We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money.”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #209 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
ABU DHABI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth the money.”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The lobby was too small. our suite (207) was very small as well with 2 single beds and no place to put our suitecases. it is hardly a suite. we had no hot water on the first day of our stay. the bathroom is very tiny and so is the shower. The bathroom did not have enough lights on top of the mirror which made it difficult for me to shave and for my wife to put on her make up.Our room was facing the sea with some buildings the are burnt and rundown.another annoying thing which we were not aware of is the passing train which runs early morning till midnight.The aircondition did not work well and the hotel lent us a fan for the whole week we stayed with them and they did nother to fix it eventhough we reminded them twice.We were not impressed with the breakfast at all.The price that we paid was too high for such a room eventhough the location of the hotel is very good.the staff were kind and helpful and i give them full mark.

Room Tip: if you are looking for an american king size bed in this hotel, then you won't find it.the doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABAKIAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    456
    172
    56
    54
See reviews for
180
491
64
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had booked a sea view room through lastminute.com for a four night stay but on arrival were told none was available for that period. The "elegance" room was small but clean. But why charge extra for tea or coffee in the room to be made with tea bags or sachet. And there was no hot water for two days, unpleasant after being out all day in the heat. The staff were friendly and we felt sorry for them coping with the problems. Wouldn't recommend it.
J and J England

Room Tip: Apparently requests are ignored so don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonboulevard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Hotel has a very good website, which represents the rooms as somewhat bigger than they actually are.
The staff, were discrete so much so that you hardly noticed them, not sure if that is a good or bad thing. The Hotels location is charming, cobbled streets - picture postcard perfect old town. Cute boutiques, restaurants and hotels away from the hustle and bustle of the centre ideal for a romantic getaway. However room was very small, although beautifully decorated – I would recommend getting a room with a balcony to get a little more space!
Breakfast was included but mediocre and seriously let down by charging for freshly squeezed orange juice, surely this is a breakfast staple as is tea and Coffee of a morning!?
I think I would stay in the area again, but search out a similar hotel, with a bigger room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksonboulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for three days while en-route to Northern Cyprus. The hotel is situated in the old part of the city in a tourist area. There are many hotels, bars, restaurants and shops in the vicinity down the narrow streets in old traditional buildings, not too over commercialised and quite pleasant. The hotel looks to have been remodelled relatively recently and consists of a small reception with seating area, downstairs breakfast room including an outside dining area, rooms over three (I think) floors with a bar and restaurant on the upper floor with a small balcony, when we visited the bar it was empty. Rooms are average size and have the usual essentials including aircon and the rear rooms have balconies with views over the city to the river, lots of ramshackle buildings, alley cats, large ships out in the harbour and occasional call to prayers let you know you’re in Istanbul. Service was OK once we got over the slight mix up with the booking, reception staff are OK and there is a room to store cases on your departure day.

A couple of things to be aware of, free wireless throughout the hotel, there are some rear rooms in a separate building that face directly onto a railway – avoid these, the tea and coffee in the room is charged which I have never ever seen before.

Close to the hotel there are lots of things to see and do, a short walk up the hill to the Blue Mosque and St Sophia and surrounding areas with a large park and busy shopping streets. To be honest, on some occasions you could be in any European city with the trams trundling by. We took the open top bus (you have a choice of three companies) to get a grounding which gives a good coverage of many parts of the city and sights but has limited places to hop-on and hop-off.

We visited during Ramadan and during the evening the visitor areas were absolutely heaving with mainly families enjoying themselves late into the night in the bustling shops, markets and restaurants.

A few final points… we used Istanbul transfer tour for airport transfers who were reliable, good value and didn’t drive crazy, you get a better exchange rate if you change your money in the city rather than at home, restaurant/bar touts can be a little pushy but we felt absolutely safe in the city at all times, just observe the usual precautions when being a tourist.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stopped off in Istanbul for a weekend before heading to North Cyprus for a two week holiday. THe Avicenna Hotel was a real find, in a quieter road and tucked away with a beautiful front.

Bit of a mix up when we arrived due which I think was caused by us having a 10 year old who we call a child and was on a third bed in one of our rooms but the hotel called her another adult (child seems to stop at 6 in Turkey?) and they tried to charge for another bed!! But we stuck firm to our booking which had been done through flight centre and we didn't pay.

Our rooms were really nice, clean and nicely decorated. THe room with a view towards sea was nice. There is a train track behind hotel but it didn't bother us. Air con was a bit on/off and when I complained I was told all the rooms air con was not working properly and someone was coming the next day to fix it.

Breakfast in hotel nice although different, but I like this and do not expect British food, that's why we travel, to try new things :) Dinner in top floor restaurant was also reasonably priced and very nice with views looking out to the sea and bay.

Will definitely return to Istanbul and probably this hotel as it is very central to things.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eph9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#336 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#273 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#183 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#63 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Property: Avicenna Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#224 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,595 - ₹ 6,817
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing