We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historical building in the heart of the holy land.”
Review of Jaffa Gate Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaffa Gate Hostel
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Amazing location. This family run hostel is friendly and the location couldn't be better. They say no alcohol but I had a few cans on the roof so as long as you don't advertise the fact you'll be ok. Renovations were under way when i was there. Also the building is very old and i banged my head a few times. The view from the rooftop is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardy_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Jaffa Gate hostel is in a great location ... and that's it.
The dorms and beds are filthy dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. There's next to zero security ie no staff after 10pm, no locks on dorm doors and no lockers so you have to keep your valuables on you. There's a ban on alcohol which is not publicised until you arrive at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked for 4 nights and paid up front to get a big discount. Silly us. The room looked cramped but okay at first. We went out and when we returned we could smell the damp. It wasn't obvious before as they had clearly been leaing the door open. This smell got worse as we could hardly leave the room door open while we were out. By the time we left, everything in my case smelt pretty bad.

The showers didn't seem as bad as some of the reviews have suggested but the kitchen was grimy.

The location was great but we got out as soon as we could and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked here for 3 nights because the location was what attracted us. When got the private room right across the upper floor common kitchen and we did not experience any disturbances because of this. Didn't really engage with the staff too much, but they were nice enough to check us in when we arrived shortly after they closed at 9PM.
The rooms were small with private bathrooms, TV and refrigerator. Décor and furniture is made up of mismatched and outdated pieces, but this again is a hostel and I did not expect much. The curtains didn't quite cover the windows which we had to pin back. The shower however was dirty and the water just got all over the place, but thank god for the handy floor squeegee they provide to mop things up.
I would rate this place as average, but the location really puts this place at an advantage. Many shopping promenades/markets and restaurants within walking distances.

Positives:
Working WiFin the TV common area.
Fantastic location
30 Shekel taxi ride from the Central Bus station.
Check out the free walking tour by Sandemans

Cons:
Dirty facilities

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I spent 8 nights, everything was wonderful, we were at room number 4, the vies are amazing.
the staff very helpful and friendly and the hostel is close to all the main places to visit, fantastic stay.
the have a kitchen you can use for free, nice terraces

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasodesidra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
265 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#9 of 71 in Jerusalem
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 71 in Jerusalem
2,105 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#38 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaffa Gate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaffa Gate Hostel

Address: Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem 19383, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: ₹ 1,868 - ₹ 7,989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Jaffa Gate Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing