We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Nearby Hotels
US$ 136
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 190
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$ 106
US$ 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$ 232
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 160
US$ 123
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 252
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 172
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Istanbul Taksim(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$ 210
US$ 185
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
237
101
24
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
101
24
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiatop floorrooftop restaurantblue mosqueold cityturkeyfamily owned hotelarrange toursbreakfast is servedthird floorturkish hospitalityrecommend this hotelfour seasons hotelwalking distancearasta bazaarhotel staff islocation is amazing
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Rick Steves lists the hotel in his recommended list. We were glad we took his advice. The triangular rooftop breakfast/dining room has stunning views. The Sea of Marmara at one side, then the Bosphorus, and then around to the Hagia Sophia.

The rooms are above the lobby on the 1st, 2nd and 3d floors, with the restaurant on the 4th. All are accessed by either stairs or an elevator. We stayed on all three floors! We started on the 3rd floor for three nights, then left the hotel for an overnight trip to Ephesus. We returned sometime after midnight and the clerk apologized that only a twin room on the "first" floor (2nd for us Americans) was available. But, the nice desk clerk promised to move us the next day. When we returned from sightseeing our luggage had been moved to a nice double on the 2nd floor. The 3d floor bathrooms have been remodeled. Those on the 1st and 2nd floors were fine for us.

The staff was remarkably attentive and helpful. When we asked about the symphony, the desk clerk showed us the Turkish "ticketmaster" site. He found what we wanted, and while we were gone to Ephesus, he traveled to Taksim Square to pick up the tickets!

The hotel entrance faces the wall surrounding Topkapi Palace. A VERY SHORT walk in one direction is the Topkapi gate, and next to it the Hagia Sophia. Just past the Hagia Sophia is the Sultanamet tram stop. Walk a different direction and there are lots of restaurants and travel agencies (where you can arrange a 10TL transfer to the airport), and (of course) carpet shops. The Four Seasons Hotel (nice for a quiet glass of wine in the garden) is almost around the corner. The Arasta Bazaar is only a few blocks distant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to those who want a small, personal hotel. Turkish style,
perfectly situated with very nice rooms and reception. Also a small garden outside and
a wonderful roof terrace where breakfast and other food i served.
Very good service, lovely breakfast and very clean and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small some are bigger.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika_thelning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just returned from 6x-days trip to Istanbu. Lived in Valide Sultan hotel. The hotel has greate position - just two minutes walk from the Topkapy entrance. In adddition there is a splendid view to Ayasophia from some roomes on the second and apparently also on the third floor (we stayed in 201 and our friends in 203). Rooms are pretty small (not easy to find place for suitcases) but very clean and look lovely. The personel is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is agreable; besides, the view from the restoran-terrase on the top floor is fantastic, especially in evenings when Ayasophia and Blue mosk are illuminated. One can can hve lunch and dinner in hotel restorant. If not, very close is nice street with a number of restorants with local and international food.
Finally, the price for the rooms is reasonable and one can make reservation and arrage transfer from aeroport via internet. It is not a luxorous hotel, but a good choice for those who came for sightseeng

Room Tip: good view is from rooms on the second and third foor, the side of Ayasophia (for example, 201 and 203).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistorianMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Topkapi Palace entrance is 200 feet away. Blue Mosque is 7 minute walk. Hagia Sophia is 3 minute walk. Many (touristy) restaurants are around the corner.

Third floor rooms have a gorgeous view of Hagia Sophia and Sea of Marmara. Rooftop restaurant has an additional view of Blue Mosque.

The rooms are pretty, freshly painted, but very, very small (have to be creative with placing 2 suitcases). 3rd floor rooms have nicely redone bathrooms, but the 1st floor bathrooms are old.

The service is with a smile, and the staff english is good.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a week in Istanbul where we were very well looked after by the Hotel staff. They were friendly, welcoming, efficient and amusing, and we couldn't have wished for better. The room was smallish but perfectly formed, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable and the large shower was wonderful after a hard day's sightseeing. Breakfast was ample, tasty and most efficiently served by the delightful Rambo, and alcoholic drinks or tea were readily served at all hours by patient staff. The first time ever I've been able to get a good cup of tea abroad! The lady owner of the hotel doesn't speak English, but she is friendly and runs a very tight ship. On the one occasion where we had a disappointing night out, the staff were at great pains to compensate and to ensure that we were able to enjoy other and better entertainment. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough, and very much hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenelopeDaviesBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews