We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Taksim Gonen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taksim Gonen
Ranked #539 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Excellent hotel, well situated in quietish side street. Friendly pleasant staff. Our room was long and narrow with a double and single bed. Well appointed adequate bathroom. Cafe on ground floor serving light meals and drinks, with a host of restaurants within walking distance. Nice open air pool on top floor with great view. Istanbul has the biggest traffic jams I have ever seen!

Stayed: May 2012
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Taksim Gonen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pro:
Hotel is set in excellent location, very near the Taksim Square. Rooms and facilities look nice, above standard for hotel of that type in Turkey. Our favorite parts were excellent indoor and outdoor pool. A word of warning: please note that you have to wear swimming cap for the indoor pool. If you don't have one - you have to buy it (although the stated price is 5 TL, they charged us 9 TL?!) in the spa area. Breakfast is pretty standard for Turkey, buffet without pork, but with some excellent dairy products.

Contra:
The staff was inadequate for a hotel of this standard. First when we came to check in, they gave us a stuffy and dark "smoking allowed" room, even though we specifically asked for a non smoking one. It took them 25 minutes to find us a substitute room and when they did - it was one class lower then the one that we paid for. At least it was a non-smoking, so we accepted it.
Later, we found a hotel's "pillow menu" (they pride in having this), but when we asked for a latex pillow from that same menu we haven't received anything for half an hour). Then after calling again, a man came - bearing the same (ordinary) pillow that we already had. So we called again and explicitly explained what we want. They said OK and there was a déjà vu - same guy came with another pillow of the same kind. We kept calling and trying to explain, but with the same result. Long story short - they kept bringing us ordinary pillows every time, so by the end of the evening we ended up with 8 pillows. Don't get me wrong - we're not snobs, and the point was not in the latex pillows, but in the facts that if you offer something very clearly, in printed menu, in every room - your employees should at least know something about it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Clean, good Located, Small Rooms, very Small Bathrooms, un-isolated rooms we could hear every thing on the next rooms even the small sounds, even the smoking smell was inside our room
Most of the staff are very nice and helpful but one of the recepcienist guy (night shift is really rude and not helpful at all, and this should be taken into the manager consideration) as it will affect on the hotel
Breakfast Menu was low class and shouldnt be rated as 4 stars delux hotel.

Room Tip: make sure to check in a big room; as they are so tiny rooms and the bathrooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zaina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It was a trip for our honeymoon in Istanbul and we spent around a week in 3 different hotels and the Taksim Gonen was one of them. We checked in twice to the hotel and they were facing some difficulties in electrical power. However, they gave us the smallest room in the hotel. It had teh basic functions but the Tv was not working and teh service was very slow in general, We requested Bath Robes but we were not given any but in general the reception ladies were friendly and helped us a lot. Our room was changed when we returned to the hotel after leaving to Bursa and it was a much better one.
The food was not that good but it was satisfactory. the best thing about this hotel is the location of course and if it is compared to neighbouring hotels I dont think that the difference will be high but certainly there are 2 or 3 hotels in the same area with maybe 10$ difference in rate who can be better in terms of service

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much similar. However, there is a room at the end of each floor with two beds a...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel had a much nicer interior than the website shows, but, unfortunately, when we went in late September the rooftop restaurant wasn't open. I'm not sure if that was a function of it no longer being high season or if the restaurant is just not open except for special occasions, but we were disappointed, as that was one of the reasons that we picked the hotel. Additionally, we had to wait for almost an hour for the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport, and call the hotel twice from the phone at the post office at Ataturk Airport. It was a pretty inconvenient and stressful process altogether - might be better to just get your own cab. The hotel was right off Taksim Square, easy walking distance from the bus and metro systems. Also very close to Istiklal caddesi - which is a pretty vibrant area at night. Hotel was quiet for sleeping, however. Additionally, the room was stocked with water and fruit, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chibucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#566 of 1,159 in Istanbul
136 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#281 of 1,159 in Istanbul
200 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#330 of 1,159 in Istanbul
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#217 of 1,159 in Istanbul
682 reviews
Beyoglu
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
#606 of 1,159 in Istanbul
157 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#127 of 1,159 in Istanbul
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Gonen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Gonen

Address: Aydede Cad. No: 15 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#343 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 5,197 - ₹ 24,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Gonen 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taksim Gonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Gonen Istanbul
Hotel Taksim Gonen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing