We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
8
6
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
6
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2014

What more can I say? The little place does exactly what it says on the tin.

Magas house, sits on a lovely quaint quiet street (Heleni HaMalka street) in Musrara, Jerusalem. Having visited Jerusalem in the past I've always known it to be a busy loud place, however the location of Magas house is ideal, in the centre of the city but with the beautiful quietness.

Upon arrival your greeted by a beautiful stone house with a courtyard and a nice garden area where the olive gardens offer shade, which is nice in the hot summer months.

The accommodation it's self is comfortable and basic but it offers you everything you need. However the cleanliness when you arrive is second to none and I could quite literally see my face from the polished stone floors. The one thing I would say is that there is no air conditioning in the house however due to the old stone walls it remains at a comfortable temperature anyway.

It is self catering however for basic food needs there is a small shop opposite the bus stop near the junction of Heleni HaMalka street and Ha-Nevi'im Street. Alternatively you can take a five minute stroll down Ha-Nevi'im street where you will find butchers, green grocers and plenty of other shops en-route to the Damascus Gate of the Old City... YES THATS RIGHT, ITS ONLY 5 MINUTES AWAY FROM THE OLD CITY.

I sincerely hope everyone gets the chance to visit Jerusalem once in their life time, and I have to admit it takes a lot to beat Magas house for the price, location and comfort that it offers!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrTipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Although it can be a bit difficult to get a hold of the staff, they are very friendly and helpful. We showed up a day early and they set us up with a room and didn't make a fuss about our paying later. The rooms are nice and the location is wonderful. There's wonderful bakery and grocer row just a block away. And a couple of blocks to the old city. No need to drive. The kitchenette served our purposes admirably. The only puzzling thing was a missing corkscrew for wine. It was definitely one of the better places we stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We loved staying there! great location and easy to walk
to all the beautiful historical places.
We found the place very quiet and pleasant.
thank you for letting us stay in such a wonderful place.

Dena & Richard

Room Tip: a perfect place in the center of gerusalem
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 918rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you are interested in a cheap accomodation in downtown Jerusalem, Maga's house is a good place to be.
Unfortunatelly, the owners will disappear after taking the payment on the first evening, and if you expected some advice on the city, or needed some help during your stay, juste forget about it. Besides, this is not a B&B (you cook your breakfast in your room), there is no common area where guest will hang out and exchange tips.
Said shortly, most unfriendly place I've ever been in Israel, and as anonymous as any prepaid european roadside motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We (family of four) stayed for five days at the "Cellar" apartment, which is an underground three-floor apartment (formerly an old Arab cistern). It is nicely furnished and does not need air condition (even in August). The apartment is well taken care of and our questions were dealt with promptly. The host "Nomi" was very pleasant and was there to assist us in a very personal and pleasant manner. Outside is a nice garden. It is centrally located - a five-minute walk to Damascus Gate and to Yafo Street. We would definitely stay there again.

If you arrive in Jerusalem by train, the bus # 18 takes you from Malha Railway Station almost to Heleni Hamalka Street.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musrara, Manager at Magas House Jerusalem Vacation Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

thank you for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Jerusalem.You are always welcome.Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews