We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nobody to go to this hotel”
Review of Hotel Spectra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Spectra
Ranked #233 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017

If you decided to spend badly nights in Istanbul - choose this hotel! If not at once on arrival, then already every other day or two of the accommodation, unconditionally, you'll be moved in hotel ((several stars below) the cost not of 200 euros, but 50) which belongs to the same owner. As it happened to all lodgers of this hotel. The called, but not proved reason - technical problems. However no technical problems at the time of resettlement were shown none of lodgers... In the disgusting hotel provided in exchange - from four numbers shown for choice - in the first instead of a double bed was 1,5 one on which only one person could sleep; in the second in the shower booth the door was broken (it was put separately to a bathroom wall); in the third in soul there was a holed curtain and very much rigid mattresses; in the fourth (the most expensive room) was the leaked ceiling, from windows blew so that curtains were unsteady, to the man to be located in soul it was extremely problematic, the tile on walls was in cracks. In all numbers walls were painted with cheap paint, doors in lockers were warped, blinds in the shower were in holes, the TV instead of cable showed 6.... programs....., the breakfast was three times poorer... - only an omelet, a cup of tea or coffee, by one type of cheese and sausages..... I advise nobody to go to this hotel - only if you are fans of masochism or you like to spend the money, nerves and rest for nothing... Nobody also can compensate the spoiled mood.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank popovaelenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights after arriving from Venice. I had selected the place using TripAdvisor and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very centrally located from all main areas that we wanted to visit.
Front office manager, Mesut, was extremely helpful in suggesting and assisting with booking for Dervishes show and Hamami Bath in the vicinity.
Magnificent Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, the Cistern and the Grand Bazaar are all within walking distance.
Rooms were very clean but bathroom a bit tight but this is understandable considering that the building is part of historical area- all in all a great value for money

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sapan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this place is its location. Situated on Hippodrome Square, near Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi etc alongside a trail of restaurants and shops and city's Tram System. Almost every suggested tourist destination of the old city is on a walking distance and if you want to explore further, ride the tram nearby. We used to stroll around late evenings due to good surrounding environment.
Like usual boutique hotels, the rooms are small but well kept (thats all a traveller wants, a nice place to sleep). The room rent is very decent compared to the reasons above. Breakfast is also included.
The staff is very friendly and cooperative here especially Mesood, who can converse in English too, which is a blessing in this country. He not only served well as a host but also sincerely guided us in exploring Istanbul, getting reservations (and discounts), making arrangements for logistics alongwith tour plans to the other cities within our budgets. Our trip to Turkey was impossible without his support and cooperation and we got value for our money and time through services agreed upon.
I strongly recommend this Hotel to all from my own experience (I stayed here for ten days in an all girls trip). It was my home in Istanbul!


One small suggestion for the Hotel mgt: Please add a good English Breakfast/ Earl tea in breakfast menu as half of the world prefers it for breakfast and a major chunk of your customers will be pleased to have one. You cant find a decent cup of black tea with milk in it throughout Turkey! I hope it'll give an edge.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nazish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Spectra years ago with friends. I remember the location was awesome. Close to all touristic attractions in Istanbul, close to the streetcar, and close to good restaurants including fast-food.

Breakfast was so so. Room size was decent. But a great view on the rooftop of Topkapi Palace and the Marmara sea.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Cashewss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed there to spend a couple of days in Istanbul with some friends. This hotel has the best location you could ask for if you are visiting the historic part of the city. Walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagya Sofia and Topkapi.

Hotel staff is very friendly and efficient, they will go above and beyond to please you.

I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#310 of 1,163 in Istanbul
396 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#374 of 1,163 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,114 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
565 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spectra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spectra

Address: Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu No. 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 5,903 - ₹ 45,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spectra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spectra is a converted Ottoman House in the old city of Istanbul at the corner of Hippodrome Square. It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar.All rooms are quiet. Most of the rooms have a nice view of Hippodrome square and blue Mosque.Our hotel's quality and hospitality of its staff ensure you a pleasant stay in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Spectra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing