We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Jerusalem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Franciscaines de Marie
Ranked #27 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We spent four nights here in May 2011. Sister Herminia was wonderful. She helped us to get connected with a tour to Nazareth, gave good hints for navigating old city, and woke up at all times of the night (1:15am and 5:50am) to make breakfast to go and send us on our way for a tour and when we had to go to the airport. There was a catholic pilgrimage group while we were there, and we ended up joining up with them a couple of times throughout our stay. The rooms were basic but clean. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, sandwiches, yogurt, and tea/coffee. It was a great location right outside of demascus gate, and it felt very safe (there was a gate to get into the building, and they had a security camera and would buzz you in). Would recommend it as a safe, economical, friendly and clean option.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Joanna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I deeply thank the Sisters for making our stay in Jerusalem so nice and agreeable. Rooms are simple but absolutely clean, breakfast is made of very good local products, and the sisters are extremely helpful and of good advice.

The convent is located just at the exit of Damascus gate, which is very convenient to visit the old city. Prices are unbeatable compared to hotels and B&B in the city.

Only drawbacks: Damascus gate is not the best-looking neighbourhood in Jerusalem, and can be a little noisy at night / early morning. Except for that, it was just the perfect stay in a friendly and spriritual atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here for 10 nights in June 2010 (17th-28th) and frankly if I became a millionaire tomorrow and decided to return to Jerusalem, I would still stay here rather than take my chances with a hotel or other establishment.

I found it hard to book a room in Jerusalem without contacting the place directly. It appeared that some places quoted prices from the tops of their heads and when I said it was more than our budget they would come back with another price, saying they made a mistake !!!!! It really put me off and left a bitter taste in my mouth before our holiday had even began.

However, Franciscaines de Marie were completely honest, sincere and professional. From the very moment that I contacted them in February, I was sold and made up my mind that even if one of our favourite choices had a room available at a more competitive price then we would still stay here. My first email was answered promptly – confirming that they had accommodation available, the full price, what the price included, location, address, telephone number, directions etc etc. Any other minor questions or concerns were AGAIN answered promptly and days before we travelled I confirmed my booking and AGAIN they replied promptly.

We took a nesher taxi from Tel Aviv that went around the houses dropping off everyone else before eventually dropping us off. Sister Herminia was up at 10.20pm waiting for us. Check in was swift and we paid for our full stay the following morning after perusing the room and satisfying ourselves that it was nice. Nice ?? The room including bathroom was spotlessly clean, piping hot water, comfortable bed, clean towels daily, functional air conditioning and even a phone. I was impressed.

Location ?? Simply perfect ! Could not have been better ! When the taxi dropped us off at the top of the road (Nablus road is one way) we walked 100 yards to the Guest house and could see the walls of the Old City lit up directly in front of us. We could literally see Damascus Gate !!! Being directly outside the Old City walls we were able to get some respite from the hassle of shop keepers and traders who ply their trade every time a tourist walks by. It can get exhausting and once you get over the nostalgia of the call to prayer on your first morning, it starts to get irritating. The whole of The Old City wakes up with the first call to prayer so if you are a light sleeper, you will need to manage your expectations. We experienced no such distractions and slept soundly at the White Sisters but occasionally heard church bells in the far distance on some mornings.

Breakfast stuff was what we expected – toast, preserves, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, halva, cereals, juice, tea, coffee. There was more than enough to line your stomach until lunch time. We did not eat lunch or dinner here.

Both Sister Herminia and Sister Michelle were an invaluable source of information in terms of how to get around the city and various excursions. They really really made the holiday unforgettable. Sister Herminia booked our return taxi and even woke up in the early hours to make breakfast for us before our early return flight home.

Franciscaines de Marie is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Onelifeliveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed at Franciscaines de Marie in Jerusalem in June/2009. The place is really good. They offer good bed and breakfast. The localization is amazing, few metres from the Damascos Gate. The cost is also a positive aspect. The best point is the kindness of the Sisters that run the hospice, specially Sister Herminia. I did has a wonderful time there.

Helpful?
8 Thank MMartin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
487 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 101 in Jerusalem
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#58 of 101 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#48 of 101 in Jerusalem
230 reviews
Jerusalem Hotel
#25 of 60 in Jerusalem
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscaines de Marie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscaines de Marie

Property: Franciscaines de Marie
Address: Derech Shchem 9, Jerusalem 9119001, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Franciscaines de Marie (White Sisters) Guest House - the perfect place for Pilgrims visiting Jerusalem City in the Holy Land. Our guest house is ideally located within walking distance to all of Jerusalem's major sights because it's just outside the Gate of Damascus in Nablus Road (across the Schmidt's Girl College). It is peaceful and quiet like a Sanctuary in the Jerusalem. The daily rate includes a buffet kitchen with fresh bread, eggs, fruits, hummus, brewed coffee, chocolate, tea, a choice of cereals, yoghurt, olives etc. We have guest rooms for solo guests, doubles, triple and even some that can accommodate a family. There are restaurants, groceries and fruit/vegetable shops nearby. You can also go to other places in the Holy Land because the bus terminal is a short walk away. This sanctuary in East Jerusalem also offers daily Masses in our chapel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Franciscaines De Marie Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing