night vacation, we looked for low cost hotel in good location
The hotel was very nice in very good location, we walked to all the sites by feet and there was no need for car.
the old city is near by, YMCA building is right near.
Breakfast was tasty even though it was Saturday morning.
bottom line we got simple and good hotel.
The price in the end was a little bit higher than what we expected.
but all of us agreed that it was good choice.

Room Tip: as for room that turn to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    228
    95
    18
    18
See reviews for
196
174
48
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Not at all worth the money. That this place charges at least $200 per night is embarrassing to those (including me) who have stayed here. If you're going to compare it to an American hotel, it's about on par with a Days Inn, and I mean a low quality Days Inn.

The rooms are tiny, dirty and decorated like that of a low-end chain motel. As alluded to above, if you paid a low-end chain motel price like $50 to $90, that's okay. $200 is way beyond the proper price. Paper thin walls where you can hear the person next door breathe. Once you try to request any service from the hotel staff you will be met with rudeness and indifference at every step. If you request an iron be brought to the room, good luck in getting it by the time you check out. Some very basic things like delivering a message took 6 hours, despite my asking several hours earlier if any messages had arrived for me - they were annoyed by that inquiry and said I would've known by then if I had. When I complained, the same lady who claimed I had no messages earlier changed her story and said I got the message just when they received it. Are you kidding me? Breakfast is just a salad bar and some stale bread. The exorbitant wifi charge (or that they charge at all for wifi) is an insult.

Jerusalem has much better choices with better value than this dog. If you're here on business, your company is spending way too much money. Sure the location is good with about a 15 minute walk to the Old City (although no non-hotel restaurants in the area), but far better places for much less money in the same area include the Prima Palace, the Montefiore and the Notre Dame Center.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glencie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights during Passover week just after Easter 2012. We had no trouble getting rooms beside each other: my wife and I in one, and my sister and 14 yr old daughter in another. The rooms were basic, e.g. no coffee maker, but clean and they have a safe and a little fridge which is very convenient. We falsely accused the staff of stealing my sister's Kindle, and the manager took us very seriously and got the head of security on the phone right away (it was the start of Passover II and he had gone home). He recommended we take a look in the safe and elsewhere: we found it under the bed. I was impressed with their professionalism. The old man mentioned in other reviews is occasionally in the lobby, but I can't imagine anyone being bothered by him. I got a free Jerusalem Post and International Herald Tribune in the lobby in the morning. Oddly, they need bigger sheets for the beds, but the beds were clean and comfortable. All the staff were very helpful. We bought tickets for the Passover II meal because although not religious we don't eat bread on that holiday and we didn't want to find and deal with a non-kosher restaurant that night. The dinner was very well attended and the food was good and the staff found us another table when we didn't like our assigned seats. The breakfasts are also good. Parking is limited and tight, but we got a space and left the car for our stay. The location, beside the YMCA and across from the King David Hotel is the best: an easy walk to the Old City and downtown and about 25 minute walk to Emek Raphaim St. - i.e. the trendy German colony. We definately will come back.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the east side with a view of King David St. They are quiet and nice even though we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA_Kennedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed for five nights at the end of March 2012. The location is the big advantage - 15 minutes walk to the Jaffa Gate and the Old City but also only 10 minutes to the tram stop outside city hall and the Jaffa Road for the modern city. The bus stop for the "round the city" tourist bus is just round the corner and there is a 24 hour small supermarket near by.

Hotel does the basics ok but is expensive (as all central Jerusalem hotels seem to be). The restaurant does breakfast on the usual Israeli self service format but only seemed to be open for meals in the evening on Friday (which is quite an important advantage as most restaurants are closed in Jerusalem on a Friday evening so it could be useful to eat in the hotel on that evening - we walked into the Old City and found a Christian owned restaurant open). The reception seemed busy and our electronic room keys failed several times (but were reprogrammed by reception each time without undue hassle).

If you can't afford the King David hotel (which is very close by) this may be your option if you just want to see the sights and sleep somewhere decent. There is a very high quality restaurant close by - the 1868 restaurant - if you want to splash out for one evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Clean rooms and great location in the heart of Jerusalem near the Jaffa gate. Breakfast buffet was adequate - good selection, but the food in the heating trays had stayed there just a bit too long. The rooms were comfortable though not necessarily roomy. Polite service that were very helpful. All in all, a positive experience and a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Property: Eldan Hotel
Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,954 - ₹ 16,340
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing