We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scam Beware!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
billericay
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Scam Beware!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Arrived tired and weary from Amman. Went up the stairs and was met by (I assume the owner). He gave what I call the usual sales patter about how he lived in London and knew this place and that. I asked about the hostel and said it was dangerous and I would be better in a room. He showed me a room and it was small but clean. He explained it was impossible to get a better room for the price. We agreed on 400 shekels for 2 nights. However when it came to paying I wished to pay in foreign currency he calculated the amounts. I thought nothing of it until I sat in the room and worked out I was paying in fact 487 shekels. I went to see him and he explained it was tax and exchange commission. He then protested and he got really angry. I asked for my money back which he did to be fair in a fit of rage and practically threw me out (not hands on but verbally). I was shocked but relived to get out of the place and went to the old town where I found a room for half the price and better quality.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    50
    46
    29
    84
See reviews for
16
49
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

OK so despite the fact that the hotel manager pestered me quite a lot to give a review I would say that the hotel (i dont know about the hostel) was much better than the reviews suggest. The rooms are VERY cheap and clean with air con, free breakfast, free internet and a large screen television to watch digital TV on. The management can be a bit rude but apart from that i would definitely stay here again if i want value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wicked8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This place is split into a hotel on one side and hostel on the other but other than decoration there is very little to tell the two apart.

Start with the good: the place itself (we stayed on the hotel side) is actually nice and seemingly good value for money, with a large lounge area with free nescafe and satelite TV and thats pretty much where it ends.

The average: The rooms and bathroom are very very small and hot water was a struggle, which we didnt mind with for the price we were paying. Given the price alone, we decided we would stay a few extra nights rather than look elsewhere in Jerusalem (which we went on to regret). The location is great for the city but light sleepers be warned, it is on a very busy market street that starts very early in the morning and there are only single glazed windows!

The bad: Despite being a 'hotel' we had to ask for towels, our room was never serviced or cleaned and breakfast had to be self made.

The worst: The attitude of the staff is by far the worst I have ever experienced, probably summarised by the sign "No Refunds Ever Given For Any Reason" as soon as you enter the building. The manager offered us a good price in US Dollars for a good review on here. The exchange rate into Shekels didn't quite add up, then we realised that we had been charged over 60 cents per shekel in the owner's 'conversion rates.'

We were then pestered everytime we bumped into him as to why we hadn't written our review yet. We explained we were on holiday and were not going to review until it was over and when we did it would be fair. He became very aggressive and told us if we wanted to use the wi-fi we would write the review!

On another night a few other guests and ourselves were chilling out and watching a movie when the staff and a number of their friends came into the hotel and turned over the TV and became abusive when we complained.

At the end of our stay we thought we would give some decent critical feedback. The place itself isn't bad. The manager told us he had no choice because of websites forcing you to quote in dollars (we know this is not true) and the dollar being so weak. When we complained about the staff, every excuse in the book was used, ending up in retorting to, we were just looking for trouble and was not getting any money back (we didnt ask for any).

We also had some other guests tell us that they had paid to go on excursions that never went because staff were 'too tired.' and then were directed to the 'no refund' sign when asked for it. We can't confirm this but highly believe it to be true.

The staff have no respect for paying customers nor are they honest in their dealings with their guests. And as promised to the manager this is our fair review. But this won't bother them, according to him only horrible people leave them.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richeeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Pilsen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Excellent location. Very helpfull staff. They willingly solved problem with our reservation, that appeared solely by MY falut, even though it meant a loss for them, just to make us happy. Nice house and interior. I would definetely reccomend it for those who want to get to know local atmospehere and manners and people.

But it has its cons also: It could be cleaner (not relevant for bacpacker equipped with sleeping bag) and it is near busy corssroad which means a lot of noise starting from morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JendaWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We stayed one night at the New Palm Hotel. It is conveniently located but is located a noisy market area. There is a hostel area which may be a bargain for backpackers, but we were in a room which was small and lacked linens. When we asked they gave us sheets and 2 towels. The private bath was tiny with a very small sink and with no shower curtain so water would be everywhere! Breakfast was very basic Nescafe / tea. btw We did try to negotiate a lower price, but they refused.
We left and went to a much better hotel in the old city for less money! Plus a great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#84 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#77 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#10 of 65 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Post Hostel
#5 of 65 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 65 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#20 of 65 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Property: New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,102 - ₹ 5,768
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing