We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accosted and Abused”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jerusalem Heritage House
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was suggested to stay at this 'Hostel' as an extension for my Birthright experience. The positive side of this place is the location: In the heart of the Old City you truly feel that you're in Jerusalem. Unfortunately that was the extent of the positive feel I got there.
Though at first welcoming, after I had gotten into a discussion with the director, a 'Rabbi
Ben Packer, about Judaism, I was accosted and verbally abused for not agreeing with everything he had said. I would not allow myself to be treated that way and left immediately and stayed somewhere else.
As a hostel that markets itself as a place to explore Jewish learning, I was greatly disturbed that there is no place for discussion and independent Jewish thought.
I would suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Samtechfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Rabbi Ben Packer is incredible. He operates the Heritage House which is a great place for young travelers to stay. There is a men's house and a women's house. I stayed here a few nights while visiting friends in Jerusalem over Sukkot. It was a comfortable and convenient place to stay. Ben gives an awesome tour of the old city and is just a super guy. It's definitely basic accomodations and we guys can be pretty messy so there's lots of clothes and luggage laying around, but what else do you need? You get a bed, sheets, and a towel. It's in a great location and it's free!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jmstanl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

The floors were a bit dirty and the young traveler's luggage strewn about, but the bathrooms were clean, there was an overhead fan, the bunks were comfortable with clean sheets blanket and pillow, there were plug-ins for hair dryers an iron and ironing board, and a small library as well as food to knosh on, in the kitchen, with coffee, tea and cold water.

In addition, for those who wished, their was an assignment to
a host and hostess for Shabbat dinner and lunch, as well as
an invitation to a third meal at the Men's Heritage House, along
with a wonderful telling of a Chassidic tale. For Jews with a limited budget who want to experience old Jerusalem as it's been lived for centuries, the gentle Public Relations of Chassidism at the Woman's Heritage House is worth the listening to for a relaxing and spiritual week-end. For those who like Hostels, meeting young (and not-so young) Jewish women from all over the world is a secondary pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Gila65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pauliargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ellatraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
151 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
256 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#6 of 59 in Jerusalem
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 71 in Jerusalem
2,095 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#34 of 71 in Jerusalem
61 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#8 of 71 in Jerusalem
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Heritage House

Address: Call for Address | Jewish Quarter, Old City, Jerusalem 91145, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage House provides safe and comfortable lodging for young Jewish travelers and students in Jerusalem so that they can best experience and develop their connection with Israel, Judaism, and the Jewish People. We provide our guests with a warm bed, fresh bedding, laundry facilities, food options, wifi, long-distance calling, an extensive library, and information on numerous tours and educational/service opportunities throughout Israel. We organize and lead exciting hands on in-depth tours of the entire Old City of Jerusalem, Hevron, Shilo and many more important places of tremendous historical, political and religious significance not included in your standard tours. Additionally, we provide Shabbat and holiday programming, featuring home-cooked meals with local families, beginner services, and general explanations of Jewish customs and practices. These services, and many more, are all provided free of charge and with abundant genuine warmth and sincerity to all who come through our door. Eligibility We provide for travelers and students ages 18-30 and Jewish. special for Birthright and Masa Participants! and "lone soldiers" are more than welcomed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing