We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, just very far away”
Review of Ajia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ajia Hotel
Ranked #469 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very nice, just very far away”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A group of us, making use of a special offer, spent a couple of nights in the A'jia hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel itself looks very nice, and I can only imagine how fantastic it must be in the summer (it has a beautiful terrace on the Bosphorus).

The rooms were nice, not out of this world, but not bad either. The bathroom was functional (although there was not enough water pressure in the shower). The daily treats were nice. The breakfast was good, if somewhat strange (but that could also be my unfamiliarity with the Turkish breakfast culture).

The one major, major downside is how far away it is from the tourist hotspots (Aya Sophia, Grand Bazar, etc). We used both taxis and water taxis and it is safe to say that the only way to go is with the water taxi.

Room Tip: Obviously get one with a Bosphorus view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear dutchguy2,

Thank you so much for this glowing review of your recent stay at A'jia Hotel. It is wonderful that you received warm and helpful service, liked the design of the guestrooms.

Please let us know when you or your friends and family are looking to come and stay again.

Kind Regards,

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    46
    15
    9
    12
See reviews for
17
107
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This year we stayed at this hotel. Its a really nice location and the service of this hotel is excellent.

Also the meals at Ajia Restaurant taste really good and the breakfast is really nice. We are planning to go back at this place in May.

We had a great time!

R&A

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubaYahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Ruba Yahya,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review !
It is so great to hear that you loved the style of A'jia and received amazing service while you were with us.

Please let us know when you or your friends and family are looking to come and stay again.

Kind Regards,

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A fantastic location on the bosphorous with views over the city. Yes it takes a bit of time to get downtown but crossing the bosphorous in the hotels motor boat is part of the magic. and the rooms overlooking the sea are amazing - and having breakfast, lunch dinner or cocktails within a few feet of the water is magical. Greta location, great food and great service. We loved it.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank richardbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Richardbloo,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at A'jia Hotel and for sharing your feedback on your stay.
It is so great to hear that you loved the style of A'jia and received amazing service while you were with us.

Please let us know when you or your friends and family are looking to come and stay again.

Kind Regards,

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Far
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My friend and I stayed two days and nights at the Ajia in late November and found it overpriced and awkward. It's overtly modern with a museum like lobby area made completely of polished granite and open to the ceiling, yet the staff was unfamiliar with the most basic elements of table service in their quite expensive restaurant. Even though we were the only diners, our glasses were always empty unless we called the waiter over to ask for another drink - including water! Also, the prices in the restaurant (such as the equivalent of $150 a bottle for Robert Mondavi Woodbridge Cabernet) were outrageous.
After the first night in the hotel, one realizes why other hotels don't go with the "museum marble/ open foyer" look in their lobby. It was incredibly loud. Apparently, some of the staff had children present (?), but my friend and I were joking that it sounded like a daycare center because of the echoes of what were probably only 2 or 3 kids.
Finally, the website pictures make it seem like its in a quiet green area. It's actually on a fairly busy street in a small local village that is not tourist friendly. One must take a boat across the Bosphorous in order to venture into a "cute" town with anything to do.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different, ask for pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights, three of which were booked through a Luxury Link package. We knew from a friend's experience that the hotel was quite a trek from the sights in Istanbul, but were looking forward to spending time on the Asian side of the city away from the hustle and bustle of tourist hot spots. While getting to and from Old Town and the New District did take time, it was worth being able to experience another part of the city and get a bit of local flavor. Contrary to wait previous reviewers wrote, there are some small towns within walking distance of the hotel that offer great eats and a chance to see what normal Istanbul life is like. (You must try the yogurt in Kanlica!) As part of the package we booked, we had a waterfront room overlooking the Bosphorous. The room was very spacious with an especially comfortable bed, a fantastic bathroom (huge bathtub and waterfall shower), and a balcony perfect for reading or just watch the boats float by. The hotel accommodations are definitely top notch, but you don't necessarily feel like a special guest. The hotel staff is not very responsive to emails (we sent two that went unanswered) and only helpful to a point. I imagine the hotel staff can offer excellent recommendations to guests who can spend a lot of money and who aren't interested in getting a real deal Istanbul experience. For example, instead of telling us about local shops to visit in city's young artsy neighborhoods the hotel suggested we go to the high end shopping mall around the corner. Coming from Paris and the US, the last thing we wanted to do was go shopping in a mall and be bombarded with brand names. We just felt a bit out of touch with their typical clientele and were disappointed that they couldn't switch gears to offer us solid suggestions for a young couple out to explore the city. Overall we enjoyed the hotel for what it was, but wouldn't necessarily make a point of going back.

+ super comfortable beds with scented sheets
+ comfy bathrobes and slippers
+ giant bathroom and great bath products
+ magnificent views of Istanbul

- far from tourist attractions
- semi helpful staff

Room Tip: Waterfront is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetiteLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear PetiteLinds,


Thank you so much for choosing to stay at A'jia Hotel and for sharing your feedback on your stay.
It is so great to hear that you loved the style of A'jia and received amazing service while you were with us.

Please let us know when you or your friends and family are looking to come and stay again.

Kind Regards,

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#219 of 1,147 in Istanbul
376 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#350 of 1,147 in Istanbul
177 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#430 of 1,147 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuat Pasa Yalisi
#702 of 1,147 in Istanbul
80 reviews
The Grand Tarabya
#64 of 1,147 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajia Hotel

Property: Ajia Hotel
Address: Cubuklu Cad. Ahmet Rasim Pasa Yalisi No:27 Kanlica, Beykoz, Istanbul 34812, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,303 - ₹ 18,060
Hotel Class:5 star — Ajia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A’jia Hotel awarded by the 2009 Condé Nast Johansens Award for Excellence as “Most Excellent Charming Hotel” in Europe.A distinguished boutique Hotel, a’jia is a traditional Ottoman mansion that jewels the Asian shores of the Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ajia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing