We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel with great hosts!”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Urkmez is a great hotel, and the room is comfortable, although the shower stall was a tad small.
The hotel is not difficult to locate, but as first-timers in Turkey, we had to constantly ask and check around with the locals so that they could direct us.
The hotel is actually not very far from the Selcuk Bus Station once we had our bearings right (See my tip below on how to get to the hotel from the bus station!)

The view is great from the room; and we could see some of the ruins from our room even! The breakfast is wonderful, and the fruits are so sweet and delicious! The hotel is run by a family, and they are very friendly, giving us good tips on getting to the ruins and back (see my other tip below!)

Finally, for budget conscious travellers, flying from Istanbul to Izmir is actually not expensive via their budget airlines such as Pegasus (they have such a funny safety video; i shall not say any more!) or Sunexpress. (fares are only a little more than the buses, and you save all that time!)

When you arrive in Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport, save yourself all that money (170 Lira) to travel by Taxi from airport to Selcuk. The cheap way is to get a taxi from the airport to Gazemir Tansas (pronounced as Tan-sash) (I read it in some blog), which only costs abt 11 Lira. From Gazemir, go towards the main road, and wait for the dolmus which comes every hour or so to Selcuk. That will only cost you like 5 - 7 Lira per person!!!
From Gazemir to Selcuk, the dolmus will take about 1 hour or less, and it's a most interesting way to travel with the locals! They are really most friendly, and will do their very best to help you : )

Room Tip: To get from Bus Station to the hotel, ask the locals for the ZIRAAT bank! Walk towards it, and when...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mao2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Urkmez Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 224 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is located around 10 mins walk from the bus station of Selcuk (opposite to a post office). It is run by two brothers, with a lovely kid. They are helpful and nice.

The lighting system in the hotel is environmentally friendly. The room is clean and tidy with a little balcony. Breakfast is included in the package and served in the nicely decorated terance of the hotel facing the Castle.

The hotel owners also run a restaurant downstairs called Cafe Bar & Restaurant with 10% discount for hotel guests. But we didn't have time to try it during our stay.

Highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KA LUNG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I wasnt very happy when we had to search for the hotel. No one seemed to know it, finally a person helped up with spotting it, it has a small board with the hotel name.
I wasnt very happy with the overall look and feel of the place..it seemed somewhat unkempt and as per the reviews in tripadvisor my expectations of the place wasn't.
The bathroom was small and very inconvenient, it flooded the entire place, also the shower wasnt working properly, it took forever for the hot water to run in and even after that the temperature of the water kept fluctuating.
They didnt have a intercom phone, instead they had a bell at the reception, even after ringing it several time, no response.
Overall, I didnt like the hotel at all. However, its location is great, great eateries around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nibeditadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed there for three days in the last week of august '12 and had a memorable time. The rooms are small in typical european style, but cosy and clean. The hotel is located in the heart of selcuk and at a short walking distance from the main road, Ataturk Caddesi. Though the breakfast is a small spread, the hospitality of Junaid and his brother makes up for the lack of variety. Both of them were very courteous, cheerful, and helpful during our stay. The best part was the chirpy kid at the hotel reception who was always ready to help us out with our luggage, etc. We visited Ephesus and Pamukkale on package tours arranged by the hotel. Junaid gave us water bottles for free all throughout our stay. Though it was a small gesture, it was unlike most other hotel owners.

My wife had one regret though, we forgot to take pictures with the hotel folks who made us feel completely at home.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The service in this hotel was remarkable. Manager and staff were very pleasant and helpful. We asked for a room with a balcony and views to the castle, and it was a very cozy room. Breakfast on the terrace was ok. The hotel is conveniently located near Ephesus.
There are many restaurants near the hotel to take dinner and the hotel has its own restaurant. We couldn't try the hotel restaurant because it was full!

The price of this hotel is very reasonable for the service provided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.3 km away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
763 reviews
0.6 km away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
5.4 km away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
255 reviews
0.5 km away
Rebetika Hotel
Rebetika Hotel
#12 of 32 in Selcuk
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: ₹ 2,144 - ₹ 2,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing