We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avicenna Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 237
US$ 208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$ 217
US$ 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 159
US$ 122
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 251
US$ 213
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 172
US$ 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 393
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
US$ 125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 1,290
US$ 425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
358
473
178
66
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
473
178
66
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish airwaysblue mosquelovely hoteltea and coffeeboiled eggsbasement roomgrand bazaarwalking distanceold townhagia sophiastandard roombalconysultanahmetbosphorussightshearttram
Filter
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had booked a sea view room through lastminute.com for a four night stay but on arrival were told none was available for that period. The "elegance" room was small but clean. But why charge extra for tea or coffee in the room to be made with tea bags or sachet. And there was no hot water for two days, unpleasant after being out all day in the heat. The staff were friendly and we felt sorry for them coping with the problems. Wouldn't recommend it.
J and J England

Room Tip: Apparently requests are ignored so don't bother
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Hotel has a very good website, which represents the rooms as somewhat bigger than they actually are.
The staff, were discrete so much so that you hardly noticed them, not sure if that is a good or bad thing. The Hotels location is charming, cobbled streets - picture postcard perfect old town. Cute boutiques, restaurants and hotels away from the hustle and bustle of the centre ideal for a romantic getaway. However room was very small, although beautifully decorated – I would recommend getting a room with a balcony to get a little more space!
Breakfast was included but mediocre and seriously let down by charging for freshly squeezed orange juice, surely this is a breakfast staple as is tea and Coffee of a morning!?
I think I would stay in the area again, but search out a similar hotel, with a bigger room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony...
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jacksonboulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for three days while en-route to Northern Cyprus. The hotel is situated in the old part of the city in a tourist area. There are many hotels, bars, restaurants and shops in the vicinity down the narrow streets in old traditional buildings, not too over commercialised and quite pleasant. The hotel looks to have been remodelled relatively recently and consists of a small reception with seating area, downstairs breakfast room including an outside dining area, rooms over three (I think) floors with a bar and restaurant on the upper floor with a small balcony, when we visited the bar it was empty. Rooms are average size and have the usual essentials including aircon and the rear rooms have balconies with views over the city to the river, lots of ramshackle buildings, alley cats, large ships out in the harbour and occasional call to prayers let you know you’re in Istanbul. Service was OK once we got over the slight mix up with the booking, reception staff are OK and there is a room to store cases on your departure day.

A couple of things to be aware of, free wireless throughout the hotel, there are some rear rooms in a separate building that face directly onto a railway – avoid these, the tea and coffee in the room is charged which I have never ever seen before.

Close to the hotel there are lots of things to see and do, a short walk up the hill to the Blue Mosque and St Sophia and surrounding areas with a large park and busy shopping streets. To be honest, on some occasions you could be in any European city with the trams trundling by. We took the open top bus (you have a choice of three companies) to get a grounding which gives a good coverage of many parts of the city and sights but has limited places to hop-on and hop-off.

We visited during Ramadan and during the evening the visitor areas were absolutely heaving with mainly families enjoying themselves late into the night in the bustling shops, markets and restaurants.

A few final points… we used Istanbul transfer tour for airport transfers who were reliable, good value and didn’t drive crazy, you get a better exchange rate if you change your money in the city rather than at home, restaurant/bar touts can be a little pushy but we felt absolutely safe in the city at all times, just observe the usual precautions when being a tourist.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stopped off in Istanbul for a weekend before heading to North Cyprus for a two week holiday. THe Avicenna Hotel was a real find, in a quieter road and tucked away with a beautiful front.

Bit of a mix up when we arrived due which I think was caused by us having a 10 year old who we call a child and was on a third bed in one of our rooms but the hotel called her another adult (child seems to stop at 6 in Turkey?) and they tried to charge for another bed!! But we stuck firm to our booking which had been done through flight centre and we didn't pay.

Our rooms were really nice, clean and nicely decorated. THe room with a view towards sea was nice. There is a train track behind hotel but it didn't bother us. Air con was a bit on/off and when I complained I was told all the rooms air con was not working properly and someone was coming the next day to fix it.

Breakfast in hotel nice although different, but I like this and do not expect British food, that's why we travel, to try new things :) Dinner in top floor restaurant was also reasonably priced and very nice with views looking out to the sea and bay.

Will definitely return to Istanbul and probably this hotel as it is very central to things.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eph9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I was really excited to stay at avicenna when i arrived at the place.The surrounding was very pretty neat and peaceful.There were small cobbled streets with small hotels with traditional facades.There were flower pots n pigoens.The hotel itself was small and pretty too,i especially loved the breakfast area.However their were many short comings because of which i wont ever stay there again.Firstly the service was very slow.our checkin took more than an hour since room just got vacated n was getting cleaned,the feeders we asked to clean were i guess forgotten about.We asked for a baby crib,n after making us wait ,at the end of the day they simply said that the crib is broken.Other than that the room was fine but the wasroom was horribly tiny,i simply could not use it,it was like standing in a closet.The breakfast was just fine n juice was charged.Over all my experience was really bad ,the next day we moved into another hotel,not sure about the name i guess it was hotel Armada.It shared the same pretty area n was in sultanahmet...but had much better service.So to summarise i would say that the only good thing about avicenna is the location.r(sultahmet,blue mosque,tram r 3 min,so try to look for other hotels in the vicinity

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fati9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews