We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the nose”
Review of Asmali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asmali Hotel
Ranked #898 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Asmali - a-smelly. The bathroom had an unpleasant odour and not from our occupation of it. My wife describes it as a musty or damp smell. I think that's being generous. Not sure but there may also have been bedbugs. Great location though. Just around the corner from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya. Aircon was a plus. Wifi in the room and friendly staff also took the edge off the dissatisfaction with the bathroom. We would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great location, wonderful service. They breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradandserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asmali_Konak_mgr, Front Office Manager at Asmali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to see you again at Asmali (Konak) Hotel in the near future. Best Regards, Ufuk Ozkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The location is great - within easy walking distance of the top historic and tourist attractions of Istanbul. The Hotel has character - it is an old restored house in the old part of Istanbul, but seems to have been restored or renovated quite recently - things inside look new. It has the friendly feel of a Bed & Breakfast establishment. You can eat breakfast in a very pleasant setting on the roof of the building with a great view over parts of Istanbul and the Sea of Marmara. The beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked fine. The staff were very friendly and cooperative. I would try and stay there again if I get back to Istanbul.

The staircase was a bit poky and the lighting on the staircase was a bit dodgy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asmali_Konak_mgr, Front Office Manager at Asmali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the other tripadvisor.com users. Hoping to see you in Istanbul again.

Best Regards,
Ufuk Ozkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Asmali hotel made our trip! The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was one of the best with warm milk served for tea that was hard to find elsewhere. The location was the best possible as all the top places of interest like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar are 5 minutes of leisurely walk away. But an even greater highlight was the amazingly hospitable staff. We were on a 6 day stopover trip with only 2 days in Istanbul carrying 4 large suitcases and Mr Sadik on hearing our travel plans himself offered to store our luggage for us free of charge while we went touring the rest of Turkey. That was one big problem for us solved in less than 2 mins of checking in. As if that wasn't enough, when we returned to pick our bags after taking an overnight bus from Cappadocia and with a few hours to spare for our flight, he offered us breakfast and a room to freshen up and rest and later even refused to take any payment for that. Then he arranged our airport transfer and by the time we stepped out of the room, our bags were already loaded. I have travelled the world but never seen this level of hospitality or personal care and attention to the clients. I think it is that what makes Asmali hotel the best place to stay in Istanbul. One tip: If you stop here make sure you ask Mr Sadik to show you the place he gets his daily bread from. It was warm, crispy and better than any bread we've ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanthind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asmali_Konak_mgr, Front Office Manager at Asmali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Asmali Hotel. We look forward to seeing you in Istanbul again.

Best Regards,
Ufuk Ozkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Asmali Hotel was a lovely change from many of the experiences that we had in Istanbul, mostly because of the outstanding service of the staff. They were very friendly, spoke enough English to communicate pleasantly, arranged tours for us at short notice and interestingly let us view 3 rooms of very similar price and choose our favourite. The rooms were not very large but the bed was incredibly comfortable and there was lots of natural light. The complimentary breakfast was a nice spread of east and west.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. The tram is on the other side of the Blue Mosque and is an excellent way to get around all of Istanbul's attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#517 of 1,160 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#572 of 1,160 in Istanbul
16 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#576 of 1,160 in Istanbul
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#777 of 1,160 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#429 of 1,160 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,031 of 1,160 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmali Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya mah. Mustafa Pasa sok. No 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #898 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 1,366 - ₹ 3,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asmali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asmali Hotel is ready to accommodate you with its well decorated rooms, terrace with Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque view. We serve an excellent open buffet breakfast on our Terrace Restaurant with a 360' view which includes the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara.The Hotel Asmali is a boutique catogorised hotel and have 15 rooms.We located in the Old City (Sultanahmet) which is the most historical area of Istanbul. We are within walking distance of most of the major sites; the Imperial palace (Topkapi) of the Ottoman Empire. The most important places in this area are Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Sultan Ahmet Camii (the Blue Mosque), the Hippodrome, the Grand Bazaar (Covered Market), Undergroun Cistern and the Museum of Islamic Art... Our friendly and professional staff will make you feel at home, with traditional Turkish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Asmali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmali Konak Hotel Turkish Mansion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing