We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely, friendly staff but needs a lick of paint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #80 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly staff but needs a lick of paint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The first thing to say about this hotel, is that in spite of the location and the shabby rooms, you are unlikely to find friendlier owners or staff anywhere in the world. From the moment we checked in they couldn't do enough to help us and make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was also lovely and there was loads of choice.

Having said that, this hotel does have some major disadvantages. The location is probably the biggest of these. It is in East Jerusalem in the middle of the Muslim quarter and a good 10/15 minute walk from the Old City (and it's hilly!) There are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity and it isn't the loveliest of areas. Fortunately we were travelling as a couple, but I think if I had gone with a girlfriend instead I would not have felt very comfortable walking back after dark. I should also mention that it is right next to the Mosque and the windows provided no barrier against the early morning call to prayer which woke us up daily.
The rooms too, are a big downside. They have clearly not been updated since the 70s and are in desperate need of redecorating. The beds were not comfortable, the bathroom was very small and there was a bare bulb light hanging in the centre of the bedroom making it seem a little bleak.

It is obviously true that you get what you pay for and this was one of the cheapest options in Jerusalem. However, despite the absolutely delightful owners and the great breakfast, I personally would recommend spending a bit more money and getting a hotel with a better location in the new part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
55
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Family runned hotel. This owner is very friendly. The rooms are ok even if not amazing. AC. Bathroom a bit old but everything works well (hot water all day long). You feel really well welcomed. It s a bit far from the old city without a car but still reachable by foot. I deeply recommend this place. They offer you a drink when you arrive and fruits everyday during your stay. Really friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thierry_grenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Queensland
Level Contributor
425 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I have come back after one year and Alcazar was even better than last year. The welcome was outstanding, the servicing of the room excellent. Very clean rooms, good bathrooms. You will all love the middle eastern breakfast buffet and above all the kindness of Nader, the Manager, the flexible team in the kitchen with Walid, Suhaib and the others, their spontaneous offerings of beverage and fruit through the day. From the Front Desk, via Nader or Yousef, you will get all the help you need with your excursions and travel plans in Israel and through to Jordan, etc.
May the Alcazar prosper, they can certainly count on my patronage.
Mariana Amar

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

we would definitely sleep in this hotel if we are again in Jerusalem.... great services, staff and food are worth of it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belmanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed at Al Cazar for 5 nights June 7 to June 12. The staff was extremely helpful throughout the stay. First I had a very late arrival and they’ve made every effort to make my check in as smooth as possible, offered me some quick snacks and a bottle of water, exactly what I needed after a long day of travel. Over the next few days, they gave me plenty of advice on what to do and what not to.

I got to the hotel by Sherut (shared taxi) from TLV and that made my life easy. The hotel is not exactly in a central location and I have not seen any signs with their name so finding the hotel can be a challenge if you are trying to use public transit or rent a car. Sherut from TLV 58.50NIS vs. private taxi over 300NIS. On a second thought, if you choose this hotel it’s unlikely your budget will include a car rental.... A private taxi from Al Cazar to Yad Vashem was 65. Yad Vashem to Israel Museum 35NIS. Vs. a bus ticket 3 – 6 NIS one way

Public transit will save you a lot of money and the bus station is located 10 minutes away, very close to Damascus gate.

The room was thoroughly cleaned daily but that could not hide the fact that the hotel overall looks tired/ old. If you have traveled in other ME countries and stayed in 2- 3 star hotel, this hotel will not be a surprise.

The reasons I selected Al Cazar were the reviews and price found on Trip Advisor. To be honest, first day I was a bit disappointed with the cost vs. location + overall hotel aspect ratio. However, after spending a bit of time in Israel you quickly realize that things are ridiculously expensive. Al Cazar is a very good deal.

Breakfast is served daily 8 – 10 and it’s definitely a great deal, not only because it’s included in the rate but also because it offers a wide range of options. Wi-Fi is free and available in the lobby and a few rooms close by. From the roof you will have amazing view of the city, and that will be free .

In summary I would say Al Cazar is a great deal, the only cheaper option would be to go to a hostel. If you travel in a group of 2 or 3 then Al Cazar will likely come ahead, especially if you consider the included breakfast.

One final word of caution around costs. I found Israel to be very very (ridiculously) expensive compared to other ME countries and even when compared to US . Plan accordingly and enjoy your visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#28 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Kaplan Hotel
#53 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little House In Rechavia
#47 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#48 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Zion Hotel
#68 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Property: Alcazar Hotel
Address: 6 El-Mutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 9790706, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,044 - ₹ 4,853
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family run hotel, located with easy walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem. 10 minutes walking to Herod's Gate and 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate. Simple, clean accommodation, family atmosphere. 10 minutes walking to Lerner Sports compound located in the French Hill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing