We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family run guest house in Istanbul”
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I found this little guesthouse recommnded in Lonely Plant magazine. It is just as they said a wonderful friendly place, amazingly central to all the key historical sites, great advice and willingness to be helpful. Only two nights there but I woudl go again given the chance and recommend it to anyone who wants to explore this great city.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem this might not be a goodplace otherwise just ask and they will help you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 710 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was incredibly cheap for what we got! It was a fantastic location, 5 mins walk to blue mosque and Hagia Sophia. You definitely want to stay in Sultanhmet - it's where all the action is and Istanbul is huge. It is right next to a street full of restaurants and in a very pretty area. You can eat breakfast and have afternoon tea / evening beers on the rooftop terrace which overlooks the Bosphorus. The rooms are nice and clean, traditional Turkish breakfast included which is good. The owners are lovely, the daughter speaks English and is very willing to help you book any tours/shows, Turkish bath (would recommend) or answer any questions. This was an absolute bargain and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Marmara Guest House could not have been nicer. The facility is excellent -- clean, quiet, modern and well maintained. The breakfasts are exquisite! And the people are delightful -- we're so very glad to have spent most of our time in Istanbul with Elif and her family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISWizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I just came back from 5 days at Marmara Guesthouse and it was a fantastic stay. This is really "my home" away from home in Istanbul now. Elif is a wonderful hostess, always friendly, smily, full of informations, tips, recommendations. The small hotel is located a few streets from all the tourist sites, the tram, the Bazar, as well as next door to streets full of restaurants, shops and bars. We walked many times from the hotel to the Galata bridge and to the Taksim Square area after getting there with the tram and the funicular.The Marmara Guesthouse is located on a small quiet street which along with a very comfortable bed made me sleep peacefully. Breakfast served on the last floor was superb with a good variety of homemade jams, cakes, cookies, vegetables, eggs, and a great view. Wi-Fi is available in the bedroom and the breakfast room is accessible at all time for free coffee and tea and internet connection. Thank you Elif for all your suggestions, I certainly discovered places in Istanbul where local people live, eat, shop, away from tourist areas. I cant wait to get back next year in December. Mini sends all her best and thank you for your warm hospitality...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Dear Elif,

we would like to thank you for making our stay in Istanbul so nice, we felt very comfortabel and well taken care of and told everyone what a great long weekend we had! Your guesthouse is in the best location: quiet, but only a afew footsteps away from all the great sight seeing spots. Your guesthouse is clean, very comfy and the breakfast excellent! We also appreciated your tips and recommondations.

All the best to you,

Markus and Heike

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,087 in Istanbul
594 reviews
Beyoglu
Peradays
Peradays
#2 of 1,087 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,087 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 1,837 - ₹ 4,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Guest House is a small authentic charming guest house in Istanbul run by a Turkish family. It is located in the heart of the open air museum area of Istanbul which is located in the historic Sultanahmet area. It is only a few minutes walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, and Topkapi Palace... You can enjoy our traditional Turkish breakfast (you will love my mum's ,Mrs. Ayse’s, homemade jams) while watching seagulls with an exciting view of the Bosphorus & Marmara Sea and Asian side on our beautiful vine-covered terrace or relax on our terrace while you are having a free coffee, after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing