We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst $300/night hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This hotel is to be avoided at all costs:
1. The hotel stinks of cleaning fluid. It's so intense, you can smell it from 50 yards outside of the hotel.
2. The reception staff is amazingly unhelpful. I needed a shoemaker. The man behind the desk said he didn't know where one was and when I asked him to find one, he said he couldn't. I guess he didn't have access to telephone book or the internet.
3. There are plenty of tables in the breakfast room, but they aren't set, so good luck finding someplace to sit. On the other hand, you can listen to the staff yelling at each other. The only exception was the lady making the omlets, who was efficient and pleasant.
4. The room came with robes and slippers, but only after we asked for them. One day, however, they were removed, never to be returned.
5. One day the hotel kindly left cookies and apples in our room, except that they were covered with ants.
6. There was a deck outside our room, which we couldn't access. Others could walk out there, however, and look into our windows if they so chose.
7. Our room needed upgrading.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear guest,
We have read with deep concern the comments you recently sent to Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our hotel.
We would like you to know that we take these issues you have mentioned ,extremely seriously and have already taken steps with the relevant departments to correct & improve our services.
We welcome our guests' comments and believe that we can turn the negatives into positives so that our future guests will benefit. We hope you will be one of these guests.
Best regards,
Hedva Sela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,001 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

I've led many tours to Israel since 1994 and have stayed @ this hotel several times. I've always found the staff to be warm & pleasant, the food excellent, the rooms clean, and the location superb! It's centrally located next to Independence Park & within a 15 minute walk of shopping on Ben Yehuda Street, a night visit to the walls of the Old City, or a coffee break at the King David Hotel. Even though the hotel name & management have changed, the courteous staff remains. Rooms have been upgraded and are generously supplied with needed amenities. I love the computerized elevator system. Only complaints? I don't like the "half-shower doors" most upgraded hotels use. The AC/Heating system appear to be either one or the other. The individual thermostat in my room didn't work properly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51176RobertF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is a large western style hotel not very far from the old city. I spent a night here and the rooms were very clean and modern, beautifully decorated. They also have a wonderful restaurant, the food was most excellent. The staff was very courteous and aim to please.

My only disdain was for having to pay for internet access. They really should make this available for free. They also have coin operated computers in the lobby. BEWARE! Don't use them, they don't work very well!!! Even the small boutique hotels provide not only free access but have the computer in the kiosk to use for FREE. Otherwise you will be very satisfied as we were.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed just one night in this hotel and it was a pleasant experience. As you enter the lobby you get the feeling of largeness. Lots of activity when we arrived as there was a tour group at check in. We were processed and in our room with some speed which we appreciated. The room was larger than I expected. The windows were so dirty it was hard to see the view however. But this was the only negative. The restaurant buffet breakfast which was part of the price was outstanding and the service was excellent. There are a number of shops in the hotel and they all seemed to be nicely stocked with Israels finest. The location of the hotel in East Jerusalem which means the streets outside are a bit rougher but its totally safe and an easy walk to the old city through the Damascus gate. Value for money? Yes for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We recently stayed for three nights at the Leonardo Plaza in Jerusalem. This is at least the fourth...maybe fifth time staying at this wonderful hotel The hotel common areas are beautiful and the rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and well kept. From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted warmly by all the staff especially Shlomo the Head Porter. Shlomo goes out of his way to make you feel welcome, at home, and is ready to assist you with any need you may have. He is a joy to all who have the privilege to meet him. The managers and front desk staff are very polite and attentive to every need, the business center is comfortable and well equipped. The meals were excellent and the dining area is beautiful. The location is just perfect, easy walk to the Old City, Mamilla Mall, Ben Yehuda St., with a beautiful park just behind the hotel. I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel and absolutely plan to stay here in the future!

Room Tip: Old City side rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat2989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,154 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,564 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Hotel Prima Kings
Hotel Prima Kings
#35 of 101 in Jerusalem
782 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#26 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,727 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 47 King George Street, Jerusalem 91076, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: ₹ 15,306 - ₹ 32,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a perfect holiday in the Holy City, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is the place to be at. Within walking distance from the Independence Park and the Western Wall, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is a tranquil island in the heart of the historic city bustling with life. Feel the luxury of Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem: the hotel’s gourmet restaurants offer a unique culinary experience, the swimming pool is comfortable and inviting, and in summer a festive barbecue is held on the terrace of the hotel, which overlooks the Old City. The combination of the holy atmosphere of the Old City with the modern luxury provided by the hotels facilities guarantees you a relaxing and pampering holiday which will be more than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Sheraton Jerusalem
Jerusalem Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing