We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain, good location”
Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Peninsula
Ranked #258 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Located in Sultanahmet, this hotel is a quick walk away from most major attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread, though not expansive, was served at the terrace restaurant overlooking the sea; which was a big plus. The room was basic, but clean, warm and cosy. Our room was on the top floor, next to the restaurant, so we could just walk out on the terrace when we felt like, which was great. There was no view directly from the room, though.
Overall, a great bargain in terms of comfort, accommodation, location and food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuchigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We statyed at this wonderful small hotel during our recent trip to Istanbul. It was a nice and very clean hotel with good service and helpful staff. It located in a safe area where we did not worry about waking even late at night. You can see the see the Sea of Marmara from the terrace where the breakfast room is located.
The Blue mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Archaelogical Museum, Sulamaniyae Mosque, Bascilica Cistern and the ferry for the Bosphorus are within easy walking distance or a short tram car ride away. The same tram car can take you to Taksim Square which is the heart of modern Istanbul.
What more can you ask for or need? We recommend it unconditionally.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a great hotel and a great bargain. It was grey and overcast when we were there, but breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Bosporous - Crossroads of history, is a great amenity. Great location (yes it is tourist-ville, but not in an annoying way, and I am easily annoyed by such things). Easy walk to the metro (using this to get to the airport is worth the savings - it is a 21st century system, made me sad to return to the squeaky rattling charm of Boston's T). You can linger among the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, etc, after dark when they are at their aesthetic best, and virtually crowd free. Just be prepared, there is a morning prayer megaphone right outside the upper floor windows, but it reminds you that you are out of your element which is why we travel (at least us). helpful staff, too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buffwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel was friendly, extremely convenient for the major attractions in the area and the staff could not have been more helpful. This included obtaining transport for us to go to the Bosphorus trip, a restaurant and even a Turkish bath!!! Nothing was too much trouble. We felt like celebrities being driven wherever we wanted to go! Marvellous.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed here in April 10 and booked 3 months in advance specifically to request a room with a view. I was given a room in the basement at the back of the building, mostly below ground level with a strip of window at the top of the wall, with a view of peoples feet passing by. They could also easily see in.
The wall was badly affected with rising damp.A really revolting room!
Breakfast room at top was pleasant with beautiful views.
As it's not possible to book a nice room I would not stay here again.

Lindy E Aust.

Room Tip: The upstars room facing the water would have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#500 of 1,159 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#272 of 1,159 in Istanbul
447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#226 of 1,159 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
#324 of 1,159 in Istanbul
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 1,990 - ₹ 3,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing