We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and reasonable prices!”

Spectra Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #235 of 15,528 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We have dined at a lot of places over the last few weeks and this one is definitely worth a try as we enjoyed it so much, so we dined there a couple of times. Value for money and good tasty food. Their home made tomatoe soup is to die for and was recommended by a local - it was truely amazing and highly recommend!! We also had the delicious Lamb casserole and the Carbonara. Felt it was value for money.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 55glendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

We came here after our tour, and it had some nice snacks such as cakes and tea etc. Worth popping down and enjoying the views too

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank HUgradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We visited on a glorious summer evening and first came simply to have some tea and drinks while playing backgammon with a Turkish friend.

The location at the rear of the Hippodrome adjacent to the "new" obelisk is excellent. There is a very nice open view and we appreciated the wind coming up the street as the day had been quite hot.

After more than an hour playing backgammon and numerous teas and drinks I began ordering food. First a pizza. EXCELLENT-comparable to Rome! Then a couple hot appetizers. PERFECT! Finally a Sultan's platter (for two) that easily satisfied the three of us. We were given a complimentary after-dinner drink and the final bill was surprisingly low and significantly less than our dinner for two in the same general area that included less alcohol with food of lesser quality.

The menu is highly varied. Service was good although we stayed so long (three hours or so) that I was going inside to order each course.

Normally we do not eat in this part of Istanbul because the crowds are oppressive anytime that the weather is at least tolerable. Recent problems have greatly reduced the number of tourists in Sultanahmet but I will say that now is a FABULOUS time to visit because you will not feel rushed.

Spectra enjoys my highest recommendation if you are near.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SwampeastMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Had great sea bass and mousakka. Glass wine, a beer +10% service charge came to 108TL. A bit above average price but food was very good - tasty, hot and full of flavours. We were the only customers! - because trade is right down due to security issues since the bomb earlier this year. Clean, good décor and service. Worth a visit and you can see the Blue Mosque just across the Hippodrome. We ate on the ground floor.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

went for breakfast. no client. very basic omelette. okish café. a female employee talking super loud...

kind of place which makes me think they purchase reviews like half hotels in istanbul. or maybe i was there at the wrong time.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Nonoglobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spectra Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Spectra Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing