We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You WILL NOT beat this hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #168 of 1,116 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You WILL NOT beat this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and myself have just got back from a 4 night break of Istanbul, and stayed at the Golden Horn Hotel.

I'll keep our Feedback simple, but accurate :

Location,Position, Service, Staff, Cleanliness, Value for Money, willingness to help you were all ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.

We will definitely go back again, safe in the knowledge that our money will be well spent.

Dilek and her team really are all about World Class service, making this your ideal base for an Istanbul city break.

We have never left hotel feedback before, but this is so good we thought others deserve to now.

Go for it !

Kev & Maxine - London

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    230
    78
    23
    21
See reviews for
157
295
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was my first Time , it was very very nice and Tina with her crew were very kind

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmedzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
593 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My sister and I visited this hotel for 4 nights and were very disappointed. We were booked into a de-luxe room for which we paid 600 euros - this was on the 3rd floor very near to the lift and without any decent view - in fact, we looked out on to a small delapidated square. The room was very small and the bathroom even smaller. We returned to the reception desk and were told we could have a change of room the following day only if we approved the one being offered to us. This became a fait-accompli when we returned in the afternoon to find our belongings had been moved to the 5th floor without our agreement. The second room was even smaller and had not been refurbished! We had complimentary toiletries including cotton buds but where was the shower gel? We had to buy some the next day.
According to the website, there are 2 restaurants, including a steakhouse - neither were open and there wasn't even the snack bar/deli or even a bar as advertised. One member of staff told us it was against their beliefs to sell alcohol, another told us that they no longer even had a licence - what do you believe when the official photos show the rooftop terrace set for dinner and glasses of wine on the table?

Breakfast was repetitive but with plenty of choice. The complimentary fruit juice was sugary and cheap - freshly squeezed juice was available but at extra cost. The coffee was very watery and only lukewarm the first morning - we wished that had been available at extra cost! I have to say our last morning made up for it a little bit as breakfast was served on the terrace with fantastic views of the Blue Mosque etc as well as the rest of the city.

We found the reception staff to be quite unfriendly and unhelpful - perhaps because we complained about the rooms at the outset. The location of the hotel is, however, excellent and very close to all the restaurants, sight seeing, bus tours etc. Therefore, we arranged our own tours, meals, entertainment - loads of booking places nearby, including cheaper airport transfers than the hotel offered.

I have to say some of the staff were friendly - sisters Tina and Tamara were helpful and pleasant; Yasar helped at breakfast and though he was a bit of a joker, he did his best to make everyone happy - very important in the morning!

The hotel description overall was inaccurate and a week after returning home we discovered we could have booked the hotel for at least £80 cheaper than what we paid, which added to our disappointment even further.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank casswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during my 10 day turkey trip. The hotel interior is really royal and nice. It is centrally located still quite place rather than busy streets of Istanbul. All locations are within 10 min walking.

Staff is really helpful and pleasant. Always ready to help you. Information desk is quite well and informative. They will book for you excursions and arrange pick up services. Breakfast is very turkish and lots of varieties.

Definitely recommend hotel.

Room Tip: Standard double room may feel smaller but still very nice and enough for 2 people. With baby bed roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VPD-000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Excellent base for a weekend break. The deluxe room is a bit small, but very clean and comfortable. Bathroom decent, but very small. Good breakfast on top floor with amazing views around. Choose the freshly squeezed juices, even if you need to pay 10 TL, rather than drinking the breakfast juice. Location is the best thing with this hotel, the must-sees are within short walking distance. Staff is ok, Nuri welcomed us warmly, most of them smile and want to help, others are just doing their job. Only problem was one of the breakfast waiters (bit of a half-wit), who felt free to shout unwanted, impolite jokes at my girlfriend, ruining our morning mood, but otherwise all was good at this hotel, you get what you pay for and a bit more !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#162 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#114 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#117 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#176 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#282 of 1,116 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#20 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Property: Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#128 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,942 - ₹ 7,822
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing