We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sapphire should be your first choice in Istanbul!”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #90 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and were happy to know that we would be picked up at the airport. At the hotel, we were greeted like visiting dignitaries; offered a welcome beverage; given a little souvenir; given a map and tourist suggestions and ushered to our room. Everything about the room said "welcome" In addition to a full minibar, there was a beautiful tea box with an assortment of teas and coffees. The buffet breakfast had enough choices to make everyone happy. They recommended a full-day tour that certainly did not disappoint. The location of the hotel could not be better. It's on a pedestrian street within walking distance to most of Istanbul's many attractions. On checking out, they arranged for transportation to the airport and gave us a box of Turkish delight and a little tea set as a gift. Like its name, it truly is a "gem" of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juzepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 645 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent location, very kind personal. Rooms are very good, the breakfast is super complete.

Room Tip: I stayed in two differents room y different floors, they were very similar, Very good, but the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great Service: I stayed here in January of 2012. January is not a very busy tourist time in Istanbul, so we had plenty of terrific service everywhere we went in the city. The hotel was had the best service of all though. The staff was always very friendly and offered lots of tips for places to go and things to do while there. They were even good at answering strange and difficult questions, (i.e. "What is a Turkish bath?" "Are all Turkish baths co-ed?" "Americans tend to have modest sensibilities... will we be comfortable at a Turkish bath?") They had a good breakfast in the morning-- great to get you prepared for the rest of your day site-seeing. The rooms were cozy (read "small"-but that is typical in the historic district), but had plenty of storage and I had a great view from my balcony-style windows.

Great location: The area surrounding the hotel is very historic and you can walk to many of the most visited sites in the city. Hagia Sofia, Topkopi Palace, the Basilica Cistern, and the Blue Mosque were about a five to ten minute walk and there was a lot to see on the way; the Grand Bazaar was only about another 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmiller148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There were 32 of us staying in the hotel from 12th to 15th March this year. We are all amateur photographers and the location was superb. Firstly the staff were very attentive, they couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are not large but excellent as they had everything we needed including tea and coffee making facilities, which can be unusual in Turkey. The location for us with our requirements was excellent, lots on our doorstep, plus the tram just a few metres away. Around the hotel were good eating facilities and we found that the prices here were excellent, including the wine. The hotel is located on a pedestrian only street therefore if you have difficulty in getting around it is perhaps not for you.

Room Tip: Think you could choose any room, no complaints from any of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peyiapanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed over the Easter weekend with a set of friends. We came in much earlier than the 1.00pm check-in but the staff were very welcoming offering us breakfast and a quick chat about how to get around & advice on what to see. The hotel itself is quite old fashioned and the decor is a bit dated but having said that the rooms are small but clean and complete lacking nothing in terms of what you pay. Breakfast was good but on a busy weekend they definitely run short of seats so you'll have to get down for breakfast earlier if you want to be able to get a seat. The location of course is excellent, almost everything is walking distance from the hotel and the tramline stops are around the corner with a great selection of good restaurants a minute's walk away. I think finally what made the stay really good was the staff , from a very warm and friendly greeting from the get go to helping us with organising a taxi at the last minute. The stay was filled with nice friendly touches and and always a willingness to help and even as we waited for the taxi there was coffee served while we waited which by the way was well after the check-out period. I'd say the high levels of hospitality offered here makes this place a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#206 of 1,178 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,783 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#107 of 1,178 in Istanbul
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,178 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#61 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 2,631 - ₹ 5,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing