We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, basic place to stay in Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jerusalem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good, basic place to stay in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I really liked Jerusalem Hostel. It`s located close to the old city, very friendly staff, great athmosphere. The rooms are cleaned every day, you can use the kitchen . I can recommend this hostel to everyone travelling through Jerusalem, who is looking for a basic, simple, yet very friendly and clean place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskakao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    107
    59
    20
    21
See reviews for
55
82
108
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

First, it's important to note that this hostel (like everywhere else in Jerusalem) will try to rip you off so be on your guard. Just because you were promised on the phone that the room will be a certain amount or have certain amenities (like a bathroom/shower) doesn't mean it will be there when you arrive.

But the hostel is in a great location and compared with the other hostels in the area it is a decent place to stay. Free Wifi in the lobby and free computers to use. Also, there is a kitchen area with a TV. There is also a TV in your room, which gets decent reception. The rooms can be dirty, and my sheets had bizarre stains on them. Also, it is pretty expensive, particularly for the single private rooms. But overall, most of the staff (particularly the Spanish-speaking staff) are friendly and helpful, there's laundry services for a fee and it is a decent place to stay if you're in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerUSA1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I stayed here twice, in April 2007 (alone) and in January 2011 (with my husband and daughter). The hostel hasn't changed, it's still cozy, friendly, clean and relatively cheap. The location is great, it's within walking distance to the old city. The only thing I didn't like was that hot water is only available in the morning and in the evening, but they do it to keep their prices low. Oh, and we heard noises from outside at night, but if you stay in the very center, this is unavoidable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank typechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This was one of the worst experiences of my entire life. The hostel is infested with bedbugs, the rooms smell of sewer gas, and the hostel is in one of the noisiest locations in all of Jerusalem. We were bit by bedbugs all over our bodies on our first night there and we were covered with large red welts for over a week. Stay here only if you already have bedbugs or a strange desire to experience them first hand.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RONJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hi,

so sorry to hear about this experience. We haven't had bed-bugs problem for almost 2 years now, and we check for them constantly, and do a thorough weekly check in all rooms & dormitory.
Bed bugs is a problem in all hostels and even 5 stars hotels all around the world, from the simple reason that other travelers might bring them to the hostel from a different place they stayed before, and there is no way to know that until after they are here. We have a special material that kills the bedbugs immediately if they appear, plus washing all pillows, mattresses, blankets, sheets, and offer our guests an alternative room. moreover - in case of bed bugs we offer the guests to wash all their cloths and bags for free, just to make sure that we get rid of all of them. But again, we haven't had this problem for a long time now, but in case it comes - we are well prepared to deal with it in the most convenient & helpful way to our guests:) Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future and experience a different thing from what you had...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The ideal location of this Hostel will make your experience to visit Israel unforgettable, walking distance to the Western Wall and others target sites of the religious enterprise. In the hostel you will find wonderful people; they are polyglots, diverse in the religious and political views, but above everything young. Hey! If you speak Spanish ask for Andres. All the men and women working in there will make you to feel at home, they will also give you the code to the underground Jerusalem! Exciting isn’t it? All the guys in the front desk are terrific!

I met people from all over the world, from the most different backgrounds and all with different budgets, from the students to the professionals who refuse to spend one minute of their time bored, when visiting The Holy City. I cannot way to book again in the coolest place in Jerusalem.
Carlos Adon

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlosadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Shamai Suites
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jerusalem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Hostel

Property: The Jerusalem Hostel
Address: 44 Jaffa | Zion Square, Jerusalem 9422207, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,351 - ₹ 5,745
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jerusalem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the first hostel in west Jerusalem. we turned a historic beautiful building into a nice, warm, and cool hostel. waiting to see you here :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Jerusalem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing