We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible and worst hotel I've ever been in my life”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Rooms extremely small, too much stairs; no elevator; not friendly for handicapped people. Morning breakfast below average and u get charged for omelette and juice!!!

Reception Manager does not understand proper English and end up checking visitors out on wrong dates at the end of the day without giving u notice early in the morning. We had to search for a hotel at 7pm on a new year eve!!!! All what this stupid manager cared for was to sell us very expensive tickets on cruises to make his commission!! He could speak English then!!!

Room Tip: Never ever go to this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 639 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Is the second night for me and my wife staying at avicenna hotel and I think that everything is ok. The restorant have a exellent service and nice prices menu. All the turistik points are very clossed. Nice breakfast with fruits and all the other necesary things anx very friendly staff. We recomend Avicenna Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agbejtja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taner g, Front Office Manager at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

thanks for your comments..

have nıce day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We went to Istanbul for our mini-moon having flown in from our destination wedding in Kyrenia, Northern Cyprus.
The hotel staff were friendly enough - but it was a little bit of a come down from five star luxury in Kyrenia, Northern Cyprus.
The room at first glance looked tidy enough - I expected it to be a little more modern from the pictures, but the fixtures and fittings were a little work. We had a superior room and I had to check that it was because I was not convinced. What made it superior was the view. The pole that attached the pillows came away from the wall, and the pillows were frayed as well. Our bed was not made on our first night and there was an odd smell from the bathroom, until you ran the extractor for a while.
It was fine for a stop over - but if this was not part of our package, I certainly would have been very annoyed to have had to pay the 350 euro's per night for the room (yes - they were quoting in euros for some reason).

Room Tip: As for one with a view of the bosphorous river - but then you will have diner tables at the end of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The lobby was too small. our suite (207) was very small as well with 2 single beds and no place to put our suitecases. it is hardly a suite. we had no hot water on the first day of our stay. the bathroom is very tiny and so is the shower. The bathroom did not have enough lights on top of the mirror which made it difficult for me to shave and for my wife to put on her make up.Our room was facing the sea with some buildings the are burnt and rundown.another annoying thing which we were not aware of is the passing train which runs early morning till midnight.The aircondition did not work well and the hotel lent us a fan for the whole week we stayed with them and they did nother to fix it eventhough we reminded them twice.We were not impressed with the breakfast at all.The price that we paid was too high for such a room eventhough the location of the hotel is very good.the staff were kind and helpful and i give them full mark.

Room Tip: if you are looking for an american king size bed in this hotel, then you won't find it.the doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MABAKIAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had booked a sea view room through lastminute.com for a four night stay but on arrival were told none was available for that period. The "elegance" room was small but clean. But why charge extra for tea or coffee in the room to be made with tea bags or sachet. And there was no hot water for two days, unpleasant after being out all day in the heat. The staff were friendly and we felt sorry for them coping with the problems. Wouldn't recommend it.
J and J England

Room Tip: Apparently requests are ignored so don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#339 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#143 of 1,163 in Istanbul
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#323 of 1,163 in Istanbul
447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#499 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#305 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#221 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 1,907 - ₹ 10,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing