We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I woke-up looking like a dalmatian” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Damascus, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I woke-up looking like a dalmatian”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Bed Bugs galore...! I went to the Dead Sea that day, and the itch! I looked myself in a mirror and I had so many spots all over my skin. The owner (Hatim) was in denial. So I went back to my bed and took a bug (Cimex lectularis), and put it in a cigarrette plastic wraping. He dares asking me why I brought this to his place...! The nerve. They should burn all the matresses. Then the noise. The place is NOT for the guests but for the friends and family of the owner. All day since 6 AM until 1 AM talking loud, smoking in the non-smoking areas and ocuppying the tea room and the sitting room. All the Arab shouting and arguing and the disrespect to the female guests... They even shut off the gas line couple of times so the guests wont cook and to save money...They sent me to sleep to the Petra, managed by his brother, and I saw rat traps all over the floor of the downstairs private rooms...

Room Tip: They are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel_D57658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    46
    45
    27
    76
See reviews for
14
43
73
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We booked a double room for 230NIS a night for 3 nights. Great price, except that it came with lukewarm water in the toilet (the manager insists that there's hot water 24/7) and poor drainage so the room STANK after we flushed the toilet.

We were received by Alex, a staff member, who was very pushy and insisted we needed a driver to get around Bethleham to see the attractions. As it turns out, Bethleham was a small place and we were told by the driver to walk around while he smoked at a corner. Alex also didn't mentioned that there was a public bus right outside the hostel that would take us to Bethleham centre.

The price for a Bethleham trip was advertised at the lobby for 160NIS but when he took us into the office, it became 600NIS instead because there apprarently wasn't enough people. Alex said he would refund us if more people came along to split the cost. However, there was no refund when another guest came on the trip.

We would have moved to another hostel if not for the fact that I paid by mastercard and they refused to give a refund.

By far the WORST hostel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't pick this hostel. Walk around - there are plenty of other hostels dotting the same locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank da-phish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Vildbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The leader of the hotel required more in the payment of stay than agreed with us. The staff there was nice and comfy. I hope the hotel has become a better leader.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesperP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Bedbugs in beds. No service what so ever. Stay away!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kris2ffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billericay
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Arrived tired and weary from Amman. Went up the stairs and was met by (I assume the owner). He gave what I call the usual sales patter about how he lived in London and knew this place and that. I asked about the hostel and said it was dangerous and I would be better in a room. He showed me a room and it was small but clean. He explained it was impossible to get a better room for the price. We agreed on 400 shekels for 2 nights. However when it came to paying I wished to pay in foreign currency he calculated the amounts. I thought nothing of it until I sat in the room and worked out I was paying in fact 487 shekels. I went to see him and he explained it was tax and exchange commission. He then protested and he got really angry. I asked for my money back which he did to be fair in a fit of rage and practically threw me out (not hands on but verbally). I was shocked but relived to get out of the place and went to the old town where I found a room for half the price and better quality.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#78 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#86 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#49 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#59 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
The Post Hostel
#4 of 60 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 60 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Property: New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,158 - ₹ 4,019
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing