We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base for exploring Jersualem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Walls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Walls Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent base for exploring Jersualem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

As with other reviewers we have just returned from a McCabe pilgrimage and the Golden Walls was our base for six nights. Whilst it is amid the bustle of Arab Jerusalem it is immediately opposite the Old City and is perfectly placed for all the religious and secular attractions. The public rooms are on the first floor above the shops and are all well appointed and furnished. The food was varied and excellent, self service at both breakfast and dinner meaning that you could sample everything. A very busy dining room but never any queueing. Staff very efficient. Minimal wine list but the red Cremasan from Bethlehem was excellent at £10 a bottle. Local Taybeh beer quite acceptable but £3.30 for a small bottle. We had a first floor room (immediately behind the bar) which faced the city walls and was quiet and fairly spacious. Minimal curtains which might have been a problem in summer. It was wet and cold while we were there (snow on one occasion) but the free standing electric heater in the room coped well and was ideal for drying wet clothes ! Others in the group had rooms at the back but no one complained although those close to the mosque minaret did moan about the early morning calls to prayer. If we return to Jerusalem independently, which we do plan to do then we will definitely stay at the Golden Walls again. Another reviewer says 'if EasyJet start flying to Tel Aviv' - they already do - daily from Luton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    107
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
40
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Mostly catering for groups, the staff of this hotel can't do enough for you and with plenty of smiles. The rooms vary a bit in size, we had one round the back, no view but absolute quiet, and with a little sitting area. Sound travelled through the bathroom ceilings from next door so keep the bathroom door shut! Everything perfectly clean and we slept well. Well serviced daily, and reception was always ready to help. The enormous buffets morning and evening gave you every choice and the bar was well-stocked and friendly with a comfortable spacious lounge to relax in. The location is very central.

Room Tip: At the back for quiet, at the front for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Went on a McCabe-organised pilgrimage to Israel. The Golden Walls was our Jerusalem base. From the outside it looks a bit awful -- the (smart) doorway has scruffy Arab shops and accompanying trash on either side. But inside the stair and public areas are all fine.

The hotel seems to be mainly used by pilgrimage parties. The company in Israel that McCabe use for their local agent seem to be based here. At breakfast (a buffet, as is dinner) there were various long tables, all with cards indicating a party for "McCabe - led by Revd XYZ".

The hotel surrounds a small scruffy courtyard which is not part of the hotel and is used entirely by taxis and local cars as a parking space and are always coming and going. I didn't find this was a problem, and I am pretty sensitive to noise, but it is scruffy and unattractive.

The hotel is a 3*, and that is precisely what you get. The room that I had was OK-ish. But it had a connecting door to the next room, with a flimsy bolt on my side, which I had to put in position myself! The door itself was plywood, and I had to listen to sounds from the next room.

One problem that several of us reported was ... no curtains! There were two sets of gauze hanging up, but no curtains. On the second day there WERE some white curtains, which were hidden behind the gauze. I'm not sure if there were there all the time.

The bathroom was adequate. The TV was permanently fuzzy, and so unusable. I slept well, however.

The food was really excellent. Both breakfast and dinner were buffets, combining hot and cold food. It was all presented very well, looked very safe and sound (I have stayed in Egypt, so I am aware of what can go wrong!) and there was a wide selection. Everyone would be able to find something. I would guess that the reviewer who complained of an upset stomach was perhaps affected by the change of water or temperature. I get upset stomachs at the drop of a hat, and I had no trouble. (However I was there in February; possibly it would be different in July)

The staff *were* unusually friendly and helpful. I stay in hotels a lot, and I noticed that they were going the extra mile.

Bottled water can be obtained from the bar, which is in the lounge area. Snacks -- crisps ('chips') and chocolate and the like -- can be obtained by going out of the hotel and turning right and walking along a couple of shops to what is effectively a convenience store.

The location is really excellent, although on the tour we had too little time to use it. It is within easy walking distance of the Garden Tomb, and the same for the Damascus Gate. You can perfectly well walk to most of the Old City sites.

I usually stay in 5* hotels. But I would be happy to stay at the Golden Walls again. Indeed if EasyJet start flying out there, I might do so anyway. So ... if you are thinking about a McCabe tour, don't worry about this hotel. It will be fine.

Overall it is a fairly simple hotel, redeemed by excellent food and location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123456700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

the hotel is very well situated close to Damascus gate and also convenient to West jerusalem
so that one can look at the other side
Coaches were able to park outside for loading/unloading
luggage was portered up the entry staircase
The lounge is lovely and the red wine Cremesan very good and reasonable at about £4.00 for a large glass
Food excellent, varied and fresh
Staff very helpful and any maintenance issues swiftly dealt with
A great location and satisfactory hotel to 'do' the main sites

Room Tip: if travelling independently-ask for the Sultan rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshirePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Across the street from the Old City near Damascus Gate. Staff are very courteous. Many pilgrim groups from Europe come through here. The wireless works fine. Spent just over a week there as part of an educational trip. One block from West Jerusalem which allows one to easily see the contrasts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#51 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#50 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#47 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Holy Land Hotel
#57 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Walls Hotel

Property: Golden Walls Hotel
Address: 17 Sultan Suleiman | Damascus Gate, Jerusalem 9761190, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,083 - ₹ 14,668
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Walls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel is located in the center of the Holy City. Located just outside the northern city walls, between Damascus and Herod's Gates, our hotel is within walking distance from the most religious, historic and cultural centers.The Golden Walls Hotel is a family-owned business managed by the Pilgrims Palace Hotels Ltd. The Golden Walls Hotel was built in 1964 and run by the late Dr. Rasheed Nashashibi till 1983. It was then known as the Pilgrims Palace Hotel. The Hotel has undergone major renovations throughout the last 10 years. It was expanded twice. A new building was added to the existing to make the total number of rooms 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Jerusalem Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem
Golden Tulip Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing