We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place I have ever been to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hostel is located few meters away from the Damascus gate,the location is perfect for buses,old town,food and anything you wish. We were planing to stay there for only 1day,but since the location,the staff and the people who live in the hostel were so great we decided to stay there for another extra 3 days .thank you palm hostel for this unforgettable experience,please don't change into some posh looking hostel as we want to come back next year !

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canofjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for New Palm Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Bed Bugs galore...! I went to the Dead Sea that day, and the itch! I looked myself in a mirror and I had so many spots all over my skin. The owner (Hatim) was in denial. So I went back to my bed and took a bug (Cimex lectularis), and put it in a cigarrette plastic wraping. He dares asking me why I brought this to his place...! The nerve. They should burn all the matresses. Then the noise. The place is NOT for the guests but for the friends and family of the owner. All day since 6 AM until 1 AM talking loud, smoking in the non-smoking areas and ocuppying the tea room and the sitting room. All the Arab shouting and arguing and the disrespect to the female guests... They even shut off the gas line couple of times so the guests wont cook and to save money...They sent me to sleep to the Petra, managed by his brother, and I saw rat traps all over the floor of the downstairs private rooms...

Room Tip: They are no good rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel_D57658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We booked a double room for 230NIS a night for 3 nights. Great price, except that it came with lukewarm water in the toilet (the manager insists that there's hot water 24/7) and poor drainage so the room STANK after we flushed the toilet.

We were received by Alex, a staff member, who was very pushy and insisted we needed a driver to get around Bethleham to see the attractions. As it turns out, Bethleham was a small place and we were told by the driver to walk around while he smoked at a corner. Alex also didn't mentioned that there was a public bus right outside the hostel that would take us to Bethleham centre.

The price for a Bethleham trip was advertised at the lobby for 160NIS but when he took us into the office, it became 600NIS instead because there apprarently wasn't enough people. Alex said he would refund us if more people came along to split the cost. However, there was no refund when another guest came on the trip.

We would have moved to another hostel if not for the fact that I paid by mastercard and they refused to give a refund.

By far the WORST hostel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't pick this hostel. Walk around - there are plenty of other hostels dotting the same locatio...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank da-phish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The leader of the hotel required more in the payment of stay than agreed with us. The staff there was nice and comfy. I hope the hotel has become a better leader.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesperP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Bedbugs in beds. No service what so ever. Stay away!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kris2ffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#45 of 101 in Jerusalem
233 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#28 of 68 in Jerusalem
60 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 68 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Metropole Hotel
#18 of 68 in Jerusalem
20 reviews
Leticia Guest House
#47 of 60 in Jerusalem
3 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 68 in Jerusalem
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: ₹ 1,493 - ₹ 4,414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing