We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OFF SEASON A LITTLE OFF...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dereli Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selcuk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dereli Motel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OFF SEASON A LITTLE OFF...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had three rooms and there seemed to be only one other family during our stay. This may have contributed to our overall experience. Rooms are small with no amenities (soap, shampoo) and can get a little cool at night. Could not seem to get the heat to work and stayed bundled up. Food was average compared to rest of Turkey. Prices seem a little high for season and facilities. Quiet location on the beach and very pleasant surroundings. Only being here in the off season may not have given us a realistic picture. Overall it seemed like an older motel by the sea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights here. We chose this place because the pictures on the website looked like it was easy-going (which it was) – but also for its location as we rather wanted to focus on nearby Ephesus (5kms) than having a beach holiday. If you have your own car – as we did – you can park it motel-style in front of the door, which is very convenient for loading and unloading since there is no one to give you a hand. Of course, its motel-style doesn’t prevent it from being a true beach hotel. The private though small terrace gives direct access to the beach. The rooms are small too, but the lay-out is such that my wife and I didn’t collide even once. We have stayed in much bigger rooms where that kind of accidents proved to be more difficult to avoid. However, we have some complaints. Apart from the fact that the hot water was barely luke-warm (perhaps because we were the only guests in the block?), we felt the restaurant bill wasn’t fair. The first evening, we ordered chicken and köfte, together with side dishes of vegetables and rice. That proved to be far too much as the meat dishes already came with bread, more rice and more vegetables. Though the waiter didn’t tell us, it was entirely our mistake. We signed for the bill which was a bit more than 40 Lira, thinking this wouldn’t happen a second time. And it didn’t! The next evening we went to the counter instead of choosing from the menu card. Both of us ordered fish as a main plate, skipping the side orders. Much to our surprise, the fish (which still had the head and tail) covered the entire plate – but apart from the bread, no rice, vegetables or anything else came along with it. The surprise became even bigger when we asked for the bill. They charged us more than 70 Lira for 2 plates of fish, saying this reflected the price of the day. It must have been a very rare and precious fish, perhaps the last of its kind. Later, having full dinners in much fancier places than this, we learned this price was outrageous. So, a word of advice: when ordering from the counter: ask beforehand what it will cost you – or you might well face a rip-off!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have enjoyed many short breaks with the family at Dereli Motel over the past four or five years and for some reason, this is my first review. Maybe it’s my reluctance to share this superb location with too many others!

Dereli provides simple, spotlessly clean motel accommodation with some rooms facing, and just a couple of steps, from the beach. Most of the rooms are twins or doubles, but they can take an extra bed and there is one larger, family room which can accommodate at least four guests. This room is the only air-conditioned unit but the staff are happy to provide free-standing electric fans. All rooms have a fridge and the small balconies are ideal for enjoying a cool drink while watching the sun set over the Aegean.

The breakfast, included in the price, is excellent and the restaurant overlooking the beach has a huge choice of well-presented, delicious food which you can choose from display cabinets close to the kitchens.

We book there for two nights a couple of times each year when our large, extended family visit us from the UK. The beach is long and wide but has a private ‘feel’ about it and the palm trees dotted around give the views from your room a kind of tropical touch, especially at sunset.

Room Tip: Ask fior a sea-facing room and you're almost on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I spent already several times one or two nights at Dereli Motel / Camping. The rooms are simple, but clean and you have a fridge - and a small terrasse where you can sit and have a nice glass of wine after dinner or musical events in Ephesus. Staff is friendly, internet access close to the little "bakkal" which you'll find close to the entrance of the area. Beautiful and long beach belonging to the Motel. German owner. Just for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izmircanadese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a nice location on the beach in between Selcuk and Kusadasi, it's pretty and the service and rooms are great. However it is isolated unless you have your own transport. There are buses every 30 minutes to Selcuk and Kusadasi but otherwise you are restricted to one shop and one restaurant on-site. The restaurant however was very pleasant and the service of the staff was fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 km away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.0 km away
Hitit Hotel
Hitit Hotel
#25 of 32 in Selcuk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 km away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
0.0 km away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 km away
Efes Antik Hotel
Efes Antik Hotel
#14 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dereli Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dereli Motel

Property: Dereli Motel
Address: Pamucak Sahili Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing