We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, well located”
Review of Grand Ons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Ons Hotel
Ranked #908 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, well located”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The rooftop restaurant, overlooking the Sea of Mamara was a great place for breakfast. Room OK. Had a blown light globe, but they fixed it, soon enough. Hotel just a short walk to Ataturk Street, with it's eateries and money changers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Villius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    68
    67
    41
    26
See reviews for
34
74
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

While it is not the most luxurious hotel in the world, the Grand Ons was definitely one of the highlights of my trip. The reception staff took a while to warm up, but the restaurant staff were superb. One in particular was very friendly and willing to teach and advise myself and my colleague about Istanbul and Turkey. There was nothing that was too much trouble for him to help with. It also appeared to be one of very few hotels in the area with a rooftop deck - something we took full advantage of to enjoy the sunsets over the Marmara Sea.
I would definitely come back if given the opportunity!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far up as possible to avoid the busy street sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Both my partner and I stayed here recently. The first thing we noticed was the unfriendly attitude of the desk staff, one male in particular. We checked in and returned to him to find directions to eating places nearby. He just pointed to his left and that was it!!!! Then mumbled something he must have thought was funny. We also had the pleasure of his company on check out. The hotel was supposed to notify us when our transfer had arrived, but this guy completely ignored the transfer guy and us. He was the rudest guy I have ever come across at a hotel reception.
The hotel itself is reasonabl. Rooms can be a bit cold, especiallly when the A/C does not work. We complained several time re this but helpful harry at the desk just ignored our requests.
The breakfast is amazing. I think it is aimed for the Russian travellers as you would not believe what is served. Chips and hot dogs, beetroot etc?/ and the toaster is hopeless.
Rooms on the upper level are noisy at night, especially street noise. The windows need insulation.
When you leave this hotel, you have to be careful not to fall down the sunken entrances to nearby businesses.
Overall, i would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kaitlandAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The area of the hotel is not brilliant - we did not go out after dark as it was a bit of a strange area. The nearest tram stop is Aksaray which is about 5 minute walk away.

We paid £250 for the week for two so did not expect much.

The hotel was very clean. Reception staff were efficient but not too friendly. Pool area very small.

Breakfast consisted of bread, eggs, cheese, olives etc but also they served soup and sausages and chips.

No alcohol was served in the downstairs bar which was a shame as the area was very comfortable - to get an alcoholic drink you had to go to the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lale1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Situated just a few minutes walk from the tram line and only a couple stops away from all the main sights is the plus about this hotel. Unfriendly staff and dirty room (hair and dirt on the floor when we arrived, hair on the sheets!). We had booked a double but recieved a twin. Breakfast was OK but tasteless and void of anything healthy, it consisted of dry buns & bread, tasteless cheese and turkish (?) pink sausages and chips...
The sourrounding area consists of mainly clothes shops and a good walk is required for dinner, as there are not many restaurants nearby, with the exception of three just down the road. This does not matter that much though, there are many good ones in Sulthanamet, where the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sofia are located.

Hotel restaurant is on the top floor overlooking the Bosphorous. Hotel is cramed in between other very tall buildings (common in Istanbul), so dont expect a good view unless maybe you stay at the top..

It was a fairly cheap hotel compared to some we looked at, and the standard is acordingly, but for me, a clean room and friendly staff are more important than standard, and sadly this was just not the case with Grand Ons.

Very slow but free Wifi Available.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photobugSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Istanbul Royal Hotel
#953 of 1,155 in Istanbul
168 reviews
Ant Hotel
#889 of 1,155 in Istanbul
151 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#494 of 1,155 in Istanbul
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Barin Hotel
Barin Hotel
#613 of 1,155 in Istanbul
235 reviews
Qua Hotel
#784 of 1,155 in Istanbul
54 reviews
Beyoglu
Sed Hotel
Sed Hotel
#561 of 1,155 in Istanbul
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ons Hotel

Property: Grand Ons Hotel
Address: Azimkar Sok. No:22 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #908 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,506 - ₹ 9,511
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Ons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ons Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing