We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Karakoy”
Review of Karakoy Gumruk

Karakoy Gumruk
Ranked #190 of 15,622 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Neighbourhood: Karakoy
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Karakoy
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We stumbled into Gumruk our first night in Istanbul and it turned out to be the best meal of our trip. Whoever is in the kitchen knows how to create incredibly flavorful food. The setting is also lovely - intimate, warm and romantic. Loved it!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chamachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

What a surprising place for a special dinner. Modern style fuses with old building. Same for the dishes that are very modern and original but above all great quality tasty

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Lucas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Karakoy Gumruk was right in front of our Hotel (Peninsula Galata) and following Trip Advisor, we went to this restaurant. We weren't very hungry so we stuck to Main Course and Dessert only. The portions are not huge, so it's good that we weren't very hungry, however, my Duck was amazing, probably one of the best I've ever had. The flavours are unique and unlike anything you will have from anywhere else around the world. The staff were also very polite and friendly. My girlfriend also enjoyed her dinner.

I highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you're in the Karakoy area. This may be our best dinner during our week in Istanbul.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RY90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

When I worked in Karakoy in late 80s and early 90s, we were looking a restaurant like Gumruk. We did not have such a chance in old days. But today Gumruk is there. This is a restaurant that simplicity and freshness together with young very talented Chef drives the quality to the level that Karaköy has never seen. I am great fan of this place.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mustafac142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

The historic background of the building blends well with the gourmet foods, which is some sort of fusion cuisine of Turks and Greeks. The food served so elegantly by the polite service people makes dinner a memorable experience there. It's expensive, but definitely worth it. The wine prices, though are definitely overpriced considering the fact that most of them are found in stores.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank nesliatcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karakoy Gumruk also viewed

 

Been to Karakoy Gumruk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing