We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,504)
Filter reviews
1,504 results
Traveller rating
849
531
93
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
531
93
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city blue mosque hagia sophia rooftop restaurant marmara sea breakfast buffet within walking distance turkey ottoman style main attractions top floor sultanahmet area excellent location grand bazaar hotel is located tram station seagulls
Filter
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 1,504 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Walking through the front door of the Armada hotel you step into an oasis of calm with a hint of musk in the air. The staff is "at your service" - friendly and helpful, there when you want them. We opted to upgrade our room for a view of the Bosphorus (an extra 50 euros a night), an extravagance perhaps, but a lovely room. They offered to install extra dark drapes for late sleeping and we accepted. Very nice linens, great shower, and very quiet, even though the Armada is close to Blue Mosque we were never awakened by the call to prayer. Breakfast on the rooftop is truly memorable - an extravagant feast with a 360 view of Istanbul where you will linger over coffee and watch the passing ships.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Armada Hotel is a pretty decent hotel....if you can find it! The hotel gave us wrong walking directions for the metro (left instead of right) which sent us on a 20 minute detour through the busy city with our luggage in 90 degree heat, so we didn't exactly arrive refreshed. Our flight from the US to Istanbul was overbooked and we ended up getting put on a flight a day later. I immediately sent Armada Hotel an email that was 24 hours in advance from the US, but they still made us pay for the night that we weren't there for. This was a dissapointing way to start our vacation. It seems like the hotel could have been a bit more hospitable and understanding. The beds are similar to sleeping on wood planks, but the bathroom was wonderful. Great hotel breakfast and great views. If you're walking to the hotel from the Metro and want correct directions, email me and I can send them to you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mgdasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armada1994, Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

We are really sorry about to have such a review from our guest since the cancellation policy of our hotel is clearly explained during reservation process. Our guest sent an email to cancel the first night of their reservation at 18.52 P.M. on the day before arrival ! We informed themselves about the room charge even before they checked in as soon as we received their notification. We would like not to be held responsible for the change at their flight since our hotel was fully booked, they should ask a recompensation from the airline not from the hotel.

About the wrong directions to the hotel, we sent them a map showing the tram stop and our hotel’s place and explained how to get to the hotel. We have been sending this map(you can also see at our website) to all our guests and so far everybody has successfully found where we are.

With all our respect to our guest, we thought that this is a subjective review and should not be taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for six nights during celebrations for a friend's wedding. The hotel is charming, with old-fashioned decor, turtle pool in the lobby, birds upstairs in the terrace restaurant. We slept very comfortably and found the staff very helpful -- and the place was a steal, at least at Ramadan rates (68 Euros/night). More importantly, it is a two-minute walk from the waterfront and a five-minute walk from Sultanahmet Square, where Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque are located (these can also be gazed at, along with the Bosphorus, from the terrace restaurant), and walking distance from Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar as well. Basically, staying here, you could see all the top sites in your guidebook and do your tourist shopping without ever resorting to taxis or public transport....though the latter can also be taken from Sultanahmet Square to anywhere else you might want to go. Finally, the breakfast that is included (and is served during the unusually civilized hours of 7:30-10:30am) is amazing! All kinds of cheese, olives, yogurt, fresh fruits, vegetables and herbs, egg dishes, dried fruit, pastries, etc., as well as real coffee and tea and an assortment of juices. All this is laid out in the terrace restaurant, where one can choose to sit inside or outside, either way with fantastic views of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and the Bosphorus. And across the street is another hotel restaurant, Giritli, which has amazing mezze.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We are an italian couple and we were in Istanbul for a short stay between 10th and 14th of August. Room was in a perfect ottoman standard and everything was quite awesome. Above all, we liked their breakfast: really enormous and delicious!
Just a spot for a minus: service at bar is not always so quick. anyway, a erfect hotel for an holiday in Istanbul, close to the central old town and a very low fare!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara_stefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I just add to the description of the house that it is on 5 floors which was a surprise for us
We enjoyed it but for some ppl it might be difficult
We are impatient to come back !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AminaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews