We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Silence in the Desert”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keren Kolot, Kibbutz Ketura
Ranked #4 of 23 Eilat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Sweet Silence in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

If you are in Israel, and seek sweet silence and calm, consider Keren Kolot at Kibbutz Ketura.
I had the pleasure of staying here for a family gathering. This was a unique experience, not only the ambience and incredible views of the majestic mountains....but also the proximity of Israel's pioneer solar energy field, and "Methuselah", the only palm tree grown from seeds carbon dated 2000 years ago! The accomdations are very spacious, and a cut above most of the Kibbutz guest houses. The food adequate. Also for those who also seek a bit of night life, the city of Eilat is only a short ride (car or bus) away. A place with mystique.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sde Boker, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This B&B is in kibbutz Ketura, about half an hour north of Eilat. The complex is very aesthetic, the view of the Jordan mountains breathtaking, the service great and the place interesting. The lobby has a little coffee shop that also sells souvenirs made locally. I have stayed here a few times and enjoy it every time again. Kibbutz Ketura is a very interesting place that combines being conservative religious with tolerance and ecology. If you go for a weekend, join the services in the synagogue and ask if a tour of the kibbutz is available.

Room Tip: There are rooms which can fit a family of four. They also have larger suites that have two different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lottesahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
412 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

A very cozy guest house at a kibbutz out in the middle of the desert. We got there by bike from Mizpeh Ramon (another story). Very friendly. Adequate, but spartan rooms. Comfortable beds. Large screen TV's and kitchenette. We ate at the kibbutz dining room. Free Wifi in the cafe.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We spent 3 nights at Kibbutz Ketura during the Sukkot holiday. We joined friends who live in Israel and have been going to the kibbutz every year during the holiday. We were very disappointed with the accomodations and the kibbutz itself. I have stayed at many kibbutz guest houses and this was by far the most basic and no-frills one. Everything is very dated and not very clean. The shower floods the whole bathroom, the bedding and towels were very worn and the kibbutz seemed very dirty and run down. The breakfasts were pretty sparse and the pool hours were very inconvenient. We look forward to swimming in the evening after a long day of activity yet the pool closes at 5. Considering there is nothing to do in the area, I thought the kibbutz should provide some sort of evening entertainment, such as a movie. There is a small petting zoo and the animals seemed to be kept in dirty conditions. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rapunzelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston,il
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a few good reasons to visit this lovely B&B outside Eilat, not the least being its proximity to many places we wanted to visit,i.e. Hai Bar Animal Reserve and to visit one of its volunteers. The Inn is located in the Kibbutz itself and one joins the members and volunteers for breakfast (included), and for the other meals by reservation. This is typical healthy fresh Israeli breakfast with lots of veggies,salads,cheese dairy products and made to order eggs.
But really it's the people that make it special as they will be happy to share their stories and the home with you.
The little cafe inside the lobby/reception also has home/kibbutz baked goodies-excellent cheesecake,Baileys when we visited
Its location is a short 20-30 minuted to Eilat and much closer to the animal reserve and to Timna-don't miss these. In EIlat, a typical beach town there is the Coral beach where we rented snorkel sand masks and enjoyed snorkeling to our hearts content

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sitsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eilat hotels
52.4 km away
Prima Music
Prima Music
#20 of 63 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
47.6 km away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#16 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
47.9 km away
Herods Vitalis Spa Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 km away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#24 of 63 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
47.6 km away
Isrotel Riviera Club Hotel
47.7 km away
Alla's Home Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keren Kolot, Kibbutz Ketura? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keren Kolot, Kibbutz Ketura

Property: Keren Kolot, Kibbutz Ketura
Address: Kibbutz Ketura, Eilat, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Eilat
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,483 - ₹ 16,206
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keren Kolot at Kibbutz Ketura is a guest house and educational seminar center. We offer 44 attractively-priced and comfortable rooms, including singles, doubles, suites and apartments for singles, couples, families and groups from Israel and abroad. All rooms include a kitchenette, bathroom and shower, satellite TV, a refrigerator, coffee and tea, milk, cookies and fruit.Our guests are invited to enjoy a number of activities including a tour of the kibbutz and the famous solar field and algae factory, bike rentals and use of the kibbutz's Olympic-sized swimming pool.We invite our guests to kick back, relax and enjoy a moment of leisure at Café Kolot, our coffee shop, located next to the guest rooms. You will be able to enjoy fine coffee, cookies, cakes and other homemade baked goods, locally-produced dates, wine, light meals, soft drinks and ice cream. In addition, Café Kolot offers jewelry, arts and crafts made by kibbutz members. For the benefit of our guests and patrons, we offer free wireless internet access and use of the computer in the coffee shop. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing