We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Please renovate!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Please renovate!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The view from this hotel can't be beat. But if you're not looking outside, the price just isn't justified. I'll bet the bathroom hasn't changed since my grandmother visited Haifa in the mid-70's. Rooms are fine but oh-so-tired and need updating. Breakfast is good but not great. The staff is lovely, however.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyinnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    194
    60
    27
    24
See reviews for
190
166
25
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The view is amazing..breakfast is good... Dirty rooms ... The service is super.. I wanna mention tow nice guys(waiter) Saleh Abd halim And patrick

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yossi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe.AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I was always told that the Dan Carmel was not as nice as the Dan Panorama Haifa, so I never stayed there. This trip, however, due to the Pesah holiday, I could only get a room at the DC. I am really glad I did. I was completely misled by my associates. The rooms are bigger than the DP, every room has a balcony, and the beds have a complete top mattress (DP always gave me two twins pushed together.) The rooms are also being remodeled and updated. One of the managers, Berta, showed me the new rooms. They are very nice.

Due to the remodel, the hotel was less than half full. Because of this, there were not many people at breakfast and I imagine that staffing was reduced. The servers always took care of me, but sometimes it was slow getting coffee. One day, I came in and Ahmed saw me. He was in the middle of doing something, but he immediately stopped and went to get me coffee. He said that he noticed I always wanted coffee first. I was impressed by that. Ryan was also very helpful and cordial. I wish I could remember everyone's names.

The Business lounge is also the largest and nicest of any hotel I have stayed in Haifa. The spread is similar to DP, but there is much more seating and an outside patio. Again, I am forgetting some names, but Reut and Nicholas stood out as exceptional. I also had good experiences with Nicholas at the front desk.

I almost forgot to mention Gregory, the door man. I briefly met him when I checked in, but he remembered my name and greeted me with "Good evening/morning, Jim," every time he saw me.

I have to walk about 5 minutes longer to get to my favorite restaurants and pubs, but I will be requesting DC in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim92065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The location is great, the service is excellent.
The staff is helpful, considerate, attentive
The rooms, lobby, restaurant and facilities are excellent
The food quality, presentation, and quantity cannot be better.
A preferred place to stay.
We had no complaints during 10 days visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allergy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

When we stayed at this hotel, we had a brief but unpleasant stay. We arrived at our room, to find a bathroom with a broken toilet seat and a weak air conditioner. When we requested for our toilet seat to be fixed, a handyman came to our room saying that only that the toilet seat is broken, advising us not to wiggle our bottoms. After this event, we had decided we had enough and checked out and checked in at the Dan Panorama

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auser122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.3 km away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
1.3 km away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
0.4 km away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Property: Dan Carmel Haifa
Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#3 Business Hotel in Haifa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#5 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,031 - ₹ 24,081
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing