We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't let them tell you your reservation is down the street” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Empire Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
Ranked #51 of 1,116 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't let them tell you your reservation is down the street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Greats: It's a great location at a great price for a clean, spacious, and quality room.

Not so Greats: The staff weren't able to offer much sound advice about the city--for example they couldn't tell me where I could get delivery food or where to find a henna tattoo place. Some of their advice was inconsistent and later found to be incorrect so if you are looking for concierge service this is not the place to look. Additionally, the hotel continually smelled like cigarette smoke in the hallways and they did not initiate any leadership in order to fix this problem.

Terribles: Despite confirming the reservation by address by email and phone the week prior, when we arrived they tried to tell us that our reservation was with their sister hotel "Seres" down the street. They eventually got us into the Empire Palace the next day, but it was a terrible and disappointing experience that they would try to exploit travelers this way and attempt to make them stay at a cheaper venue that doesn't hold a candle in quality to Empire Palace. Thankfully my husband did his double checks before arriving, knew without a doubt where we were to be staying, and didn't take no for an answer. It was a shameful introduction to the tactics of the Empire Palace.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not overlook the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skloks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    366
    109
    19
    13
See reviews for
419
449
78
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

i have been stayed there 2 nights. good location and really friendly staffs

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberts00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alihan, Owner at BEST WESTERN Empire Palace, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Robert,
Thank you for your review.And thank you for choosing us as well.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.We will be glad to see you again in our hotel!
We wish you the best !

Best Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My son and I found this to be an excellent choice for a first visit to this fascinating city. I requested the transfer service by email and it went without a hitch. The staff were all unfailingly friendly and courteous. As others have mentioned, the location is ideal with the major sites within walking distance as well as the tram and ferry port. Also ,as others have said, there is an issue with tram noise. It's as well to ask for a room away from the main road. We were also aware of a persistent electrical hum which switched off about midnight. The room was nicely decorated, very clean {as was the entire hotel} and had a very good shower. Smokers will be glad to know that there was no problem about a smoking room {also requested in advance by email}. Oh yes, the beds were most welcome after long days dodging the carpet,hat,guide book,restaurant etc. hustlers. Recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cojacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alihan, Owner at BEST WESTERN Empire Palace, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words.We are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here,BW Empire Palace Hotel.We will be glad to meet you in our hotel again.Thank you for choosing us as well.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

we have just come back after staying for 6 nights in Empire palace hotel in Istanbul. This hotel is in ideal location, approx 5 minutes walk from Topkapi Palace, blue mosque, Basilica cistern and all the major attractions in old city. This hotel provides excellent service, specially lady called Sahila was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for her. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for nice hotel in good location

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alihan, Owner at BEST WESTERN Empire Palace, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Divya,
Thank you so much for your kind review.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel.We appreciate for sharing your opinions about our hotel for our visiters.And we will be happy to see you again in our hotel.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel was a perfect way to start our Turkish adventure. Even though the location was superb, the personnel's willingness to serve made this hotel shine. I would recommend it to any first-time visitors to Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alihan, Owner at BEST WESTERN Empire Palace, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel.And we will be happy to see you again in our hotel.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Empire Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Empire Palace

Property: BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
Address: Hudavendigar Cad. No:17 / 19 | Hocapasa Mah. - Sirkeci/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#125 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,346 - ₹ 4,558
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Empire Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On February 11th 2008 at the annual meeting of Best Western Turkey, Best Western Empire Palace Hotel became the proud owner of the award "Highest Quality Hotel Award 2007". Best Western International recognized the hotel as the best Best Western Hotel in Turkey on base of regular quality assessments, where Best Western Empire Palace hotel has scored a record high performance. The hotel management is eager to continue working even harder in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Empire Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing