We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Ten years ago my husband and I were married at the Hotel Ramat Rachel and were very excited to go there with our twin five year olds. Although winters are cold in Jerusalem, we were looking forward to spending time in the heated pool and enjoying all the hotel has to offer. We arrived on a cold Friday afternoon. The room was absolutely freezing. We then noticed cold air was coming out of the air conditioner. We called the front desk and asked someone to come check it. We waited for over half an hour and still no one came, so we thought we'd take a nice, hot bath. To our dismay, there was no hot water. We called the front desk again and they said they would send someone. About ten minutes later, a man finally arrived. He checked the shower and said, "It's a big hotel. That's what happens when many people take a shower. There isn't enough hot water. I can't tell other people not to shower" (Well, being a hotel, wouldn't you think they'd try to solve the problem?) He then went to take a look at the air conditioner. He tinkered with it for a while, brought another man who helped them, messed around with it, said it was okay, and left. It wasn't okay, we froze all night. It was only fixed the next day, about an hour before we checked out.
The pool is within walking distance of the hotel, but there is no connecting corridor which means that in the freezing cold of Jerusalem, you have to walk outside for about 10 minutes. The pool itself was FREEZING as well. Our girls wanted so much to splash around that we finally gave in and went for a swim. After about 20 minutes, their lips had turned blue from the cold. Then, in the freezing cold, we walked back to the hotel.
And now for the pièce de résistance: When we got to our room on the first day, there was only one chair. Since our twins both wanted to sit and color, I asked the lady at the front desk if we could have another chair. She looked at me and said without flinching, "I'm sorry, but we don't have any more chairs in the hotel." I was so flabbergasted that I didn't even argue with her. (um, I saw lots of chairs in the lobby, in the restaurant… a bit of good will and imagination could have quickly solved the problem, but she couldn't care less.)
All in all, it was a freezing nightmare. We were sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rinati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    88
    39
    9
    13
See reviews for
68
42
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We enjoyed staying at Ramat Rachel (we were there for 9 nights). The staff were fabulous and very friendly, helpful and attentive. Anytime we needed something in our room, it was taken care of immediately. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. The dining area was very spacious. The breakfast was good—although it was the same thing everyday, so by the end of our stay we chose to get breakfast elsewhere. It was nice to be tucked away in such a quiet place. The grounds are nicely maintained and if you wanted to go for a leisurely walk, there is a lovely area adjacent to it. There is free internet in the lobby (but not in the rooms). We enjoyed staying here and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designergirl0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I visited Israel for the first time and stayed in Jerusalem at Hotel Ramat Rachel for 5 nights. I was with a large (42) tour group consisting of five pastors, and many members of teir congregations. I really didn't quite understand the concept of a kibbutz until our tour guide, Doron, explained just how it worked. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and were warmly greeted by hotel personnel. The accommodations were clean, modern, bright, and made me feel safe. The food is excellent with many choices each day. There was a wonderful selection of salads and desserts. I especially like many of the middle eastern fare and was delighted to try something different each day. Breakfasts included things that I enjoy such as bacon and eggs, pancakes, waffels, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, etc. There is a gift shop that is fun, a jewelry store, and more. I didn't have time to do other things as we were out early and back to the hotel later in the day. The hotel lobby is lovely and modern. I highly recommend Hotel Ramat Rachel as an excellent place to stay while in Israel. This was a once in a lifetime experience for me.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It's not in the city, about 10 km from the city center, but it's a nice and clean Hotel.
The rooms are new renovated, medium size, most of them with a wonderful view to the south, Betlehem and Herodion can be seen on bright days.
The breakfast is simple but good, not a lot of variety, like many other Hotels in Israel, but enough to start the day.

Room Tip: Ask for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were totally overjoyed with our hotel. We had done an overnight tour through Thomson cruises and had no idea until the time we arrived as to what hotel we would be staying at.
The room was huge and the view overlooked the city of Bethlehem, it was an awesome view.
Our room was very modern, comfortable and had everything we needed to make our overnight stay as comfortable as possible. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room and the television had quite a few British channels.

We had our evening meal and our breakfast at the hotel and found the quality and choice available excellent.

If we were to visit this area again we would most definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Givat Ram
Ramada Jerusalem
Ramada Jerusalem
#58 of 99 in Jerusalem
17 reviews
Mount Zion Hotel
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
21st Floor Hotel
21st Floor Hotel
#2 of 99 in Jerusalem
225 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#6 of 99 in Jerusalem
386 reviews
Hotel Yehuda
#9 of 99 in Jerusalem
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Property: Ramat Rachel Resort
Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#30 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,239 - ₹ 19,633
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. Due to scheduling changes in construction of Ramat Rachel's new Sports Center for summer 2017, only one swimming pool will be open this summer. The 1.20-meter pool has designated areas for laps and free swimming. Throughout the summer, guests can enjoy a new inflatable water playground, as well as Jerusalem's longest water slide. A children's pool will not be available for use this summer. Have a safe and happy summer! The Hotel Staff. The Sports Center is open to hotel guests from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm. Entrance to Ramat Rachel's Sports Center-Country Club is free to all hotel guests. The facilities are modern and spacious, and the equipment is state-of-the-art. The Center is the perfect combination of utter tranquility and fitness activities of every type. The facility is equipped with the most advanced machines and equipment available, and experienced trainers are on site throughout the day. The Jacuzzi and dry and steam saunas, also open to hotel guests, are a great way to unwind while on vacation. Swimming Pools: A covered, heated pool is open every season of the year for lap swimming and any type of water exercise. In the summer of 2017, we will inaugurate new pools for the enjoyment of guests. Fitness Room: The fitness room at the Sports Center renews itself constantly to provide the most up-to-date, sophisticated machines and equipment available. It is open free of charge to guests in Superior rooms (age 16 and older), with a modest fee charged to other guests. Along with construction of the new swimming pools, begun this September2016 , we are renovating and upgrading the entire Sports Center. All activities will continue to take place during this time. We apologize for any temporary inconvenience. Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing